User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Version 2 Poll for Preston dates with rpadam on the Pub Forum

Vine Hotel, Stafford

Salter Street
Stafford
ST16 2JU
Phone: 01785244112

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Traditional Food (Marstons)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Vine Hotel

A fairly nice pub. It is, however a hotel bar and despite a good attempt to make it pubby it still has the feel of hotel bar. Its a sort of L-shaped interior and there are plenty of little nooks to sit. Its a pleasant enough place but there are better places around. A couple of standard real ales were available on my visit.

On 13th December 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3436 recommendations about 3346 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Vine Hotel

Average pub with no strong ale. Would not revisit.

On 2nd January 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Vine Hotel

Refurbished hotel bar, run by Marston's but without any obvious branding. Part opened out into a 'L' shape, with various seating areas but little remaining character. Let down by staff blatantly looking to close up early on a Sunday night. Also, just one of the four handpumps was in operation, dispensing Pedigree at £2.80. Overall something of a disappointment since it looks at interesting place from the street.

On 22nd February 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 6687 recommendations about 6687 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about Vine Hotel

Called in on the 5th of March mid afternoon not many in must have been busy earlier had that food smell had a pint of Dirty Tackle not as good as the Joules i had in the last pub but will call back

On 8th March 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Vine Hotel

UPDATE: I returned a few days later on the spur of the moment and ate here with the family. The food was fine, the service excellent and the beer was again, on top form - Banks's Bitter and Pedigree this time.
***********************************************

An irregular shaped terraced Georgian styled Marston's chain hotel, restaurant and pub in cream render, usually decorated in the summer with hanging baskets.

The interior is an irregular shaped open-plan room, part partitioned, in white, wood panel, undressed brick and with ceiling and wall beams. There was at least one tiled fireplace. The serving bar is through at the opposite side to the entrance. It is an amalgam of pub and restaurant really and so has old Stafford pictures on the walls next to the bistro style pictures of bottles, vases and fruit. I didn't eat, but the menu was the usual Marston's style. The place is foody, but you didn't feel uncomfortable simply having a drink. The service was fine and the clientele ranged from families to the mature. I didn't see a TV, but the music was at a decent level despite being charty.

Beer; tap stuff with Banks's MILD and a decent Banks's bitter, along with Wychwood Dirty Tackle on handpull.

Better than the average, the place has character and a couple of real ales, worth a pop in for beer - though one would be enough

On 21st February 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3067 recommendations about 3062 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about Vine Hotel

The Vine is, I believe, one of Stafford's older pubs, being a former inn. It still does hotel accommodation, restaurant food and sells real ale, though the interior is in need of a make-over and doesn't do justice to the pub's location and history. The food has been a disappointment for some time, so I've stopped eating here. The beer is a different story though. Two ales on, this time I had the Jennings Honey Bole which was very well kept and most enjoyable. I didn't try the Marstons this time but it has been fine in the past. Highly recommended for inclusion in a town centre crawl.

On 19th June 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2769 recommendations about 2737 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Neil Mallett left this review about Vine Hotel

Started having guest ales on, unfortunately from the Marston's unbrella. Excellent but still simple food. Try the 4 tapas for £10

On 2nd April 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 3 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Dale Miles left this review about Vine Hotel

Nice pint and friendly bar staff, very clean and well kept hotel, I have never stayed there, but I have had good reports that its a nice place to stay.

On 14th May 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 184 recommendations about 182 pubs]