User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Those two new Tier 2 rules explained! with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

Olde Cottage, Chester

36 Brook Street
Chester
CH1 3DZ

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Hurdle left this review about Olde Cottage

An excellent local pub with superb beer. Just 6 minutes from the station (don't trust the open street map diversion!). Always my first port of call when arriving by train (turn right outside the station and follow the road). Has a bagatelle table with a team in the Chester Bagatelle League. A very friendly place. Wins many local beer/pub awards. A 9.5 pub.

On 11th April 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 677 recommendations about 626 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about Olde Cottage

a traditional and old fashioned sport led pub on Chester’s multicultural Brook Street. Down to earth with a barman that says ‘job’s a good un’ about every 10 seconds. I liked this proper pub and it was a much needed tonic after suffering the horrors of the Lock Keeper down the road.

On 6th April 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 772 recommendations about 753 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Olde Cottage

A superb Pub Man's pub. It’s unashamedly old school – a comfy, traditional 60's refit U-shaped interior with ceiling beams, frosted windows, banquettes, pub carpet, dark varnish wood. Dart board and pool spotted, I assume the bagatelle is still around but I didn’t venture to the far end of the left hand side. Telly competing with music was a slight grate. Four pumps, all on; Wychwood Dirty Tackle, Otter Bitter (NBSS 3.5) Timothy Taylor Golden Best (NBSS 3) and White Rat (NBSS 4), a solid line-up of Beers You’ve Heard Of. The friendly barmaid gave us some free credits on the jukey. The atmosphere was friendly, convivial and the place was a general joy to be in. The best in Chester for me and should be the ‘must visit’ when you’re in town.

On 1st March 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about The Olde Cottage Inn

Good real ale pub that is a bit away from the main drag. Loads of awards, posters, PO clips etc. on display. Four hamdpumps with all priced at £3.20 . 30p discount for CAMRA members.

On 10th May 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 742 recommendations about 678 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Olde Cottage Inn

A nice traditional style pub. Basically its two rooms with the main servery being at the right side of the pub and in front of you as you enter. There were 3 beers on on my visit and as it had just opened late afternoon it was empty. I'm sure that the local shop owners who can drink may find this a place to enjoy an after work drink. Inside is a traditional pub interior. Nice.

On 29th March 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Olde Cottage Inn

This was a mid week visit, where the pub opens its doors at 4.30. When we arrived close to 4.30 the pub was already full. This was a mainly blokes drinking establishment on this visit, with Mrs A and the barmaid being the very small minority.
There was a lit coal fire near the corner entrance, which was very welcoming on such a cold day. Beer wise, they had three ales on hand pull, which were Wychwood, Weetwood and a Woodfordes Wherry. I went for the Woodfordes which was in great shape and prices here were reasonable. All in all a decent pub this one, with a jovial and friendly atmosphere.

On 20th January 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Olde Cottage Inn

There were four ales on in here – Brakspear’s Bitter, Sharp’s Cornish Coaster, Robinson’s Up & Under, and Cheshire DBA (£1.70 a half). There was no sign of menus or food early Wednesday evening.

It’s mainly carpeted and with traditional furnishings – banquettes, normal tables and small stools. This pub looks to have civilised standards, with a sign on the counter advising the dress code of “no tracksuits or sports attire”. It looks clean and well maintained. There are essentially two rooms – the room on the right as you enter seems to be the main drinking area with a group of locals clustered around the bar chatting and enjoying themselves. Their choice of this pub shows good judgement over the other candidates in Brook St. This room contains the dartboard. An archway from this bar leads into another room which has a bagatelle table (if that’s the correct term – I hadn’t seen one before visiting Chester), plus a trophy shelf at the back.

There are pump clips displayed above the bar counter and on some of the beams, suggesting a changing real ale policy. They are in GBG 2015 so that seems very likely. Some of the tables were reserved for that night’s pub quiz, and on the heritage front some of the leaded light glazing looked original, or possibly from an inter-war fitting.

This is a real traditional pub, in which I enjoyed my short stay. I would gladly visit this one again if I ever have the opportunity to vist Chester again.

On 17th September 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Olde Cottage Inn

Large corner pub, in brick, white render and black timber look.

The interior is open plan, with a central bar and a pool table area. The decor is pink and yellow and there was a small real fire in the main room and a moulded blind fireplace in the pool area. There were planty of old photos of chester and a dart board. Music was rock based and at a good level. The service was fine and the clientele small.

Beer, usual tap stuff, with GK IPA and a decent Timothy Taylor Best.

Perhaps a bit of a lack of beer choice, but i have always liked this place - it is the best of the pubs in Brook St area. Definately worth a visit.

On 1st November 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]