User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with trainman on the Pub Forum

Red, Dorking

45 Dene Street
Dorking
RH4 2DW
Phone: 01306882222

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Danny O'Revey left this review about Red

Modern side street pub, in Good Beer Guide

On 18th September 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Red Bar & Lounge

Originally the Jolly Butchers, this is a smart side street pub, just a short diversion from Dorking's High Street, which has been given a sensible contemporary makeover. You enter into a bare boarded room with an island servery directly opposite. The pub appears to have had a two bar layout in the past, but partitioning walls have been removed, leaving the bar stranded in the centre of what is now essentially one large room. A good deal of smart seating runs around the perimeter of the pub including some comfy looking chairs on the right hand side and nice padded banquettes in the rear left section. The pub adopted its current guise as far back as 2010, but still retains the fresh feel of a pub that has undergone a recent refurbishment, with lots of new looking bits of decor dotted around the place and a fairly bright, airy colour scheme giving the place a swanky, contemporary vibe. For all this, the place still felt like a typical local's pub when we visited on a Friday evening, prior to a night at Dorking Beer Festival. Even at 18:00, the pub was surprisingly busy with very few seats available and plenty more customers crowded around the bar. To the left, a door leads through to what appears to be a modern extension housing a dining room with fancy new tables and chairs all set for formal dining but empty on this particular occasion.
There were three ales on the bar when we arrived - Dark Star Hophead, Surrey Hills Shere Drop and one other from a local brewer that I forgot to note. The barmaid gave us a fairly friendly welcome and the Hophead was in pretty good shape, as you would expect from a pub that has made it into recent editions of the Good Beer Guide.
This is a pretty decent example of how a failing traditional pub can be given a modern makeover and draw the crowds back again. Whilst the aesthetic wasn't really my cup of tea, I still found the place had a proper pub atmosphere thanks to a decent sized crowd and the well kept local beer makes the place worth seeking out if you want a quick pint or two in Dorking.

On 13th January 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2466 recommendations about 2466 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Red Bar & Lounge

It seems odd that anyone would want to turn a back street former Ind Coope pub into this modern bar. Having said that, what do I know as there were quite a few people in on my Friday afternoon visit both inside and in the patio area outside. The interior has a polished wooden floor, is very modern and has an assortment of tables chairs and sofas. There is a sort of conservatory to the left leading to the patio.
The bar has four hand pumps which had a Thatcher's cider, Hogs Back HBB, Dark Star Hophead and Surrey Hills Shere Drop. I went for the Shere Drop (£3.50) which was in very good condition.
This isn't really my sort of place and I thought the beer choice was a bit regimented (all circa 4% bitters). Nevertheless it seems to be doing OK and I'm sure they won't miss me not making a repeat visit.

On 4th October 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Red Bar & Lounge

A strange mix of bar/bistro (interior) and pub (stoic 1930’s red brick exterior). GBG-listed, this is a relatively upmarket backstreet bar though the clientele are mixed. Enter to a modern, fairly characterless main bar area with an extension function/dining room to the left rear. Interior lighting dimmed with pinned billow sheets on some walls, very boho. Beyond is a tidy patio garden with modern willow tub seating. Four pumps with surprisingly eclectic local(ish) ales; Tillingbourne, Dark Star Hop Head (very good), Surrey Hills and a proper cider (rare for Dorking!). Didn't take to the venue but the beer choice and quality is undoubtedly good and so worth seeking out for that alone.

On 30th October 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Red Bar and Lounge

Formerly the curiously-named Arty P's (and JB's / the Jolly Butchers before that), the rather austere 1930's brick exterior now houses a surprisingly bright modernised interior. However, this gives the 'L'shaped bar a rather cool feel on a winter's day and the gas 'coal effect' fire offered little in the way of warmth. Decked area to one side. On the beer front, two of the three handpumps were on - offering Harveys and a decent pint of Dark Star Hophead (£3.15). Overall, the place has quite a relaxed feel and is worth looking for a short distance up a side road leading from the High Street if passing.

On 7th January 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6002 recommendations about 6002 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Red Bar and Lounge

Situated down a turning off the High St, this is an inter wars pub that has been opened out internally to more or less a single space and has been given a modern makeover. The bar is central, walls are light coloured, wooden flooring, trendy artwork on the walls and the furniture is new look with a few sofas and the odd high table. There are a couple of flat screens on the walls, one on at the time showing the Royal nuptials. To the rear, behind the bar is a semi-separated snug like space containing a couple of sofas and a table of magazines. To the LHS is a large decked garden area with wicker furniture and two large jumberallas.
Three handpumps on the bar, Dark Star Hophead (£3.10), Hogs Back TEA and one reversed from Milestone which I probably would have gone for had it been on.
As a pub it isn't one for the traditionalists but to me the feel is ok plus there is clearly a positive attitude to providing decent ale. Worth a look in on any Dorking visit.

On 30th April 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about Arty P's

Very muchchanged inside to what it was some years ago, to a very modern decor. Has two real ales from local breweries which were both well kept, so its worth a visit to this pub which is not far off the main street through Dorking.

On 18th August 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about Jolly Butchers

Now called Arty P's. Calls itself a Tapas bar, what ever that is. Does sell real ale, 2 pumps. Has a garden area and seems family friendly. Has a parking space out the front which is for a small car and has a warning you could get booked if your car overhangs the footpath.

On 10th April 2007 - rating: 6
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]