User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Burton Bridge Inn, Burton On Trent Town, Burton on Trent

24 Bridge Street
Burton on Trent
DE14 1SY

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 9 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Burton Bridge Inn

This is my third visit to this pub, but the previous occasions were when there was football on and it was very busy, so I didn't review those visits. This time was a quiet Friday mid-afternoon. Too quiet. I went into the front room, which is really two very small rooms knocked into one, with a large chimney between. This is a very pleasant place to sit and enjoy your beer, and I was happy with my half of Burton Bridge brewery's winter warmer Old Expensive 6.5%. When I was later joined by the rest of the group I was touring Burton with, I also had their Burton Ale, which seemed all right to me, though a couple of others found it not quite up to scratch. Through the bar I could see into the back rooms, the second of which has a large and impressive fireplace, so I wandered through to have a closer look. The whole pub looks very good, with wood panelling and what may be the occasional original feature, though WhatPub says that it was "sensitively" refurbished 20 years ago. It's difficult to get a good feel of this pub, as my only visits have been when it was incredibly busy or ridiculously quiet. As far as the fittings, furniture, decor, beer, service and welcome are concerned, it's very good indeed.

On 16th March 2020 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2659 recommendations about 2506 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Burton Bridge Inn

Lovely old three roomed pub which serves as the Burton Bridge Brewery tap, the building dates back to C17th and looks it from the outside. Main bar, side room and a really nice rear lounge room with what looks like a proper fire and an inlaid clock above the fireplace. There’s a traditional comfy 60s refurb feel to proceedings with wood panelling, carpets, curtains and all that stuff. A few people in the back room with a cross section of ages and the atmosphere was very convivial. Pumps situated either side of the bar so couldn't work out how many were on but at least five. My Old Expensive was barrel end but changed before I got it by the conscientious barman and my beer was good (NBSS 4). A really pleasant little place I would prioritise next time along with the Coopers. 8.5

On 5th March 2020 - rating: 8
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Burton Bridge Inn

I've been to this place a few times in the past and while their beers would probably be regarded as Old School today I still rate them (apart from the "specials" they used to brew for JDW that were always rubbish and 4.5% ABV). The retiring owners seem committed to finding a suitable buyer for the brewery and all five pubs rather than the first global abomination to make an offer. I hope they are successful.
Apparently this place had a refurbishment at the start of the century but it looked exactly the same as I remembered it.
The central serving area overlooks the two rooms with four hand pumps on each side serving six of their beers. I went for their Stairway To Heaven (£3.20) which was excellent.
It really shouldn't be missed.

On 12th October 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Burton Bridge Inn

A lovely friendly old pub near the river at the far end of Burton's long High St, it has a single front room split by a large chimney breast. Mainly furnished with bench seating round the walls with stools on the outer side in traditional style, there are lots of CAMRA awards as well. The back room is similar if a bit more fancy and upstairs is the skittle alley and a meeting room. Each downstairs room has a set of four pulls with Burton Bridge beers on. Definitely a don't miss.

On 17th February 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2300 recommendations about 2131 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Bridge Inn

Burton Bridge Brewerys tap is a nicely refurbished two roomed pub which you enter down an alleyway. There's a small front room which had a table skittles game and loads of brewery awards around the walls. Some of the seating in here is old church pews. The rear room is in two parts really with a small area near the bar with a couple of settles and a larger lounge with wooden beams and panelling. Very dog friendly as there were two in even on a busy Saturday evening. Upstairs there is a function room and apparently a skittle alley, but the area was booked, so we couldn't visit. Several handpumps (at least 6) dispensing Burton Bridge beers. Both the pints I had were in good nick. It's a very good pub.

On 22nd October 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2870 recommendations about 2789 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Burton Bridge Inn

Had an excellent beer and skittle evening out here with a group and enjoyed the superb range of their own ales. Passed on the faggots and peas but the chilli was a good hot one and wentdown well. A great evening.

On 5th October 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1320 recommendations about 1204 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Jayesh Pandya left this review about Burton Bridge Inn

This is the Bridge's new website detailing the new food menu, Skittle Alley Menu & Take Away Ales price list.

On 21st April 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alfie Aleswigger left this review about Burton Bridge Inn

The Burton Bridge Brewery HQ. this pub has been restored rather than refubished. Very cosy with a good choice of beers, & a good old fashioned lunch menu.

On 5th January 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 46 recommendations about 44 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


gina samways left this review about Burton Bridge Inn

home made wines to die for

On 7th March 2007 - rating: 10
[User has posted 5 recommendations about 5 pubs]