User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with NickDavies on the Pub Forum

Coopers Tavern, Burton On Trent Town, Burton on Trent

43 Cross Street
Burton on Trent
DE14 1EG

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Bucking Fastard left this review about Coopers Tavern

ORIGINAL REVIEW May 2011

An outstandingly traditional early Victorian pub ,now owned by Joules Brewery.The original layout has been retained with a seperate room to the left of the entrance,another room to the right both with original fireplaces .At the rear of the pub is the tap room ,with some settle seating and barrels on stillage with a few ales handpumped.A great range was advertised on the chalk board and my Sarah Hughes Dark Ruby Mild and Thornbridge Jaipur IPA were excellent.
There is a good curry house next door without a drinks licence,so the pub are happy for you to take a pint over there as long as the glass is returned after your meal.
This pub deserves to be included on any tour of the town,a true must visit and one of the best examples of it's kind in the country.I hope it is listed both externally and internally by the local authority and CAMRA .
A joy to drink in,I endorse all the positive comments below.

October 2014.

The main body of the pub now has a lot of Joules signage and ephemera,with several rather silly slogans on wooden tablets.Fortunately the rear tap room has been left alone and this is the best place to drink,friendly and full of regulars who know their ales.Few were sampling the three permanent Joules beers ,which I find very indifferent.Thornbridge Jaipur IPA only available on keg was disappointing.Although it's still has a lovely layout,there is just a hint of tourist marketing by Joules.

UPDATE
The ale choice is now all on stillage with four regulars from Joules and two guests (one always Bass) .My Oakham White Dwarf was in good nick (NBSS 3.5) but served no head flat,it needed aggitation.One of the guests will be a strong option on Fridays,so you might get Thornbridge Jaipur IPA then on cask.Great interior but Joules ales leave me cold,so Coopers has it's limitations.It was quiet on my Thursday evening visit.

On 13th May 2022 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2384 recommendations about 2384 pubs]


Moby Duck left this review about Coopers Tavern

As previously described , a classic unspoilt pub, got in at first knockings but with Burton playing Gillingham in the footy it soon became very populated and loud with the away teams supporters. 11 beers by way of pump and barrel, I went for a couple of Joules, Bob On and Pure Blonde, not the best beers I've ever had to my particular taste, but nice enough and well looked after.

On 6th October 2021 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1586 recommendations about 1567 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Coopers Tavern

Burton’s nationally-renowned pub. This is a classic multi-roomed gem which hosts a servery rather than bar. The exterior has the classic Bass livery though nowadays the place is run by Joules, who sensibly have retained Bass on stillage alongside their own beers. I popped in a couple of times for a Bass, which was stillage-like (NBSS 3). As noted below the original layout is retained with rooms either side of the entrance and a tap room to the rear; there’s no bar, just a small counter and an unusual raised seating area right next to it, allowing you to look down on proceedings. I think there may have been at least one other room tucked away somewhere too. There’s plenty of breweriana to see and plenty of locals to chat to (I spent 15 minutes chatting to a former mayor of the town) – this is a convivial pub with a nice atmosphere, aided by the coal fires and the smoky, sooty feel. A proper destination pub, make sure you seek it out. 8.5

On 5th March 2020 - rating: 9
[User has posted 4423 recommendations about 4408 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Coopers Tavern

I'm following the Good Beer Guide 2018 and this isn't listed. It was however in an older Camra book detailing 50 great pub crawls.

Next to a couple of other GBG entries and this was pub of the day. There are some very good pubs in Burton.

Lovely interior and great Bass.

Visit blogged at http://bit.ly/2O9rRfy

On 23rd July 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 989 recommendations about 981 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Coopers Tavern

An excellent pub this one and can easily be classed as a destination pub. I know Joules have some good traditional pubs under their umbrella, but I would go as far as to say this pub in my opinion is their best. Another thumbs up, was the amount of good guest beers that were in here, eight in all, plus two Joules beers.
We were also lucky to find a seat in the small tap room in spite of the pub getting increasingly busier on our Friday eve visit. The manageress was very friendly and gave you a decent welcome. I immediately went for the Nene Brewery Big Bang Theory 5.3% which had loads of flavour and was turning into a good session ale. Also tried was the Butcombe Haka, also in fine fettle.
We took Rob Camra and Bucking Fastard's advice and went for an excellent curry next door.

On 18th January 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3126 recommendations about 3126 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Coopers Tavern

I've been to Burton quite a few times over the last forty years but don't recall ever visiting this one before. It stands in the shadow of the Mouldy Corpse chemical plant and brazenly sticks two fingers up at it.
It's been so well described below I can't add much other than the fact that it seems Hardy & Hanson took the place on from Bass in the 1990s and it then became a free house before Joules brewery took it on.
I found a seat in the tap room where I tried the Kinver Half Centurion and the Joules Koltaka (both £3.20). Both were excellent. Other beers noted were Joules Slumbering Monk, Pale & Stones Number One, Sarah Hughes Mild, Nene Valley Jim Irvine Pale and Froth Blowers Gollop With Zest. The Sarah Hughes seemed to be the flavour of the month with the locals.
I thought this was a superb pub. I decided that with the pouring rain outside I would give the Weighbridge micropub a miss to give me an excuse to return.

On 12th October 2016 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Coopers Tavern

Nothing to add to the descriptions and comments except the layout at the back is a bit odd meaning you need to form an orderly queue if there's more than a couple waiting, other than that minor grouch this pub is a delight and should on no account be missed if in Burton.

On 17th February 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2651 recommendations about 2415 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Coopers Tavern

I like the notion in Soup Dragon's review below that St Peter has been moonlighting as a bouncer at this pub. Not that a bouncer is required, you understand. Having been here only a couple of times in the last year or so, what with it being quite handy for the station, I didn't really feel qualified to add to what others have written, especially as I'd had too many to write legible notes about my latest visit. However, I felt the need to counteract the slight grouchiness of ROB Camra's review and to hope that this pub never does win the national pub of the year award if serving Jaipur in a glass with the words Innovation Passion Knowledge engraved down the side is what it's going to take. I do echo his sign off though: this is a brilliant pub and a must visit when in Burton.

On 30th October 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 3141 recommendations about 2950 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Coopers Tavern

This is an excellent pub and is well described below. Visited here twice during our recent trip to Burton for the CAMRA Champion Beer Of Britain lunch and all but one of the pints I tried were top notch. The exception was Thornbridge Chiron which was advertised in the pub as "Real Ale served cooler", so I had a pint, it was keg. So that loses you a point and ruins the track record of all 10's. I was also served Thornbridge Jaipur in a Youngs glass which shouldn't be happening either. Either of those things will lose you points in the CAMRA Pub Of The Year awards, which explains why it's in the CAMRA GBG2014 but isn't up for the major awards. It is a brilliant pub though and a must visit when in Burton.

On 16th October 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3027 recommendations about 2942 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Coopers Tavern

A little detached corner pub with a painted sign for Bass & Co - Copper's Tavern. The little plain undressed brick Georgian looking build has little other feature, apart from Bass etched windows and white stone window lintels and sills, as well as above the small central entrance. It is now a Joules house with a side patio area. It may not touch the soul from the description, but I tell you, St Peter himself minds these doors on his days off.

The interior has a couple of rooms. The front room is an L-shaped room opening to the left and in front of the entrance. This room is in red and white and some white painted wood panel, with a white ceiling. The small area to the left is carpeted while the rest has a tile floor. Electic furniture; red perimeter seating, stools and benches are present with the usual wood tables and there are small fireplaces to the left and right. Bass and Highgate Brewery mirrors are on the walls as well as local photos, especially of the Town Council, which was different. There was no TV or music, except for the piano for any budding Rachmaninov. A brick floored passageway runs through from the side entrance beyond which is the entrance to the back tap room. This room, also devoid of modern distractions is in red and yellow, with a number of barrels as tables. Chalk boards show what beers are on and jugs and beer mats decorate the walls along with more mirrors and photos. The wood panel bar has both gravity and handpull beers. The service was friendly as were the several locals that packed out the small bar.

Beer; tap stuff, with ciders, perry and wines. On gravity-serve there is; Joules's Slumbering Monk, Blonde and Pale Ale; Bass, Kelham Island Pale Rider, Worthington White Shield and Oakham JHB. All i tried, which was most in half-pints, were class.

Brilliant. Well, better than that. You could stay here all month and not move. More than a must do.

On 25th January 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3067 recommendations about 3062 pubs]

Page: 1 2