User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Skylark (JD Wetherspoon), South End, Croydon

36 South End
Croydon
CR0 1DP
Phone: 02086499909

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Skylark (JD Wetherspoon)

Large 2 floor 2 bar spoons ( didn’t visit upstairs). Does what it says on the tin and I preferred this spoons to The George spoons not far away.

On 27th October 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2762 recommendations about 2704 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Skylark (JD Wetherspoon)

Large 'Spoon's dating from their 'library' period, with bookshelves etc. Main bar downstairs is pretty typical and quite busy, with a good selection of local draught ales alongside the usual national brands. Upstairs there is a quieter bar with only a couple of ales on offer. Seemed fairly well run and the beer was in good shape.

On 22nd September 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2271 recommendations about 2218 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Skylark (JD Wetherspoon)

The Skylark is a large Wetherspoons with a bar on the left hand wall where twelve hand pumps can be found in amongst a sea of standard draught. Down the centre of the pub are some high tables that lead to a rear staircase that gives access to seating and the toilets on the first floor. The front of the pub consists of standing room and there is raised seating along the right hand wall. During my visit early on Thursday afternoon there was no background music playing and I didn’t spot any televisions, although I did note the presence of some gaming machines.

The usual spoons prices and deals are present on food and drink and this pub opens at 8am every day. Closing is at midnight except for Friday and Saturday nights when closing is at 1am. I found the service to be friendly and would have no problem returning for another afternoon beer if in the area.

On 29th March 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3592 recommendations about 3571 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Skylark (JD Wetherspoon)

Large Wetherspoon's that has an upstairs area that opens at 12 noon. On my visits there always seems to be a good selection of beers on with the local Clarence & Fredericks American Pale Ale being in top form.

On 16th January 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Skylark (JD Wetherspoon)

This pub is named after a poet, to quote from the Spoons website "the well-known and widely appreciated poems of Gerard Manley Hopkins". I've never heard of him or his poem "The Sea and the Skylark". Apparently the only link he had with Croydon was that his grandparents lived here! I doubt if the clown who was yelling into his mobile phone the entire time I was here had heard of him either, he seemed to think it was appropriate to have the speaker turned up on his phone so that I was subjected to two streams of mindless drivel.

It's a conversion of a building that looks like it was once a cinema or theatre from the bus stop over the road, however the windows seem a bit incongruous. There are two levels, I didn't look at the upstairs part. Downstairs, it's a typically large open room. There are 12 pumps, which on my visit were taken up by the two usual GK beers, Hobgoblin doubled up, a cider, London Pride, Young's Special, Hammerpot Madgwick Gold, Spitfire, Dorking Red India Ale, Butcombe Bitter and Sambrook's Wandle. I went for the Dorking beer (£2.80) which was in reasonable condition. This place, like the George half a mile away is more expensive than other Spoons outside Central London. All the guest ales seemed to be priced at £2.80 apart from Butcombe bitter which was £2.49. It seems odd that the lowly Spitfire (4.2%) should cost the same as the Dorking Red (6.0%).

It's GBG listed which makes seeing the Hobgoblin doubled up even more disappointing. Sadly this overrated beer along with the likes of London Pride and Doombar are becoming permanent fixtures in many of London's Wetherspoons.

On 5th October 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Paul Brett left this review about The Skylark (JD Wetherspoon)

A decent spoons with a good beer selection as even has my favourite (Hophead) as a house beer. I tried one of the others. Mulberry dark from North Wales was in good form and as it's a spoons was very reasonable. There were 11 beers on in total on my visit

On 21st April 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 66 recommendations about 65 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Skylark (JD Wetherspoon)

Huge Wetherspoons in South Croydon which never seems to have anywhere near enough customers to justify the size of the ground floor area, never mind the upstairs bar.
Beer quality is variable - I had some excellent pints during their last festival, but some dross in the summer months. Staff are normally nice in here though - much better than the surley service at the George in the town centre

On 5th February 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2546 recommendations about 2546 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Davies left this review about The Skylark (JD Wetherspoon)

An above average JDW offering on Croydon's main restaurant strip. It's in I think a converted theatre which makes for an interesting interior. The downstairs gets busy with a decent and fast changing selection of ales. Upstairs is all a bit barren despite the balcony from which to observe the carry on below. And the bar up there has no real ale.

It does get busy but it's far enough down the strip to avoid most of the idiots. Probably the best bet along here for pre- or post- dinner drinks - there's no reason to eat here given the wide selction of restaurants outside.

On 22nd January 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 524 recommendations about 516 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Skylark (JD Wetherspoon)

Reasonable 'spoons, with enough space to avoid one or two dodgy-looking customers hanging about at the bar and near the doors. Plenty of real ales to choose from, including a nice pint of Scourers Brew from the White Horse Brewery.

On 24th August 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6222 recommendations about 6222 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about The Skylark (JD Wetherspoon)

Decent enough Wetherspoons in the lower part of the High St getting towards South Croydon station. The main bar has a couple of raised seating areas for families and there's more seating upstairs where they have another bar (keg only) that I imagine they only open during busy times.

On 10th May 2009 - rating: 5
[User has posted 743 recommendations about 679 pubs]