User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with RealAleRobUK on the Pub Forum

The Royal Exchange, Stone Central, Stone

26 Radford Street
Stone
ST15 8DA
Phone: 01785812685

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Royal Exchange

An amazing range of 12 hand pumps, featuring Everards Tiger and a cider, three guest ales and seven from Titanic brewery. This is one of Everards Project William pubs, though I'm surprised a brewery as well-established as Titanic should need a helping hand in this regard. Whatever, the beer, to judge by my experience and that of others (I was drinking with a group of luminaries from Heart of Staffordshire Camra) is always in excellent condition and this is a delightful pub to spend some time in. Certainly among the best in Stone, which is a town worthy of a revisit some time. This would definitely be in the top handful.

On 30th March 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2381 recommendations about 2251 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Royal Exchange

This former Everards town centre pub is one of several around the county to be handed over to the Titanic Brewery as part of the successful Project William scheme, providing Stone with a genuine destination pub in the process. This is a smart venue set in a long but relatively narrow building with three distinctly different areas. You enter into the front seating area where some very tempting comfy looking pub furniture has been arranged either side of the entrance. The left hand side is a fairly compact square shaped space under a large window bearing the Titanic Brewery logo and with a fireplace used as a wood store on the side wall. Tub chairs and low stools fill the space to the right and the walls have been decorated with Titanic themed pictures and there was a roaring fire in the nice brick fireplace. The room narrows further as you pass the servery which runs down the left hand wall with a drinking ledge opposite and boards above listing the beer range. The bar has a tongue and groove counter and simple bar back and the canopy holds some pre-written signs for other Titanic beers not currently available. Moving further through the pub you reach the rear section which is a raised lounge area with carpet and a mix of bare brick walls and some wallpaper depicting medieval maps of England. More Titanic themed items are on display and seating comprises smart banquettes down the left hand wall and standard tables and chairs to the right. On the end wall there is another lit fireplace with a lovely ‘White Star Line - Europe to America’ mirror above. The day’s papers were available in a rack near the bar and there was no music playing which meant that conversation dominated.
There was a wider range of Titanic beers available here than in their brewery tap in Burslem the previous evening. Options were White Star, Lifeboat (£3.05), Plum Porter, Steerage, Iceberg, Captain Smith and Raspberry Wheat whilst guest ales were also available in the shape of Camerons Ahopalypse Now, Everards Tiger, Milestone Crusader and Hydes Lowry. A final pump was used to serve a solitary real cider. The barman was friendly and knowledgeable about the beer range and I ended up with a top class pint of the Lifeboat.
There’s no doubt that a pub with this kind of high quality ale range should be considered a destination worthy of heading out of your way to visit. However, this place has more to offer than good beer, combining comfortable surrounds, friendly service and a good atmosphere to create a top quality venue. Along with the Borehole, this is a must visit pub that really puts Stone on the map as a great town for lovers of good beer.

On 30th December 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2307 recommendations about 2307 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Royal Exchange

An excellent choice of ales from two banks of six pumps. I immediately went for the Titanic Plum Porter, which was in top notch condition. The young barman was very professional and handing out beer samples before purchase seemed to be the norm. Another good ale on the day was their guest, Corvedale Brewery Fuggles Gold. We sat over by the front windows and did a bit of people watching, whilst enjoying some very good beers.

On 24th August 2016 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2844 recommendations about 2844 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Royal Exchange

This is another example of Everard's Project William in conjunction with Titanic brewery resulting in an excellent pub. It's rather bigger inside than it looks from the street as there is a single storey room right at the back. The bar forms a central area with two small rooms at the front.
There are two banks of six (I think) hand pumps with the nearest bank having Titanic beers and the rear set having another Titanic beer, Everard's Tiger, a cider and some guests. I went for the Titanic Plum Porter (£3.20) which was excellent. Like all the other Titanic houses I've been to this is well worth a visit.

On 13th January 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2128 recommendations about 2123 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Royal Exchange

Yep, this pub does the trick. 12 real ales and ciders with Titanic ales to the fore. The pub has been described in other reviews so all I can say is this pub is highly recommended.

On 13th May 2015 - rating: 10
[User has posted 3348 recommendations about 3264 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Royal Exchange

The Royal Exchange is a corner pub that is a short walk from the shopping area.
Once inside there were two comfortable seating areas either side of the entrance,the bar was to the left,this area narrowed out,there was more seating to the rear up a few steps which had bench seating and some normal tables and chairs.
There was a great choice of real ales on the bar,with 6 from Titanic and 4 guest beers,i had a drink of Titanic Iceburg which was a very nice drink,the other beers i noted were Titanic White Star /Steerage /Plum Porter /Capt Smiths /Deck the Halls,the guest beers were Goffs Camelot,Oakham Inferno,Castle Rock Walrus and Everards Tiger bitter.
The pub was heaving on my Saturday dinner visit with a great lively atmosphere,another Stone pub that i had to prop the bar up in.
I really liked this pub.

Pub visited 7/12/2013

On 7th December 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roy Collins left this review about The Royal Exchange

Very pleasant visit on a Saturday afternoon- just a short walk from the town centre.Full range of Titanic ales plus a few others in good condition.

On 21st April 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 124 recommendations about 121 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Royal Exchange

The Royal Exchange is a tremendous boozer in the Titanic style with lots of wood and plenty of Titanic memorabilia. The food also seems to be Titanicesque with a variety of local pies offered in addition to the very tasty pork pies mentioned by Mr Dragon and Mr Fastard. Service is welcoming and informed and the atmosphere is buzzing and friendly. Six Titanic ales are on including the outstanding White Star, Mild and Sundeck. Additionally, guests were Tiger, Oakham's Inferno, Triple fff's Pressed Rat and Warthog and Bateman's GHA. A fantastic selection which really didn't get a look in due to the enormous quaffability of the White Star. Titanic have always brewed great beer, they are now operating great pubs and this is well worth a very long detour.

UPDATE April 2011

Dropped in with the family for lunch. Once again very welcoming and with the added advantage of a real fire blazing away in the front area making for a very cosy stop on a brisk April day. The menu hasn't really changed and still focuses on top quality pies and interesting sandwiches. Our choices went down very well and there was no problem adjusting an order for our young daughter. The beer, as ever, was top quality with 10 handpumps dispensing 5 Titanic beers and 5 guests. Worth a special mention was the Titanic Nine Tenths Below which I believe is a new one for them and at 5.9% very, very drinkable. This really is a very good boozer for either an informal family lunch or evening session. The only problem is that it isn't on the street where I live.

On 13th April 2011 - rating: 10
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Royal Exchange

Wonderful refurb by the Titanic Crew with the finacial help from Everards,this is a friendly pub to visit with the full range of Titanic ales together with four guests.Iceberg and White Star were just perfect and samples are given to help you with your supping decisions.Great value food,pork pies £1.65 and interesting lunchtime promo of 5 thirds of a pint plus a pork pie for £4.85 gives you a chance to try out a range of top ale.At the front of the pub there are two drinking areas either side of the entrance with the bar situated to the left of the centre of the pub.There is a raised lounge area beyond the bar and a sunny courtyard at the back of the pub for smokers.An absolute must visit if you are in Stone,great pub in a great town.

On 23rd July 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1977 recommendations about 1977 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Royal Exchange

A nice brick end terrace cottage style pub with extension at the back.

The interior is open plan, an 'L' shape around the bar. The decor is mainly blue and white, with wood panel, with the odd Frenchy mustardy wall and a brick fireplace. Amazingly, most of the ephemera is of the Titanic to set the mood and there is a dart board. The servce was really good and the clientele more mature, and it was busy. We enjoyed the pork pies with dip as a snack.

Beer; A full range of Titanic beers with of course, the best Titanic MILD i have had, with the exception of the Congress in Longton that was on a par. The only downfall was the stout was on keg, and too cold, though easily still drinkable. Further, there were three guest ales on, but sadly i did not note these as i was too engrossed with the MILD.

Quality place, good beer. This place alone has meant that i am now organising a full day out in Stone - coupled with the Swan, you cant go wrong.

I returned and the MILD wasn't so good, but they do a £5 special - 5 thirds from their ale range with a bit of pork pie and cheese - worth a try

On 1st March 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]