User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Lockdown 2 with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Queens Head, Lichfield

4 Queen Street
Lichfield
WS13 6QD

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Local Pub (Marstons)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Queens Head

Side-street pub with a partly opened-out interior and two-part bar counter. The three seating areas have been refurbished in a semi-modern style but it still retains a traditional feel. A patio beer garden can also be found off to one side. Advertising itself as a 'Marston's Ale House' on the cantilever pub sign, the choice of Pedigree, Wainwright, Hobgoblin Gold (£3.15) and Courage Directors wasn't exactly exciting, but the quality was good.

On 2nd March 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about Queens Head

Yet another good solid pub. Friendly service and decent beer. Happy to call in again.

On 16th April 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1085 recommendations about 1042 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Queens Head

A friendly and comfortable pub and well worth seeking out. The pub consists of a right hand side lounge with fireplace, and a left hand side lounge running along the front and the bar area along the back wall. We popped in on a Friday afternoon where we met friendly locals and the friendly manager with his equally friendly large Doberman dog. We heard that Eddie the Eagle had called in a few days before, when visiting his pal Norman Hood, a local artist who does caricatures of famous people. The gents toilet has a fine collection of caricatures around the walls. Six handpumps in operation from Marston's, so we settled on the Ringwood Boondoggle, which was in great shape.

On 14th May 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Queens Head

Much smaller inside than you would imagine, its not a destination pub & a little uncomfortable. Beers ok though

On 27th October 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Queens Head

Descriptions elsewhere. It still has 6 handpumps which were all on serving mostly Marston's. It was nice and friendly. Worth a visit.

On 8th October 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Queens Head

There are two banks of three hand pumps here, with beers exclusively from the Marstons stable. I tried the innovative Banks's Howling Wolf, which has been described elsewhere as a dark mild, with rich smokey aromas and a citrus bite. Being prepared to try anything once I overcame my initial doubts about citrus flavours in a mild, but although the beer wasn't undrinkable I have to say that my prejudice against strong hoppiness in a MILD was confirmed.

Slightly dodgy beer aside, this was a pleasant enough pub and we enjoyed our brief visit here. With most of Lichfield's pubs being in the hands of Marstons there tends to be a bit of sameness about them, so that on a crawl like we were, they tend to blur together a little. If you want to settle into one pub for a longer session, though, this would be as good as any.

On 30th October 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2643 recommendations about 2492 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about Queens Head

There are several good descriptions below of this Georgian Marstons house so I'll stick to the salient points.
I first visited several years ago on a Saturday evening prior to the most recent refurbishment and extension. Whilst the pub is still a comfortable place to be, with wood floors and furniture, fireplaces, exposed brick and feature walls, it seems to have lost something of its previous atmosphere.
Part of this may be because my most recent visit was on a Friday lunchtime and the good people of Lichfield weren't flocking to take up the new Caribbean menu. Possibly due to it being a new offer and the Queens Head is just off the town centre. I went for a cheese board, which the pub has long been known for, and found 2 or 3 tail ends of cheese in the fridge in the middle of the pub. Not hugely appetizing and I'd either fill the fridge with tempting cheeses, especially ahead of a weekend, or, as it doesn't add to the atmosphere, remove the fridge altogether. The menu though looks good and is decent value.
Beer is predominantly from Marstons with Pedigree, Banks Sunbeam and Brakepears Oxford Gold available on our visit. Another long term fixture though is TT Landlord, which was very acceptable.
A pleasant boozer and although it wouldn't be my first port of call in Lichfield, it would be high on the list to visit for a crawl.

On 25th October 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Queens Head

There is little to add to Ale Monster's accurate review.I thought the farmhouse style furniture around the entrances to the loos looked a little out of place but maybe necessary due to a greater focus on food,with a Caribbean menu available to eat in or take away,and a USP on the food front in Lichfield.My jerk chicken and plain rice came in at £5 and was fine.In the past known for it's selection of cheese,the stand alone fridge was looking a little threadbare on my Friday lunchtime trip however.
The ale policy now seems to concentrate on beers from the Marston's portfolio apart from a regular TT Landlord which was in good enough condition to warrant the 2013 GBG listing,although not served with as tight a sparkler as you would find in Keighley.
There are pubs with a better ale range in town,but if you want a friendly atmosphere in an open plan lounge setting,this is a reliable pub for a pint.

On 20th October 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2087 recommendations about 2087 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ale Monster left this review about Queens Head

A lovely traditional red brick Georgian town house style pub which was built in the 1830’s and is grade II listed, it is now owned by Marston’s Brewery. The interior has one wide but shallow room with a nice dark wood bar counter in the middle of the back wall immediately opposite the central entrance. There are two fire places, one in the right hand wall which is Victorian style cast iron with decorative tile surround and the second in the left front wall which is more of a rustic open cast grate style, the floor is mostly natural wood with a small red carpeted square in the left hand area, couple of old wood settles and other traditional pub furniture, the walls are half wood panel with occasional old photos and paintings, there is a flat screen TV high up in the front right corner which was off during this visit. There is a small enclosed beer patio at the rear of the building with modern chrome garden furniture which seemed a bit out of place considering how traditional the interior is (despite the TV of course).

Regular ales are currently Marston’s Pedigree, Banks’s Mild, Brakspear Oxford Gold and Timothy Taylor Landlord with a single changing guest beer which had unfortunately run out just before we arrived (GBG 2010 and Cask Marque). I tried the Mild and the Landlord which were both very good. Surprising to see something other than Marston’s beers on the bar of one of their pubs, but I have seen this a couple of times in the last year or so.

This is a splendid pub with nice traditional character, despite it being close to the town centre it felt very much like a friendly local’s pub. They are noted for there selection of rare whiskies, 15 or so cheeses and fresh home cooked food. We met a certain Mr Tony Christie of “Is this the way to Amarillo” fame here who apparently lives in Lichfield and is a regular! Very modest and down to earth, luckily for him we hadn’t had too many by this stage so he was spared a drunken rendition of his hit song. I enjoyed our visit and would gladly return if in Lichfield again.

On 8th July 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 199 recommendations about 199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Queens Head

Built in 1837, this is a three-level Georgian styled Marston's chain undressed brick pub, with a low-level side extension. It has a neo-classical central entrance with pilasters and pediment, along with the typical symmetrical sash windows of the period. It is situated in the street where to former parish workhouse used to be.

The interior is an open plan long room with the serving bar facing you on entry. The decor has whitey/light greyish walls, with some exposed brickwork and a couple of purple chimney breasts. There is a white ceiling and a mainly wood floor, with some patterned carpet. There are a couple of fireplaces with real fires glowing away. The furniture has settles juxtaposed with tables and chairs, as they serve a basic menu for lunches and is famous for its cheese board. I haven't eaten here so can't comment on that. Old photos are on the walls, along with some plates and other bits of ephemera, as well as a few books. The TV wasn't on and there was no music. The service is always friendly and the clientele generally a little more mature, but you always feel comfy here.

Beer; usual tap stuff. The pub usued to have a wider choice of real ales (including Bathams Bitter), however, i think with a change of ownership the brewery cracked down a little. There were 5 handpulls with Marston's Pedigree, Brakspera Oxford Gold, Marston's Sweet Chariot, a very good Banks's MILD and the same can be said for the Timothy Taylor's Landlord

Always a nice feel to this place and it remains a must do in Lichfield.

On 15th March 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]

Page: 1 2