User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Covid Rules Stuff with oldboots on the Pub Forum

The Alfred, Burton On Trent Town, Burton on Trent

Derby Street
Burton on Trent
DE14 2LD
Phone: 01283562178

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Quinno _ left this review about The Alfred

Two roomed pub with a central bar serving Burton Bridge beers. A mish-mash of half-arsed refurbs inside which means for example that there are ice white bulbs at the bar which ruins the more traditional elements which remain. The lounge went unexplored as the lights were switched off. Crackly local radio to add to the general despondency of a grey, mid-afternoon session. Three Burton Bridge ales available, with a guest from Milton. Perhaps unsurprisingly my BB Festival was metallic, musty and long in the tooth (NBSS 1). A real disappointment, no wonder it was so quiet. I preferred the Grange, which is saying something. 2.5

On 5th March 2020 - rating: 2
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Alfred

Excellent Beer (tied Burton Bridge Brewery Pub), homely pub. Worth a visit.

Visit blogged at http://bit.ly/2O9rRfy

On 23rd July 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 688 recommendations about 682 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Alfred

A very well kept and well run pub, with five pumps behind the bar serving Burton Bridge ales. The pub is traditional in style and consists of two rooms either side of a central bar. It was good to see a good turnout of fellow ale drinkers on our Friday afternoon visit.

On 15th January 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Alfred

The pub is well described by Old Boots below, though I must admit to having stumbled upon it during a random walk around Burton rather than following his recommendation. I'm a fan of Burton Bridge beers, so if I'd done my research I'd have come here first and stayed longer. I had the Bitter and the Bramble Stout, both of which were very enjoyable, and this would certainly be among the Burton pubs that I would want to visit again.

On 30th October 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2643 recommendations about 2492 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Prince Alfred

Two bar pub belonging to Burton Bridge Brewery and serving their fine ales plus a couple of guests. The public is to the right and is fitted out with the complement of pub toys; darts, screen, and games machine. Bare board floors with tiles round the counter and old style wooden chairs, settles and tables give a comforting familiarity to the interior, although two fireplaces is unusual. There’s only one pump in the public, the rest are in the lounge next door or on the side of the barback, a blackboard in the lounge lists what’s on but it’s hard to see from the public. There’s a raised dining area at the back of the lounge. The pub has a good local following and is a friendly place.

On 8th October 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Prince Alfred

A Burton Bridge Victorian pub and eatery that in appearance seems to resemble two former terraced houses knocked through, with one doorway converted into a window. The exterior is in a mix of white render and cream and French mustard paintwork with the single doorway flanked by bay windows. There is a front patio area and Burton Bridge etched windows.

The interior has two rooms served by a central bar, accessed from the main door, with the lounge/dining room to the left and the bar room to the right. There was a wedding party in the lounge, which of course i was not aware of until i had walked in! After a knowing wave of 'sorry mate' to the groom i left, having noted that the room was on two levels with a carpeted dining area, with pine furniture, being raised above the rest of the room - it was in white and wood panel, exposed brick and a white ceiling - there is a wood and tiled (around the bar area) floor on the lower bit, as well as a few prints on the wall. The bar room is also in white and wood panel, with a couple of brick chimney breasts, white ceiling and wood and tile floor. There was a bit of coloured glass, mirrors and a few pictures on the wall here too. There was a TV in this room (not on) and the music was mixed stuff filtering through from the wedding group. The service was fine and the clientele, well a wedding party and a smaller mixed group in the bar.

Beer; usual tap stuff with 6 handpulls, four of which are behind the bar. These are Burton Bridge beers, but i could only note the Bitter, Golden Delicious, Stairway to Heaven and the Porter, due to the busy nature of the pub. The porter was fine.

I found the pub to be fine. It was busy due to the fact there was a wedding party in the lounge room and they were not serving food as there was nowhere to sit - the staff were apologetic over this and if the music was too loud - it wasn't and in fact added to the atmosphere. It was my first visit for many years and i would return.

On 14th December 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Prince Alfred

From the outside the Alfred looks promising,but high hopes were sadly dashed.The internal decor and furniture was merely functional with few original features.The raised,carpeted lounge had a lot of pine while the more popular bar side was cramped as a result of allowing a local band to murder some pop classics.
Burton Bridge beers have never inspired me,and this visit added confirmation but perhaps I just don't appreciate their style.However the poor condition of the beer festival ales raise further questions,and I wont be putting this pub on the list for a revisit.

On 4th May 2011 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2086 recommendations about 2086 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about Prince Alfred

The Alfred proved to be a real disappointmet on our visit both in terms of the pub and the beer.
It's a traditional Victorian building which has a lounge area to the left and bar to the right, both served by a central bar but it has then been subsequently subdivided and this seems to somehow drain the atmosphere.
Four Burton Bridge ales were offered: Bridge, Porter, Festival and Stairway to Heaven. The latter came out flat and tasting distinctly of plastic. I wasn't tempted by the rest of the range after that.
They also had a beer festival on with some 15 beers all available including Holdens Golden Glow, Brew Co Hop Monster and Ossett Masterpiece. Again, sadly these really didn't come out well having no life and tasting very dubious.
I have had the odd decent pint of Burton Bridge beer but it's been the seasonals and I don't know if the beer's not great or The Alfred struggles to keep quality up and maybe, given the beer festival they were holding, there were just too many balls to keep in the air.
Whatever the reasons an apparent choice of 20 beers rapidly shrunk to none and I won't be tempted to make a special journey for a revisit.

On 3rd May 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Prince Alfred

One of a number of Burton Bridge Brewery tied pubs, this is a clean and welcoming traditional-style pub situated a short walk from the town's train station.
8 hand pumps offered the full range of Burton Bridge ales plus one guest. The Bridge Bitter was in great condition and reasonably priced. A food menu was available although they didn't seem to be promoting it much.
Patrons can enter the pub through one of two doors - either into a small, convivial bar with a dart board and open fire, or to a larger room with plenty of tables. Access between these rooms is provided by a passageway behind the bar, which also affords you a good view of the four hand pumps that are not actually sited on the bar counter. A third room off this passageway housed a little extra seating and a pool table.
Staff were very welcoming and had no problems with football fans wearing colours as they stopped off on their way up Derby Road to the Pirelli Stadium.

On 28th April 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2512 recommendations about 2512 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alfie Aleswigger left this review about Prince Alfred

Part of the Burton Bridge Brewery. Well kept pub now under the management of a popular couple from the Oak & Ivy.

On 1st February 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 46 recommendations about 44 pubs]