User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Albion, East Molesey

34 Bridge Road
East Molesey
KT8 9HA

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Ember Inns (Mitchells & Butlers)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about The Albion

A pleasant looking pub on this very nice high street, alarm bells should have perhaps started to ring on spotting a number of yoof’s loitering around outside smoking, but with limited other options nearby we persevered.

Internally it’s quite traditional with a U-shape layout around the bar counter, a few beams on the low ceiling that had a selection of beer mats affixed to them, a laminate wood floor and a brick fireplace at either end. One of these had a darts board fixed up above it. A TV was mounted up in one corner, but this was not in use on our visit. It had a slightly shabby appearance overall, and certainly gave the impression that it had not seen a paintbrush for quite some time. The main problem though was the clientele who were predominantly young males and talking very loudly and coarsely about topics including c**k sucking. Call me a prude if you like, but that’s not what I want to listen to when I’m out for a quiet drink with the wife.

Perhaps surprisingly, there was a decent selection of beers on the bar and the friendly barman was happy to discuss my preferences and make suggestions. On this occasion they consisted of London Pride, Oakham Inferno, Black Sheep Ember Pale Ale, Hawkshead Windermere Pale Ale and Quartz. Ciders meanwhile were Stowford Press and Aspall’s Suffolk.

On 11th April 2018 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1717 recommendations about 1653 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Albion

Bit rougher around the edges than you would expect for this part of the world.

I liked it.

Very good pint of Exmoor Silver Stallion.

Photos and story at http://bit.ly/2a2SnEC

On 17th July 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 276 recommendations about 275 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Blue left this review about The Albion

I’ve visited the Albion several times recently. It remains as well described below, but has expanded its ale capacity to two banks of four handpulls: the bank to the side of the bar serving Youngs Ordinary, London Pride, Sambrooks Wandle and Old Rosie cider, and the one at the front serving a more changeable range which last night included Jarrow Rivet Catcher, Purity Warlord, and Yasigi, with the fourth pump unclipped. I haven’t had a bad pint here, and last night enjoyed the Rivet Catcher and Yasigi. Service is friendly and efficient, albeit sometimes with a short wait when busy, and a 20p/pt CAMRA members discount is available, which, I suspect from the bar staff’s confusion about how to apply it, isn’t often claimed. I also noticed signs advertising a Monday cask ale club, with ales at £2.50/pt, a quiz Sunday and Tuesday nights, and acoustic night on alternate Thursdays. Food is served, with Sunday roasts at £7.50. I‘ve always found this pub to have a bit of a buzz and a comfortable atmosphere, with a mix of clientele – I think it is a cracking pub for locals and visitors alike.

On 30th November 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 271 recommendations about 270 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Albion

The Albion is a single room pub with the bar situated in the middle; the room wraps around either side, but as the two "wings" and the centre bar area are all decorated in different styles you get the feel of separate rooms. This is further reinforced by the two slight changes of level inside which follow the same line. The centre bar area is wood floored and has some benches under the window and a couple of high tables. To the left, the seating is more traditional, the area carpeted and is seemingly more popular for those eating. The area on the right is more intimate and has more modern seating, mainly leatherette tan coloured high backed benches which reminded me of midwest American diners seen in films, either that or maybe a high st Wimpy Bar.
Decor is light coloured and even with a low beamed ceiling there is a fresh airy feel.
Service was good and cheerful, there are four handpumps,the choice yesterday being Youngs Bitter, Pride, Timothy Taylor Landlord and Ringwood Boondoggle (£2.80). Above the bar a collection of beermats indicate a reasonable guest policy, I suspect that the three mainstreams may be regulars with the Ringwood guesting but I am speculating.
A few tables outside to the front, right onto the pavement cater for the smokers and outdoor types.
The usual Tuesday quiz, Thursday curry and Sunday roasts are advertised. Two TVs, one each end were on showing some daytime drivel, but at least the sound was down.
I quite liked the pub, especially having been disappointed with the afternoon's destination pub, The Bell, up the road, and I'd not hesitate to drop by again.
Please note, despite the aforementioned change in levels, the pub is fully accessible and has an accessible WC.

On 28th July 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Albion

Good traditional style pub across the road from the more modern trendy Prince of Wales. Appeared a bit rough and ready inside, but that may be due to the fact that I had just come out of the uber sterile PoW opposite.
Anyway will concur with the other posters, a fairly solid more traditional local, not far from Hampton Court. Four ale pumps available, although one was reversed on my visit and the Youngs Ordinary was a well kept pint. And the front seating is a nice spot to catch the last of the evening sun.
Decent looking standard pub grub food menu available although we didn't try it, and plumped for the curry house closer to the bridge (which I can recommend also).

On 27th July 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1697 recommendations about 1646 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Albion

Initially appears to be a plain-looking building from the street, but the large bay window frontage is a bit unusual and draws the eye as you approach. The interior has been substantially refurbished but with its staple-shaped layout, low ceiling and plenty of customers the place retains a reasonable pub atmosphere. Four real ales on handpump - Pedigree, Pride, Black Sheep and Harvieston American IPA (given its location, very decent value at £2.95).

On 30th May 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5898 recommendations about 5898 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Albion

The Albion is an attractive looking pub with a large bay front and balcony and is situated a few minutes walk from Hampton Court station. It was originally liceneced in the 1830’s following the introduction of the Beer Act, a move that would have soon paid huge dividends when the Palace was first opened to the public in 1838 and crowds would have started arriving from far and wide to visit this new attraction and would have certainly popped in the Albion for suitable refreshment during their visit.

The Palace today is of course still the tourist magnet it has always been and the pub makes no attempt to disassociate itself from its illustrious Royal neighbour with several pictures, snippets and even carpets that are Palace influenced. The interior is an extended U-shape and divided into 2 distinct areas. The main bar and area to the left of the main entrance has bare floors and a more basic Public Bar approach with a brace of flat screen TVs. The opposite side is carpeted and has a more homely lounge bar feel with some quite modern décor but not so much that it detracts from the general pubby ambience. There is some seating out the front and it should also be noted that the pub is wheelchair friendy.

There were 4 ales on my visit, Abbott, London Pride, Youngs Ordinary and Timothy Taylor Golden Best. Prices are surprisingly cheap and the food is also good value with main courses around £5-8 and the now de rigour Grill/Cuury and a pint nights being advertised as well as a good wine deal on Sundays.

Given that the place has the potential to be a rip off tourist trap, the Albion has seemingly managed to balance both sides of the coin and whilst there isn’t anything to make it worth going out of the way for, it is one of the better options in the area and certainly less pretentious than some of its neighbours.

On 21st April 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Albion

This is a small-ish low-ceilinged pub down Bridge Rd, a couple of minutes’ walk from Hampton Court Station. The main bar as you walk in is bare-boarded and has banquette seating, a half dozen or so tables, and two or three high tables/stools. On the left is a carpeted area with a couple of sofas and some tables and chairs. To the right of the bar counter is another carpeted area with another couple of sofas, leading round to an area with hotel lounge style armchairs and tables. In fact the menu on the table at which I sat did refer to the establishment as the Albion Hotel, so if they do provide accommodation then this area is indeed well placed here.
The three real ales on were Bombardier, Young’s Bitter, and GKIPA. There was a fourth pump with a London Pride clip reversed, completing the line up of the classic London common quartet. This is a basic pub with nothing wrong with it as far as I could tell. There’s nothing special about the ale selection, but they presumably do usually have the four ales on, and it is a far better pub (in my opinion) than the Prince of Wales opposite. I would have no objection to dropping in for another pint sometime.

On 27th April 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2564 recommendations about 2482 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Albion

Sells real ale, 4 pumps. Cosy looking pub has steps between the different areas but also has wheelchair access. Sells food all day and for the cold days, has a fire at either end.

On 21st February 2007 - rating: 8
[User has posted 751 recommendations about 714 pubs]