User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Horse & Jockey, Lichfield Central, Lichfield

10 Sandford Street
Lichfield
WS13 6QA
Phone: 01543410033

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Horse & Jockey

Another quality pub in Lichfield. 7 ales on including beers from Otter and Holdens. I went for the otter and it was spot on. A must do for me in the area.

On 16th April 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1030 recommendations about 991 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Horse & Jockey

Wow - Not sure I have been anywhere following the Good Beer Guide that has scored so highly as Lichfield.

This is a freehouse. I only had 30 mins before my train, so had to make a hard choice between Otter Bitter and Landlord. I went Landlord. It was in exceptional condition.

Loved the place and wished I could have stayed for the Otter. Or the HPA. Or the Golden Glow.

Visit blogged at http://bit.ly/2xqqFQj

On 8th October 2017 - rating: 10
[User has posted 625 recommendations about 619 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Horse & Jockey

Attractive side-street pub with a partially opened-out and generally 'J'-shaped interior. Refurbished in a semi-modern style with mostly light furniture and decor. Seven real ales from a total of eight handpumps, with two from Holden (including a very good pint of Golden Glow, £3.00).

On 13th November 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5940 recommendations about 5940 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Horse & Jockey

A decent traditional pub that should be on anyone's to do list when visiting Lichfield. The pub had eight handpumps in use and all were highly polished and gleaming. The barmaid told us that the manageress was obsessive about cleaning. I went for the Butcombe Mendip Spring, which definitely passed the three pint test. The décor was cream and crimson, we parked ourselves in a small rear lounge which had a fireplace, with a carved timber mantlepiece and comfortable seating.

On 14th May 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2947 recommendations about 2947 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Horse & Jockey

The door as you enter this pub reveals a glass panel with the Banks's brewery insignia and a couple of old GBGs confirm that this once was a Banks's house.
Today it appears to be completely free of tie but five of the eight beers are permanent. Inside it's a single room with a central island bar and wooden floors. I was the first one in at the 11:30 opening time on a Thursday morning and the Landlady was welcoming and cheerful.
The permanent beers are Pride, Golden Glow, Pedigree, HPA & Landlord. The three guests on my visit were Ludlow Blonde, Redwillow Seamless and Bristol Beer Factory Nova. I went for the seamless (£3.00) which was superb.
I liked this place a lot. For me replacing a couple of the permanent line up with something more adventurous would go down well but I'm sure others, the locals for example would disagree.

On 8th December 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2147 recommendations about 2142 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Horse & Jockey

Rather basic boozer & laid out for large drinking parties, its ok but lacks character. Beers good

On 27th October 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Horse & Jockey

Another decent pub in Lichfield. As noted 8 handpumps on with a pretty good selection. Good enough for me.

On 8th October 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3380 recommendations about 3297 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Horse & Jockey

It was interesting to read the review below with its slight gripe about not many beers above 4% - my complaint after our recent visit was that there was only one beer below 4%, and that was a pale and hoppy one that I didn't fancy, so I ended up drinking Landlord! The trouble with having eight hand pumps on the go (six on the front bar and two round the corner with Pedigree and Wye Valley HPA) is that there's not much you can do about some beers selling out quicker than others, but having said that I know that some pubs do manage to get a decent spread across different beer styles and strengths.

We enjoyed our brief stay here, the highlight of which may have been the discovery of the mirror with a twig frame in the back room. Seriously, though, slight grumbles about beer strength aside, this is a very well run pub in a quiet street just outside the bustling city centre, and well worth another visit.

On 30th October 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2509 recommendations about 2370 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Horse & Jockey

ORIGINAL REVIEW April 2012.
The side entrance door carried a Banks's etched pane but this is now a freehouse with seven real ales to choose from.There is an island bar which serves several different sections while at the rear of the pub there is a seperate darts room.The decor is modern and normally I dont like slatted window blinds but the overall affect seems to work.I particularly liked the long refectory table and upholstered bench seating which was popular with a large group of regulars.For a wet Sunday evening ,the good level of custom was a testament to this well run pub.
My Holdens Golden Glow was in very good condition,rightly this pub is now a GBG regular.
The flat screens and musak dont detract from the friendly atmosphere,and for my money this is probably the Lichfield pub offering the most complete package to the ale drinker.

UPDATE
It's worth walking around the island bar as a couple of handpumps lurk around the corner from the main bank.TT Landlord is a regular,very popular with locals and extremely well kept.My only slight problem with the ale selection is that on several visits there have been many brews at under 4%,and the Landlord is the strongest.There isnt much variation in styles either,it's all quite samey.A more adventurous ale policy would make this pub truely unmissable.

On 27th June 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2046 recommendations about 2046 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roy Collins left this review about The Horse & Jockey

Called in Saturday morning and found a great selection of ales and very friendly bar staff.

On 21st April 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 124 recommendations about 121 pubs]

Page: 1 2