User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - November 2021 with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

Angel Inn, Lichfield

4 Market Street
Lichfield
WS13 6LH
Phone: 01543258042

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about Angel Inn

Another good Lichfield pub in a town with plenty good pubs. 3 beers from the Joules range plus 2 guests which were in good shape. Happy to call in again.

On 16th April 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1231 recommendations about 1166 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Angel Inn

Joules brewery do seem to be adept at turning neglected old pubs into welcoming real ale venues even if they do employ the odd bit of fakery. This is another good example consisting of an open plan room which has been split into different areas. There are Wooden floorboards at the front, tiles in the central bar area and a carpet at the rear.
The bar on the right has six handpumps which had one unused, the three Joules regulars, Brunswick Caramild and a seasonal Joules Penny Pincher. I went for the Caramild (£3.45) and Penny Pincher (£3.35) both of which were in first class condition. Talking of Penny Pinchers, I failed to even notice the CAMRA discount
This is another good Joules pub and well worth a look.

On 19th February 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Angel Inn

Historic-looking Joule's pub apparently reaching its second birthday about now, but the traditional alehouse interior (old or not) certainly looks the part. Divided into various small seating areas, but the relatively light wood helps avoid too gloomy a feel. Relaxed atmosphere. Five real ales and a cider from the six handpumps, but I went for the Slumbering Monk.

On 13th November 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6620 recommendations about 6620 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Angel Inn

We found the bar staff and the manageress very friendly and most welcoming. The interior is traditional in style and has a typical Joules décor with lots of timber and some maroon painted walls to coincide with their Joules logo. The pub was comfortable and well kept and had a relaxed atmosphere. Four Joule ales and two guest ales on handpump on our visit. We went for the Joules No 37 and Piddle Brewery April Showers.

On 2nd May 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3035 recommendations about 3035 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Angel Inn

Lovely laid out traditional pub, lots of wood etc gives the place a very homely feel. Good beer as well.

On 27th October 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1287 recommendations about 1265 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Angel Inn

A nice Joules run pub. 6 handpumps with 3 Joules beers, 2 guests (Salopian Polygraph and Ludlow Best today) plus 1 cider. Worth a visit.

On 8th October 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3435 recommendations about 3346 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


jeff thomas left this review about Angel Inn

after a poor experience in the pub/shop opposite the garric theater it was a good experience to walk into the angel , great range of beers and unusual fruit ciders when i visited , pub has been tastefully decorated and has a real cosy inviting atmosphere ,not long opened and the door man was operating a one in one out policy but glad we waited worth a visit

On 30th April 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 2 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Samuels

has been taken over by Joule’s Brewery

On 17th October 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2803 recommendations about 2745 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Samuels

A town centre white painted brick terrace pub, with black paintwork and nice etched windows.

The interior is basically a narrow room along the bar that ends with a pool table. It is in white, with wood panel and there are general prints on the walls for interest. It is a basic place, with a few TVs. Service was fine, the clientele some loud kids playing on the pool table

Beer; tapstuff, with Banks's MILD smooth - it was rancid and it was returned without question and exchanged for Banks's Bitter on handpull, which was fine. There was also Cocker Hoop.

A basic place, more for the kids it felt. Not enough to make me want to return.

On 8th March 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3067 recommendations about 3062 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Colin Gooch left this review about Samuels

Old fashioned but friendly little pub in the city centre. Beers include well kept Bank's Bitter. Fruit machines, dart board and large screen TV. No food available but landlady quite happy for you to buy a sandwich elsewhere and take it in with you to have with a drink

On 16th July 2008 - rating: 4
[User has posted 60 recommendations about 57 pubs]