User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Albert Arms, Esher

82 High Street
Esher
KT10 9QS
Phone: 01372465290

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Albert Arms

A one time local firmly rebooted upmarket with no doubt a lot of money spent on a posh new interior with wood floors and mainly high tables. This is of course reflected in the pricing. Upstairs are dining/function rooms and half a dozen bedrooms. Ales were London Pride, Hophead and a seasonal brew in fair condition.

On 26th July 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2270 recommendations about 2217 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Albert Arms

Despite the rather attractive exterior it has been totally modernised inside and lacks any great charm, but its clean and functional with four handpumps on the bar. The beers were from Fullers, London Pride, Day Dreamer, Due South and Dark Star Hophead, the Hophead was rather average in quality and the price was rather distasteful at £4.70, this is Esher not central London.

On 9th June 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1357 recommendations about 1343 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Albert Arms

now a Fuller's pub

On 15th August 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2755 recommendations about 2698 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Albert Arms

The plain façade of this corner pub hides a thoroughly-refurbished interior which has been opened out to leave a 'U'-shaped bar with an upmarket dining room beyond. Modern furniture and decor throughout. Eight handpumps in total, with Pride, Doom Bar and Greene King IPA Gold (£3.80) available when I visited plus Old Golden Hen and Whitstable East India Pale just being put on as I left. Worth a stop if in the area.

On 30th August 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alice Aird left this review about The Albert Arms

The best steak you'll ever have! This is my favourite pub, the good is fantastic, there is always a really nice atmosphere and the upstairs dining room is a lovely location for a party or private meal with friends.

On 4th April 2014 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Albert Arms

Once again the previous reviewer has left me with little to say about this pub as it hasn’t changed since his visit – but I’ll think of something. On my visit there were five ales spread over the eight pumps – London Pride, Black Sheep Bitter, Dark Star Hophead, Gale’s Spring Sprinter and Butcombe Bitter. That’s a decent selection even though there’s nothing from a local micro-brewery. But the pumps are in two banks of four with no double clipping so it’s necessary to walk round the bar to look at them all to see the complete selection. I didn’t look at the main restaurant’s menu, but the sandwich menu in the bar area is quite reasonable costing between £3.50 and £6 a time. The drinks were placed on little paper napkins, which I guess is considered to be more seemly than beermats.

Even though this pub is firmly in the gastropub camp, and there are no normal tables and chairs in the drinking area, it still had the feel of a pub when I was in the other day, mainly as a result of the jolly crowd in at the time. I wouldn’t really go out of my way to visit again, but the ale selection is sufficiently good to warrant dropping in for a swift one if you’re in Esher.

On 26th April 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Albert Arms

Staunchly down the gastro route in well-heeled Esher, the Albert is clearly more restaurant than pub, however it does somehow pull off the dual personality bit with a horseshoe bar at the front, eight handpumps and a TV showing sport. The restaurant area extends considerably down one side and returns across the rear where there is an open kitchen and servery. Food has an Italian leaning and is priced at the upper end however bar food in the front is surprisingly affordable being in the £5-£7 range for such items as sausage and mash, Barnsley chop, grilled salmon etc.
Concentrating on the pub end of things, all tables around the front bar are of the high type with stools, the floor is wooden, half height light wood wainscotting and white walls with minimal decor, although there are some stuffed coarse fish in glass cases around the corner towards the dining area. Rugby is a theme, that was the sport on TV and England, Wales and All Blacks signed shirts are displayed in frames. A couple of old etched sash windows remain in the front bat, indicating "chops" and "steaks". Perhaps this has been a food centric pub for a long time.
On the two banks of four pumps were Pride, GKIPA, Doom Bar, Black Sheep Bitter, Gales HSB, Butcombe Bitter (£3.50) with Surrey Hills Shere Drop reversed and one unclipped. A pretty average selection given the number offered but I would have gone for the Shere Drop if available.
In all, if you are going to turn a pub into an eating establishment, then I think there should still be room for drinkers. This they have done, so a mark up for that, it just didn't feel very pubby to me.

On 13th May 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Albert Arms

Bar restaurant close to Sandown racecourse. Beers from fullers,hogs back & surrey hills breweries.

On 7th July 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2755 recommendations about 2698 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Albert Arms

Refurbished in (not very friendly) modern style, ie bare wood and white walls, with large part given over to restaurant. Only saving grace is a good range of beers, mainly from local breweries.

On 12th December 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2270 recommendations about 2217 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about The Albert Arms

Anyone looking for ale would worry reading the sign ‘Bar, Restaurant, Private Dining', but I was steeled by GuideDogSaint's mention of several great beers. Six of the eight handpumps were on, offering Surrey Hills Ranmore & Shere Drop, Twickenham Ales Scrum Down, Hop Daemon Golden Braid, Cottage Whippet Pawfather, Pride, all £3 or, most annoyingly, £3.10 for 2 halves! Horseshoe bar at front entrance, good enough drinking area, signed rugby shirts, a few old shots of locale, plasma screen, tall round tables with stools. Beyond this a long narrow stretch of tables laid for dining, banquette seating one side under windows (blinds throughout), chairs the other. A small admin position oddly sits between the bar & rest – I doubt I would enjoy being seated for a meal next to a phone & computer point. I didn't see the main menu, bar sarnies were £3-£5, wine list was good but the decent stuff accelerated pretty quickly from £18. Beer choice was good and such a selection suggests that they have the evening throughpull to support it but I tried 4 at lunchtime and they were just ok, leaning slightly toward tepid, and were poured from on high in that one-handed (off-handed!) ‘glass-sitting-in-drip-tray' fashion. Can understand ‘pretentious' comments elsewhere but I can think of many worse places for a few pints if the beer was pulled thru & served properly.

On 5th March 2008 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]