User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How was it for you? with trainman on the Pub Forum

The Union Vaults, Chester

44 Egerton Street
Chester
CH1 3ND

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Punch Taverns

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about The Union Vaults

this is indeed a lively chatty pub but it’s probably best left to the locals. Had to wait 10 minutes for the worldweary landlord in here to churn out my pint of vinegar IPA. The other handpumps were off so I just left it and moved on. a long pub that stretches down the street and traditionally decorated. I like this kind of pub but I probably wouldn’t return unless i lived locally.

On 6th April 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 772 recommendations about 753 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Hurdle left this review about Union Vaults

In this back street local it is hard to believe you are in central Chester and less than 50 yards from the busy tourist canal area. The corner entrance leads to a small bar room with a bagatelle table (billiards type as opposed to spring fired ball type!). There is also a larger lounge room. Only London Pride was on sale from the three handpumps but it was on decent form.

On 18th August 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 676 recommendations about 625 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Union Vaults

Back street local not far from the train station. Basically a 2 roomed pub with a raised area to the rear. At the side of the entrance is a bagatelle table. A couple of real ales were on on my visit and though they weren't great the lively banter during my visit made up for it. Its a thin pub and a friendly one. I liked it.

On 8th August 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Andrew Evans left this review about Union Vaults

An ablolute gorgeous pint of Everards Tiger! I wish I'd discovered this pub earlier.

On 18th July 2012 - rating: 10
[User has posted 151 recommendations about 149 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Union Vaults

This is a proper traditional back street local, split level, with a bit of a plusher lounge at the upper end. The busy bar area has a bagatelle table, and a centre room has a dartboard. Blokes playing cards, others loudly cheering on their bets watching the racing on TV. It's rather how I remember pubs from 25 years or so back. Decor includes framed prints of old Chester, and bottles, jars and pots on high picture rail shelves. Traditional seating at banquettes, stools and chairs at small tables.
Three handpumps, Everards Tiger (£3.00), Hop Back Spring Zing plus Weston's Cider. I didn't see any indications that food other than the usual snacks is offered but I could be wrong.
Outdoor seating/smoking area down some steps to the rear.
A flying visit but I did enjoy my time here, a good option for a pre-train pint.

On 12th March 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Union Vaults

I wasn't aware of this pub until it earned an entry in the Good Beer Guide, so I had to go and try it. It's a back street locals pub with a couple of guest beers on. The pint I had was in very good nick. It was a Saturday lunchtime and a whole bunch of locals were playing the unusual bagatelle game and enjoying a whole load of banter as well. A proper local, I'll call back again.

On 3rd December 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2865 recommendations about 2785 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Union Vaults

This is a corner terrace pub, with a yellow exterior and red paintwork.

The interior is traditional and in three areas rather than rooms. The bar has Sky TV, with the racing on usually and there is darts and bagatelle,the other two areas being loungey types. The decor varies from room to room, so cream (certainly light coloured) walls, or wallpaper and wood panel and there are plenty of old Chester pictures and ornaments around. The far lounge is tidy, the seats looking as though they have been re-covered recently. Service is fine and the clientele local, maturer and plenty of them.

Beer, tap stuff with a decent enough Greenall's MILD, with the untried Everard's Tiger and London Pride on handpull.

It is a locals place, but friendly enough. Beer choice is a bit disappointing, but it is always worth a visit.

On 9th November 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about Union Vaults

Traditional street corner local selling 3 real ales.Small front bar with a side drinking area.Very friendly and down to earth staff and locals.In a very nice part of the city by the canal.

On 20th May 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]