User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Those two new Tier 2 rules explained! with Komakino on the Pub Forum

The Railway Tavern, Carshalton

47 North Street
Carshalton
SM5 2HG
Phone: 02086698016

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Fuller's

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Railway Tavern

A very handy traditional pub close to the train station. The interior in here was decent, but not as elaborate as most Fuller's pub I have visited. The usual Fullers trade mark brass lamps with opaque glass globes around the bar gave some opulence. The pub was busy on our Friday afternoon visit and the Pride was an outstanding pint.

On 29th November 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Railway Tavern

Traditional old skool boozer of the sort that Fuller's see ashamed to have on their books these days. A single staple-shaped room, fitted with pub carpet, padded bench seating, decal-style frosted windows, maroon and cream colour scheme, a selection of pork pie hats(?) and slightly over loud music. A Sutton United pub, with a scarf up by the bar. Talking of the bar, I presume it has lost its old gantry and now sports an odd-looking brass number with uplighters. Three ales on, Pride, Spring Sprinter and Gales Seafarers (ok). Fairly busy with a convivial atmosphere. No world-beater but a well-utilised and solid local of the genre that is slowly disappearing. 6.5

On 1st July 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Lester Ford left this review about The Railway Tavern

A Wednesday night visit before a game at Carshalton Athletic. On a previous visit to the ground I visited this Fuller's pub after the match so decided it was the perfect pub for pre match drinkies.

All ale offerings from Fuller’s, the Spring Sprinter was on good form with the other choices being London Pride and Seafarers'.

Football being shown live on the 2 large screen tv’s, that had half of the pub (mainly blokes) watching it.

The bar was attended by a very friendly bar lady and with the pub being open plan the horseshoe shaped bar can be accessed from all sides.

Apart from the 3 of us all of the others punters were certainly locals and regular’s. I like the Railway and in my opinion the ales are better kept here than in the much favoured by everyone else Hope….that pub is not for me as a previous bad beer experience put me off.

Definitely worth a visit as it’s also close to the station.

On 8th May 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 80 recommendations about 78 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Railway Tavern

Old-fashioned, side-street local with real ale - an increasingly rare combination in Greater London. The otherwise plainly furnished 'U'-shaped bar is enlivened by a gantry for the branded glassware and bulbous feature lighting, but the furniture is definitely basic. There is also a notional patio area to one side. As a Fuller's house, Pride, Seafarers and Spring Sprinter (£3.60) were available from the two banks of three handpumps.

On 30th April 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Railway Tavern

A stone’s throw from Carshalton Train Station is the Railway Tavern that is a single roomed U-shaped Fullers pub with a local backstreet boozer feel. There is a quiz every Tuesday from 20:00 and I spotted an advertisement for live music that was due to take place on the Saturday evening after my early Friday evening visit a month or so ago. I didn’t see any televisions and there was no background music playing, which was a good thing as the locals in this pub generate enough atmosphere amongst themselves as they sit and chat around the bar.
Food is served from noon until 14:00 Monday through to Friday, but there were some rolls sitting on the back bar that were priced at £1 each. Standard draught is available and I counted six hand pumps. Three of these were unused and another two were drawing Pride, I didn’t manage to note what the final hand pump was drawing.
To the side of the pub is a long and thin beer garden that houses some picnic tables that are popular with the smokers that enjoy this pub.

Originally coming from West London I’m a big fan of Fullers Pubs and I feel no different about this place. If I lived locally this place would probably be my local, which is a feat as there are many good pubs in this area.

On 5th July 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Railway Tavern

This Fullers tied house has the feel of a community boozer ,regulars gather around the bar and the pubs young pitbull waddles around behind the handpumps when the bar staff are busy else where.Another masterful review from PSM details all the internal features,if you are visiting it is worth looking at both sets of handpumps either side of the central serving area ,as not all pumps are doubled up.As with so many Fullers house the ale quality was very high and my diamond jubilee celebration beer Hope and Glory was one of the best beers of quite an extensive crawl.
Once we had established our purpose was to sup ale,the friendly barmaid was keen to see what we thought of her offerings,a good touch.I would pop back again if I wanted a decent pint.

On 29th May 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2087 recommendations about 2087 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Railway Tavern

This single room Fuller’s pub is, as its name suggests, located just a few hundred yards from Carshalton train station. The room has a simple U shaped layout, with the servery on the back wall and standard seating throughout. The place feels a bit basic but it’s still a fairly comfortable spot for a pint, with a nice carpet, half panelled walls and the obligatory railway memorabilia, which includes framed cigarette cards depicting trains through the ages, an old station phone and the old platform sign from Carshalton station. The front windows have nice etched glass panes which are worth keeping an eye out for, as are those in the front and rear doors which have incorporated the pub’s name in to them. The servery area is quite a basic affair, but there are some nice integral lamps which, when in use, help give the place a cosier feel than it might otherwise have. Music was playing quite loudly during my Friday evening visit, which seemed a bit out of place given the clientele and overall I have found this to be one of the least busy pubs in Carshalton. There is a garden area to the rear with picnic style benches which is full of colourful flowers and has a small but well decorated water feature.
Every time I’ve been in here, the same three beers have been on – Fuller’s London Pride and ESB and Gale’s Seafarers. The ESB will now set you back £3.90, but to be fair it is kept in tip-top condition and goes down very easily. It’s a bit of a shame that some of Fuller’s other excellent beers don’t seem to get a look in, but I guess they know what sells. The pub does offer food but the times of availability vary. However, filled rolls are available at all times for a quid.
This is a good addition to any crawl around Carshalton, but I’ve always found the place a bit one dimensional – you always know what you’re going to get and it’s never anything that exciting. That said, they do serve up some of the best kept beer in town, so return visits are likely to remain on the cards.

On 22nd May 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2541 recommendations about 2541 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about The Railway Tavern

Very much a sports oreientated pub with numerous flat screen TV's around and all were onwith the sound up during our visit. Three Fullers ales were avaialbe whcih were ESB, London Pride and Seafarers. Wasnt too sure of the ESB we had but it might have been affected by what we had been drinking beforehand.

On 3rd January 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Railway Tavern

A single roomed pub with a central bar of light wood,squint ended,and with globe lights over. The windows are etched and obscured, with the pub name picked out. It's a comfortable pub with standard traditional seating,half panelled walls, and clearly well looked after and spotlessly clean. There are loads of award certificates displayed proudly around the place. The immaculate interior is matched outside too with an abundance of flowering tubs and baskets, both on the frontage and in the rear walled garden. There is enough railway memorabilia in here to keep an enthusiast happy for a good while, with old steam train engineers drawings, signs, maps and so on. Somewhat curiously for such a small pub, there are a fair few TVs dotted about, none particularly big, and all switched off on my afternoon visit.
It's a Fullers pub, Pride, ESB, and the former Gales Seafarers were on. My ESB tasted a little of line cleaner so I returned it and pleased to say the barman pulled a bucket through and replaced my pint without question. A solid clean and tidy pub, well run, I'd have no hesitation in returning.
Note however the hours, 12-2:30 through the week then re-opens at 5, all day Saturday and permitted hours Sunday.

On 16th July 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Railway Tavern

A Fuller's pub – they had Seafarers, London pride and ESB on, but no sign of Discovery or Chiswick. The Seafarers was good, and at a decent price of £2.70 a pint. Sarnies priced less than £3 were also a good bet. The pub looks good from the outside, with numerous well-tended hanging baskets on show. The interior is also clean and comfortable; carpeted throughout, with normal tables and chairs, and some stools. There are no less than five small(ish) TVs spread around the walls of this one-room pub, but thankfully none were on during my weekday lunchtime visit. The walls are adorned, as you would expect, with plenty of railway memorabilia. The inevitable games and fruit machines were also present, but for some reason they weren't imposing enough to detract from the quiet atmosphere of this decent little pub – probably because nobody was playing them and thus they were forced to remain silent. There's also a small beer garden, being used by a handful of smokers during my visit.

Basically, it seems to be a decent, well-run little pub. I would be very happy to drop in for a pint if I find myself in Carshalton again.

On 10th September 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]