User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 19th November 2017) with Real Ale Ray on the Pub Forum

Coopers Tavern

43 Cross Street
Burton on Trent
DE14 1EG

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Real Ale Ray left this review about Coopers Tavern

An excellent pub this one and can easily be classed as a destination pub. I know Joules have some good traditional pubs under their umbrella, but I would go as far as to say this pub in my opinion is their best. Another thumbs up, was the amount of good guest beers that were in here, eight in all, plus two Joules beers.
We were also lucky to find a seat in the small tap room in spite of the pub getting increasingly busier on our Friday eve visit. The manageress was very friendly and gave you a decent welcome. I immediately went for the Nene Brewery Big Bang Theory 5.3% which had loads of flavour and was turning into a good session ale. Also tried was the Butcombe Haka, also in fine fettle.
We took Rob Camra and Bucking Fastard's advice and went for an excellent curry next door.

On 18th January 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2275 recommendations about 2275 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Coopers Tavern

I've been to Burton quite a few times over the last forty years but don't recall ever visiting this one before. It stands in the shadow of the Mouldy Corpse chemical plant and brazenly sticks two fingers up at it.
It's been so well described below I can't add much other than the fact that it seems Hardy & Hanson took the place on from Bass in the 1990s and it then became a free house before Joules brewery took it on.
I found a seat in the tap room where I tried the Kinver Half Centurion and the Joules Koltaka (both £3.20). Both were excellent. Other beers noted were Joules Slumbering Monk, Pale & Stones Number One, Sarah Hughes Mild, Nene Valley Jim Irvine Pale and Froth Blowers Gollop With Zest. The Sarah Hughes seemed to be the flavour of the month with the locals.
I thought this was a superb pub. I decided that with the pouring rain outside I would give the Weighbridge micropub a miss to give me an excuse to return.

On 12th October 2016 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1771 recommendations about 1767 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Coopers Tavern

Nothing to add to the descriptions and comments except the layout at the back is a bit odd meaning you need to form an orderly queue if there's more than a couple waiting, other than that minor grouch this pub is a delight and should on no account be missed if in Burton.

On 17th February 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1785 recommendations about 1688 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Coopers Tavern

ORIGINAL REVIEW May 2011

An outstandingly traditional early Victorian pub ,now owned by Joules Brewery.The original layout has been retained with a seperate room to the left of the entrance,another room to the right both with original fireplaces .At the rear of the pub is the tap room ,with some settle seating and barrels on stillage with a few ales handpumped.A great range was advertised on the chalk board and my Sarah Hughes Dark Ruby Mild and Thornbridge Jaipur IPA were excellent.
There is a good curry house next door without a drinks licence,so the pub are happy for you to take a pint over there as long as the glass is returned after your meal.
This pub deserves to be included on any tour of the town,a true must visit and one of the best examples of it's kind in the country.I hope it is listed both externally and internally by the local authority and CAMRA .
A joy to drink in,I endorse all the positive comments below.

UPDATE
The main body of the pub now has a lot of Joules signage and ephemera,with several rather silly slogans on wooden tablets.Fortunately the rear tap room has been left alone and this is the best place to drink,friendly and full of regulars who know their ales.Few were sampling the three permanent Joules beers ,which I find very indifferent.Thornbridge Jaipur IPA only available on keg was disappointing.Although it's still has a lovely layout,there is just a hint of tourist marketing by Joules.

On 11th October 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1613 recommendations about 1613 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Coopers Tavern

I like the notion in Soup Dragon's review below that St Peter has been moonlighting as a bouncer at this pub. Not that a bouncer is required, you understand. Having been here only a couple of times in the last year or so, what with it being quite handy for the station, I didn't really feel qualified to add to what others have written, especially as I'd had too many to write legible notes about my latest visit. However, I felt the need to counteract the slight grouchiness of ROB Camra's review and to hope that this pub never does win the national pub of the year award if serving Jaipur in a glass with the words Innovation Passion Knowledge engraved down the side is what it's going to take. I do echo his sign off though: this is a brilliant pub and a must visit when in Burton.

On 30th October 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1837 recommendations about 1762 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Coopers Tavern

This is an excellent pub and is well described below. Visited here twice during our recent trip to Burton for the CAMRA Champion Beer Of Britain lunch and all but one of the pints I tried were top notch. The exception was Thornbridge Chiron which was advertised in the pub as "Real Ale served cooler", so I had a pint, it was keg. So that loses you a point and ruins the track record of all 10's. I was also served Thornbridge Jaipur in a Youngs glass which shouldn't be happening either. Either of those things will lose you points in the CAMRA Pub Of The Year awards, which explains why it's in the CAMRA GBG2014 but isn't up for the major awards. It is a brilliant pub though and a must visit when in Burton.

On 16th October 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2411 recommendations about 2352 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Coopers Tavern

A little detached corner pub with a painted sign for Bass & Co - Copper's Tavern. The little plain undressed brick Georgian looking build has little other feature, apart from Bass etched windows and white stone window lintels and sills, as well as above the small central entrance. It is now a Joules house with a side patio area. It may not touch the soul from the description, but I tell you, St Peter himself minds these doors on his days off.

The interior has a couple of rooms. The front room is an L-shaped room opening to the left and in front of the entrance. This room is in red and white and some white painted wood panel, with a white ceiling. The small area to the left is carpeted while the rest has a tile floor. Electic furniture; red perimeter seating, stools and benches are present with the usual wood tables and there are small fireplaces to the left and right. Bass and Highgate Brewery mirrors are on the walls as well as local photos, especially of the Town Council, which was different. There was no TV or music, except for the piano for any budding Rachmaninov. A brick floored passageway runs through from the side entrance beyond which is the entrance to the back tap room. This room, also devoid of modern distractions is in red and yellow, with a number of barrels as tables. Chalk boards show what beers are on and jugs and beer mats decorate the walls along with more mirrors and photos. The wood panel bar has both gravity and handpull beers. The service was friendly as were the several locals that packed out the small bar.

Beer; tap stuff, with ciders, perry and wines. On gravity-serve there is; Joules's Slumbering Monk, Blonde and Pale Ale; Bass, Kelham Island Pale Rider, Worthington White Shield and Oakham JHB. All i tried, which was most in half-pints, were class.

Brilliant. Well, better than that. You could stay here all month and not move. More than a must do.

On 25th January 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2951 recommendations about 2944 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about Coopers Tavern

I agree with both Mr Hind and Mr Fastard below. This pub is worth a very long detour for a visit. There really aren't many very traditional Victorian pubs like this one left and this is a very good place for a few top quality beers. The building is cosy and welcoming and the staff friendly.
Beers on were Joules Pale Ale and Slumbering Monk, Bass, Thornbridge Jaipur IPA and Chiron, Andwell Spring Twist, Sarah Hughes Dark Ruby Mild, and Triple fff Pressed Rat and Warthog. I'd guess that the first 3 are the regulars. They're served either on handpump or from the barrel and everything we tried, however it was served, was in excellent condition. Again, Joules range isn't broad but their pubs really know how to look after beer.
A must visit.

On 3rd May 2011 - rating: 10
[User has posted 589 recommendations about 588 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Darren Hird left this review about Coopers Tavern

In my opinion THE best pint of draught Bass in the land. Straight out of the barrel and apparently the lager is top notch also. Worth a day trip to Burton just to go in Coopers and see what a proper pub should be like.

On 31st August 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 4 recommendations about 4 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alfie Aleswigger left this review about Coopers Tavern

Cracking little gem with lots of guest ales served straight from the barrel. Also serves a selection of ciders and perries. Two old fashioned parlours lead to a cosy little bar. If you sit in the bar, you will most certainly end up having a good old chin-wag with the people sitting around you. A great atmosphere that is very rare in pubs nowadays. Well worth a visit.

On 31st December 2008 - rating: 10
[User has posted 46 recommendations about 44 pubs]

Page: 1 2