User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Favourite Bands with Al Bundy on the Pub Forum

Shrewsbury Arms, Stafford Central, Stafford

75 Eastgate Street
Stafford
ST16 2NG

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


E TA left this review about Shrewsbury Arms

Well described below, the pub had an excellent selection of Black Country Ales on – 10 different ales in total – which were well complemented by the fresh pork pies and crusty rolls. Today’s papers were available, the beer was in excellent condition, the atmosphere was highly convivial. Very much worth seeking out and a definite for a crawl.

On 13th May 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2530 recommendations about 2508 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Shrewsbury Arms

Refurbished by Black Country Ales and now a well presented traditional pub with various seating / dining areas on three sides of the central servery. Plainly but attractively furnished and decorated, but the main draw is the selection of real ales and ciders from up to 13 handpumps. On this visit I found six of the former (including Sonnet 43's The Raven at £3.20 as one of the guests, and three of the brewery's own beers) and two of the latter (plus a couple more being dispensed from boxes on the bar-back).

On 2nd December 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Shrewsbury Arms

This is now a Black Country Ales pubs so by definition must be miles better than the dross it was before. It's a single room wrapped around the bar. There's an old public bar area at the front with a new wood laminate floor. Going along the bar it's carpeted with a tatty looking dart board around the corner and behind the bar a conservatory area with a small patio beyond. I got here early on a Thursday afternoon so it wasn't busy but the people I noticed were drinking the ales.
The public area has four hand pumps then there are six in the middle and three devoted to cider further on. Beers available were the usual 3 BCA offerings, Branscombe Vale Summa This & Festive Frolics, Ticketybrew Fuggles Gold & East India Porter, Intrepid Single Hop Pale, Bude Haven and Hop Studio Blonde. I went for the Intrepid Single Hop Pale (£3.20) and the East India Porter (£3.30) both of which were excellent. In fact the Porter was so good I stayed for a second one.
I thought this was an excellent addition to the BCA estate and would definitely return.

On 24th December 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2145 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Shrewsbury Arms

A proper locals place, no middle class posers or students here. Now owned by Black Country Ales (Sept 2016) and is sometimes apparent in their outlets there were more ales on than looked likely to shift given the punter demographic; 10 ales in total with 3 of theirs and 3 ciders in addition. I went for a Swan Brewery Black Swan which was ok though I wonder if some aspirators are on the go downstairs as there was a distinct zombie-like feel to it. The left area has some nice bottle green leather button-back seating, frosted windows and laminate floor. The right side dog-legs and has pub carpet, fireplace, darts and feels very 1976 which I quite liked, actually. Service with a smile from the friendly mature bar lady. I liked the vibe of this place but I would worry about the quality of the beer I might get as a casual visitor. 6.5

On 14th December 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Shrewsbury Arms

Good pub with Black Country Ales on. I had Fireside which was spot on. Definitely worth a revisit.

On 2nd January 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1672 recommendations about 1670 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Shrewsbury Arms

Its not great but its ok. If there's ever a fight in here make sure you're on the barman's side. He was friggin huge!

On 21st August 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3381 recommendations about 3299 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Shrewsbury Arms

A white rendered corner pub with green paintwork and conservatory area. Was the closest pub to where i worked for some years and has been through a few changes in its colour scheme!

The interior has a nesting of areas, rather than rooms as broadly it is open plan. The furthest area from the bar is the clock room, with a plethora of wall clocks on display, all stopped at different times! there is also a small fireplace and is in cream and wood panel. The second area has a small dance floor and DJ area, as well as WWII bombing maps and various pictures and memorabilia on the wall. Also in cream, there is a large fireplace and some train ciggy cards! The bar area is in two parts and encompasses most of the actual bar. There is a beer mat collection and eclectic pictures cover the walls. The service was fine, and on this visit, there were few clientele. The music was mixed and an OK level.

Beer; tap stuff with Mansfield Dark Smooth - The Chestnut MILD seems to have gone. On handpull, there was an OK Banks's MILD and Deb's Special, an untried house drink.

All in all, a happy enough visit - a pint place rather than several, but worth a look.

On 9th June 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Dale Miles left this review about The Shrewsbury Arms

Very interesting a large pub just outside the town centre next to the towns main police station, the first thing you notice about the shrewsbury arms are the incredible ornaments that the land lady has put up over the years hundreds of beer mats are pinned to the ceiling, and she has a collection of clocks in one of the many rooms, also some very funny pictures, always a lovely pint and the staff are very friendly the pub holds two karaokes during the week and even one on a sunday afternoon that are very popular, so if you ever feel like a sunday afternoon sing along, the shrewsbury arms is the place to visit on that day.

On 14th May 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 184 recommendations about 182 pubs]