User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 16th January 2022) with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Shropshire Arms, Chester

45 Northgate Street
Chester
CH1 2HQ
Phone: 01244321194

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Shropshire Arms

The Shropshire Arms is a small pub with L-shaped bar to the right and some seating down the left. During a recent Tuesday evening visit there was Sky Sports football on a plasma on the rear wall and some background music was playing. Live music is held here every weekend and Monday is ‘anything goes’ open mic night. The toilets are located upstairs.
The bar is stocked with standard and premium keg and the four handpumps were drawing Bombardier, Sharp’s Doom Bar, Peerless Brewery’s Oatmeal Stout and Westwoods Cheshire Cat. I didn’t see any food menus. This is a very basic pub that was quiet during my visit, but I imagine it gets lively at the weekend.

On 28th July 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3630 recommendations about 3610 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about The Shropshire Arms

lively pub on Chester's market area. it was quite friendly with a fun atmosphere on a Saturday evening. better than expected real ales with Ubu and Cheshire Cat plus two dull choices. not a great pub by any means but worth popping in.

On 1st December 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 853 recommendations about 828 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Shropshire Arms

I've never been a fan of the 3 pubs by the Tourist Info place and this place is as average to dull as the Dublin Packet and the Coach House. The single room is slightly cramped and the choice of real ale is usually dull. You can sit out front on the pavement should you so wish.

On 9th May 2017 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3436 recommendations about 3346 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Shropshire Arms

Small L shaped, one roomed pub, has been modernised to remove all its character. The same could be said of the barman. Only a couple of regulars in on my Thursday lunchtime visit. There are 3 handpumps on the bar, but only Bombardier was available and this was only OK. Not a place I'll be visiting again with so many better pubs in Chester.

On 14th June 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2938 recommendations about 2856 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Dale Miles left this review about The Shropshire Arms

This is one of my favourite pubs, and a very good happy 3 hours between 4pm and 7pm where beer is reduced to 2 pounds a pint very much a football watchers pub and fans of real ale, a very nice sitting area at the front of the pub, great place to watch the busy streets of chester.

On 17th August 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 184 recommendations about 182 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Shropshire Arms

A similar brick and half white/black timber exterior to its neighbour, the Coach House, this terraced pub also has a beer patio.

The interior is small and open plan, in red and white, with wood floor and tiled fireplace. There is Sky TV, sofas and comfy seats. The service was functional.

The beer was usual tap stuff, with Wells Bombardier and Shep Neame Spitfire

To me its a bland place, non-entity at best, but many will be fine with it. I prefer the choice at the Coach House

On 23rd October 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3067 recommendations about 3062 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Dale Miles left this review about The Shropshire Arms

very much a student pub and recommended for the under twentyfives, older clients tend to drink in this bar in the early afternoons, very close to the city centre and ideal for a drink during a shopping trip to the city.

On 9th May 2008 - rating: 4
[User has posted 184 recommendations about 182 pubs]