User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Most seen bands with Komakino on the Pub Forum

The Racehorse, Carshalton Village, Carshalton

17 West Street
Carshalton
SM5 2PT

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Racehorse

This is a well kept pub, but beer wise it's not a patch on the Hope. Also on our visit, we found the barman/manager to be grumpy and impatient, which wouldn't really entice any newcomers to the pub. The beer choice wasn't all that neither, with four pumps and only two on. These were TT Landlord and Tribute.

On 28th November 2018 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2975 recommendations about 2975 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Racehorse

A very basic and characterless locals pub, rather like drinking in a club, totally featureless apart from a David Bowie fixation in the form of a few pictures on a wall. The beer choice was fittingly plain as well, Doom Bar, Landlord and Harveys Sussex Best, the last two being decent beers if thats your thing but the Sussex was of very average quality. My advice would be to walk past this pub and go straight to The Hope..

On 13th June 2018 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1322 recommendations about 1308 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Racehorse

Two bar boozer that has had a mid-market face-lift (muzak, mushroom, red and magnolia shades) but retains a bit of local character. The right hand bar is the most popular and is the main entrance - yet it fails to display all the ale options, which seems daft. These are through to the more loungey area (though it lacks the intrinsic comfort of one) which yielded four pumps with a pretty bland choice of Bombardier Gold, Sharps Doom Bar, Black Sheep and Timothy Taylor Landlord, the latter of which was fair. An uptick was the presence of cheese rolls for £1.75 a pop. WiFi didn't work. Noted a new member of staff being trained well by the long-haired barman. Ultimately, with the Hope and the Sun nearby, it doesn't do enough to warrant more than a passing look.

On 1st July 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Racehorse

Set back from the street a bit, and with a slightly austere façade, this detached pub doesn't immediately stand out. However, it was built with unusually high ceilings in the two main rooms. The public bar is plainly decorated but busy with football fans watching the big match, whereas the more upmarket lounge was much quieter. Also has a couple of covered tables out back. With a total of six handpumps between the two counters, the real ale selection of Black Sheep, Doom Bar, Landlord and Tribute (£3.70) could most politely be called 'mainstream'.

On 30th April 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Racehorse

There is little to choose between the public bar and saloon,both are decent sized rooms with standard pub furniture.The public bar had three handpumps,yet the very efficient barmaid sourced the Palace Blond Ale that most of us were drinking from the saloon,so it might be worth making a trip in there first to see exactly whats on.Cant add much to previous detailed reviews ,only to say that my beer was being served too young,and that this pub will always be overshadowed by the closeby Hope.It still worth a visit though.

On 29th May 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Racehorse

The Racehorse is split into a right hand public bar with a dartboard on the rear wall and a plasma screen that was showing Six Nations rugby during my recent Saturday afternoon visit. This was on terrestrial television, but Sky Sports is advertised in the front window. The slightly larger left hand side is advertised as a restaurant, but I would have said that it is a saloon bar. There was no sport being shown in here, but Heart FM complete with adverts was being played in the background. By the front window there is a small raised seating area with a piano and live entertainment in the form of a karaoke and disco is advertised for Friday nights. Live music was advertised for the evening of my visit, but it was St Patrick’s Day so I’m not sure if this is a regular occurrence on a Saturday. At the rear of the pub is a smoking shelter with a large car park beyond.
A range of standard draught is available from the bar and the four hand pumps were drawing WJ King’s Brighton Best and Sharp’s Doom Bar alongside Otter Ale and Bitter. At the back of the bar is a table top where the governor was making fresh sandwiches which I would have sampled if I hadn’t already eaten.

I found the service to be very friendly and I enjoyed the surroundings so I would have no problem returning here.

On 8th April 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Racehorse

On entering this pub, visitors find themselves in a small porch with a colourful mosaic floor, with a choice of two doors, each leading to a separate room served by the same central bar. To the left is a traditional feeling room with plenty of exposed beams, some upholstered banquettes, a large fireplace with an assortment of tankards on the mantle and numerous pictures of various racehorses. The room to the right is a more functional affair, with half pine panelled walls, standard tables and chairs, a dartboard, book exchange and a plasma TV, which was turned off on my late afternoon visit. The radio was playing at a suitable level.
There were four ales available - GK IPA, Sharp's Doom Bar plus a couple from the Acorn Brewery - Blonde (£3.00) and Motueka IPA. My pint of Acorn Blonde was served by a friendly enough barman and was in good condition. Food is usually available at lunchtime and in the evening, but unfortunately I arrived a little too late to try it, although the barman did offer to make me a sandwich.
I thought it was a nice, clean and welcoming pub and was a little surprised to find the Acorn beers. The place seemed to lack a bit of atmosphere, but I guess I wasn't there at the busiest time of day. I'd probably return and would certainly include it in a Carshalton crawl, but I find that the Hope is a more complete pub and would most likely spend my time there instead.

On 7th December 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2425 recommendations about 2425 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Racehorse

This is still a pub with two separate rooms, with a classic inter-war pub entrance consisting of a vestibule of sorts as you enter, with what I would guess to be the Saloon Bar through an internal door on the left, and the Public Bar through a door on the right. But I didn’t spot any signage to support that. The “Public” bar has light pine coloured furnishings, and is well described by Maldenman below. The “Saloon” bar’s furnishings are darker in colour and consist of a very simple and traditional mix of banquettes and normal tables and chairs; and is carpeted. This room had an attractive fireplace that didn’t look as if it had seen any recent use; a piano; and numerous prints, some equine related of course, on the walls. There were also some rather nice steins on the mantelpiece over the fireplace, as well as horse-brasses on the sides of the fireplace. The food menu was on a chalkboard next to the kitchen entrance, featuring such items as Thai green curry and jasmine rice at £9.95, and Barnsley chop with mint jus (presumably some foreign relation of mint sauce) and new potatoes at £11.95. It looked to me a strange mix of a traditional pub saloon bar and foody gastro menu.
There were four ales on in the saloon bar (I didn’t notice whether there were any more ales in the public bar) – GKIPA; Doom Bar; Hobgoblin; and Brain’s SA. I had the SA, which was OK and £3.00 a pint. This is a decent enough pub, and would be well placed in a Carshalton crawl. I doubt whether I would make this pub my lunch stop, but would be happy enough to drop in for another pint sometime.

On 5th April 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Racehorse

Two rooms, lounge style bar to the left on entry, and a saloon/vault to the right with a busy dartboard. The lounge has stucco white walls and dark timbers, a bit 70's really, beamed ceiling, and lots of small tables arranged in lines restaurant style. Food seems important, although no one eating at 4pm, the fish menu looks good. The high shelf around the room contains literally hundreds of beer bottles. A slightly raised area has a stand up piano. The fireplace has a row of books along its mantle, and the pub advertises a book exchange scheme, a nice idea. Loads of horse/racing pics as per the name.
4 handpumps, Bowman Quiver, Courage Best and GK IPA, one unused but according to the guv will generally have another guest. Not a bad spot, but has serious competition from The Hope across the road.

On 16th April 2009 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]