User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Little Plough, Doncaster Town, Doncaster

8 West Laith Gate
Doncaster
DN1 1SF
Phone: 01302738310

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Punch Taverns
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Graham Coombs left this review about The Little Plough

A splendidly-unchanging and proper old-school pub, so still as described in earlier reviews. Ales on this occasion were Acorn Barnsley Bitter, Bradfield Farmers Blonde, Batemans Combined Harvest and Hobgoblin, with Banks's Mild due on next. Beer condition seemed excellent and oversized glasses are always preferable to trying to negotiate a top-up. Definitely worth dropping in.

On 31st October 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2047 recommendations about 2002 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Little Plough

This old pub still has the signage for Hewitts of Grimsby who were taken over in 1961 and ended up in the Bass abomination. It's now owned by Star Pubs rather than Mouldy Corpse, well that's according to What Pub. Every man and his dog seems to have been here so it's more than well described. I sat at the end of the public bar near a collection of silver cups that were for a Darts and Dominoes league. What looked like a dart board cabinet nearby had closed doors and looked unusable without trashing the furnishings with bounce outs.
There were three beers available Watneys Ray Of Sunshine, GK Yardbird and Acorn Barnsley Bitter. I thought this was a pretty average choice so out of sheer curiosity went for the Watnays. It was well kept but a fairly pedestrian low ABV golden ale.
It might have an important interior but I thought it was a fairly ordinary place. It's GBG 2018 listed.

On 13th August 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2144 recommendations about 2139 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Plough

A good old fashioned boozer with 3 ales on when I visited. I went in the front bar which had a few friendly regulars in which made for good banter

On 22nd March 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2037 recommendations about 2018 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Plough

Neatly preserved 30s interior in both front public and rear lounge, it is on CAMRA's national inventory of historic pub interiors. Three pulls in public with Old Golden Hen, Acorn Barnsley Bitter and a guest, the lounge is served via a hatch. Busy with auld lads on my lunchtime call. Bench seating round edges with chairs on the outer side of the wooden tables. A few pictures and cuttings of local interest including plough related stuff forms the decor. Oversized glasses are used for the popular Stones Bitter possibly from an electric pump, Tulip glasses for cask. A good traditional boozer.

On 10th October 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2127 recommendations about 1974 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Plough

The Plough is a two roomed pub with a bar area at the front and a seating area to the right rear. I visited on a recent Friday night when the pub was comfortably busy with a local crowd. There was some low background music playing and the television was showing muted ‘I’m a celebrity get….’.
The bar is stocked with standard draught and I counted three hand pumps, but I was too plastered to remember what they were drawing.
Out the back is a covered smoking area.

I thought that this place was decent enough and if I ever find myself in Doncaster again I’ll have no problem returning.

On 18th December 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3546 recommendations about 3525 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Plough

Paid a visit here due to its position as a CAMRA-listed heritage pub, with minimal alterations since a 1934 refurbishment. So there’s plenty of interesting items here over the two rooms (front bar room and rear smoke room) - tiled fireplaces, colourful leaded glass windows, original call bells and other period pieces. Toilets are an outdoors affair and, for the gents at least, are also primitive. Three ales on the bar - Copper Dragon Best, Acorn Barnsley Bitter, Thwaites Torch Light - and my Thwaites was in excellent condition as well as gratifyingly cheap. The barman, however, left a bit to be desired, quite a lazy so-and-so. The clientèle and general ambience is very much that of a ‘boozer’, enhanced by the dart board and horse racing theme. Handy for the station, there’s enough here to warrant a visit for any pub enthusiast and the quality beer is an added bonus. Whilst the ambience of the Corner Pin was far more my style, I’d recommend taking a 15 minute beer break in here regardless.

On 31st August 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Plough

This is a satisfyingly traditional two room pub close to Doncaster’s rail and bus stations. The layout comprises a small bar room at the front, a narrow lounge to the rear and a connecting corridor along the right hand side of the building. The interior has apparently remained virtually unchanged since the last alterations were made back in 1934. The carpeted bar public bar has comfortable banquette seating and some unusual tables with storage compartments built into them. Two smart tiled fireplaces on the left hand wall hint at a previous room layout whilst the leaded glasswork and lovely bar counter are testament to the pub’s heritage. Beer bottles are on display on a high shelf behind the bar and various bits of brewerania can be spotted throughout whilst the walls are decorated with a number of ploughing related photos and pictures. A TV was on in one corner with the sound turned down very low whilst music played over the top. A dartboard is hung in an odd corner position which means you would have to throw diagonally across the room if you wanted to use it. I didn’t get a good look in the lounge bar, but from my brief glimpse it seemed like a smart carpeted room with banquette seating and another nice fireplace. There is a small, scruffy courtyard out the back leading to the outdoor toilets which, for the gents at least, comprises a wall to pee against and not much else – the Philharmonic it ain’t.
There are three handpulls which were dispensing York Terrier (£2.70), Moorhouse Pride of Pendle and Acorn Barnsley Bitter. I gave the Terrier a try and thought it was in excellent condition and I would have gladly stopped for another pint had my train home not been due to depart. The locals seemed like a friendly bunch and were happy to chat away with whoever came through the door.
I only stopped off here for a quick pint whilst waiting for my connecting train, but I’m glad I did as I thought it was a really nice, welcoming traditional pub that you don’t always find in town centres. There are a few other pubs I’m keen to visit in Doncaster, but I would be happy to drop one of them in order to revisit this place the next time I’m in town.

On 1st June 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2342 recommendations about 2342 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Plough

Definitely to be preferred to the Tut next door, this is a proper pub. Beer choice on three hand pumps restricted to Barnsley Bitter, Wharfe Bank Celtic Glory and Cross Bay Sunset, but the two we tried were in good condition and this was a very pleasant place for a drink or three.

On 9th May 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2432 recommendations about 2296 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Plough

Proper old style pub with a bar at the front and lounge at the back. Serving 3 real ales the pub has a dartboard and is located a short walk from the train station and town centre.

On 6th March 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2647 recommendations about 2590 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Plough Inn

Conveniently close to Doncaster’s main railway station and the Frenchgate shopping mall is The Plough ( or The Little Plough as it seems to be known ), one of only 3 South Yorkshire pubs to be listed in CAMRA’s National Inventory of Historic Pub Interiors. The pub dates back to 1934. “A traditional pub with traditional values” is how it sells itself in the local CAMRA branch magazine.

A rather uninspiring looking exterior tells us that the pub used to belong to Bass Yor shire ( the “k” has disappeared ) and leads into a traditional and welcoming 2 bar interior. At the front, the public bar is basic, rather brightly lit, and is clearly the favoured spot of the locals. Perhaps inevitably, there’s a horse racing theme together with a dartboard and a fine trophy collection.

At the back, accessed via a short corridor, is the lounge bar – a cosy, comfortable and carpeted room which is served from the main bar via a hatch. The lounge bar is decorated with a series of old ploughing pictures and a series of plates on a high shelf. Original bell pushes are still in situ as is the fixed seating round the walls. Attractive coloured leaded windows are a further notable feature. This bar appears to be favoured by weary elderly shoppers taking a well earned rest from the hustle and bustle of the shopping centre. On my recent visit, several of these customers were complaining in a none too subtle manner about the lack of heating – all to no avail as the fire remained steadfastly unlit.

There’s the predictable outside toilets, accessed through a small courtyard.

From the real ale perspective, the pub has recently been voted Doncaster Pub of the Season and was advertising a 3 day beer festival from 7-9 April. It’s been a CAMRA Good Beer Guide regular in recent years. Beers on were Acorn Barnsley Bitter - £ 2.10p and in fine form – plus Beartown Ginger Bear and Wadworth’s St Georges.

This is a fine unpretentious pub and you should look this one out when in Donny

On 6th April 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]

Page: 1 2