User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Micropub Definitions with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Leopard, Doncaster

2 West Street
Doncaster
DN1 3AA

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Blue Scrumpy left this review about The Leopard

A return visit to the Leopard for the first time in over 12 years on Wednesday afternoon. The exterior tiling is certainly quite eye-catching. Once inside. there are a couple of rooms. To the left is a bar with a pool table and TV screens showing sport. The second room to the right is more of a lounge. There was also an outdoor drinking area, taking over the car park.

The real ale range has improved significantly since my last visit, with 5 ales available on our visit - Little Critters Sleepy Badger, Blue Bee Hillfoot, Abbeydale Pardonery & Swifty & Ossett Alter Ego. There was no real cider that I could see.

It was quiet for our midweek afternoon visit, despite this being the designated away fans' pub for the football match in town that evening. Beers didn't seem in the best condition, but at least a CAMRA discount made them a little more palateable.

On 3rd September 2023 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2416 recommendations about 2415 pubs]


Old Boots left this review about The Leopard

A two room pub close to the railway station and just down from The Railway pub which hadn’t opened when I arrived in Donny one lunchtime. The right hand bar is more lounge like while the left hand room is more of a Public Bar and is an odd shape - a bit T shaped. Three pulls in each bar but there are different beers in each, smaller Yorkshire breweries seem well represented. Usual T-Bar favourites. The public has multiple screens, a pool table and Sterling board walls which are decorated with stencils of sports people. 10% Camra discount.

On 6th March 2023 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3156 recommendations about 2869 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Leopard

Fine-looking pub retaining separate rooms for the main bar and quieter lounge, with green tiled front and side facades displaying the Warwicks and Richardsons Ltd Newark Ales and Stouts origins. However, the refurbished semi-traditional interior is definitely less interesting. Still, it offers a reasonable selection of real ales from the various handpumps, including Dark Star Hophead, Sharps Sea Fury and a pair from Acorn: Barnsley Bitter and Old Moor porter (£3.40).

On 4th July 2021 - rating: 7
[User has posted 7969 recommendations about 7969 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Leopard

Despite the traditional green tiles outside, the Leopard looks like a fairly modern welcoming place that does food. There is a piano in the bar to the right and a TV showing Sky Sports News (muted). Music was playing, albeit intermittently so not sure if the barman was queuing up tracks manually.

Unfortunately it does look a bit grubby in places - chipped paintwork on the toilet doors, dark fingerprints round the door push plates and general dirty patches on the doors and some of the walls. Otherwise a pleasant interior but could just do with a bit more attention to detail. The toilets (gents at least) were basic but functional, again not the cleanest but not disgusting either. They did smell a bit though.

My beer was fine and in great condition, so the pub appears to be doing cask ales right. I had the Mai Tai by Ossett at £1.50 for a half, which was topped up without me having to ask. They also had Titanic Plum Porter, something by Exit 33 and a couple of others that I can't remember.

This is definitely the least intimidating looking pub in the immediate vicinity and I would be happy to call back again.

On 26th September 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 750 recommendations about 598 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Leopard

This place still retains the old green tiles outside and the Warwick and Richardson brewery name. This Newark brewery was taken over by John Smiths in 1962 so you might expect it to be owned by Star Pubs via Courage. In fact it's now owned by Doncaster Council. It's been well described below but has been spruced up although much of the public bar has bookcase and wood panelling wallpaper! I didn't look into the lounge bar. There is a TV at the end of the public bar but it wasn't loud if there was any sound at all. The public bar has three hand pumps which had Cameron's Strongarm, Little Critters Blonde Bear and Sonnet 43 Raven. I went for the Raven (£3.10) which was in good nick. Despite the CAMRA discount being written on the entrance I only noticed it after I'd sat down!
This is still a music venue so may be worth avoiding on Friday and Saturday night but on my Saturday afternoon visit it was fine. It's GBG 2018 listed.

On 13th August 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Leopard

The Leopard is a live music venue that is open from 16:00 until late on Thursdays and from midday until late Friday through to Sunday. The interior is split in two with a large bar to the left and a smaller bar to the right. I noted the presence of Caledonian’s Autumn Red and Old Rosie cider on cask in the left hand side before moving into the right. Here I found standard draught and four more hand pumps. One was drawing Wadworth’s Swordfish and the others had ‘being conditioned’ labels on them.
There is a pool table and smoking area at the rear.

I was the only customer during my recent Saturday afternoon visit so there was no atmosphere, although there was some low background music playing. The barmaid was polite enough, but I’m not a big fan of live music which seems to be this pub’s major draw. I doubt that I’ll ever return here.

On 31st December 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 5124 recommendations about 5093 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Leopard

The pub consists of a bar, lounge and a live music venue upstairs. The pub has a pool table and is handy for the train station

On 27th April 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2878 recommendations about 2815 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Leopard

This used to be a bit on the rough side, though the ale quality was always good. Now a lot smarter, and with a choice of Theakstons Lightfoot and Caledonian Coffee Porter on the bar. A strange selection, but my porter was OK. Some music was playing at a reasonable volume, but when The Jam came on someone turned the sound up to ear-splitting, and we felt forced to leave. I commented on the volume of the music to the landlord on my way out, but he just grinned at me. Perhaps he couldn't hear what I'd said?

On 9th May 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3664 recommendations about 3410 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Leopard

Occupying a prominent street corner position close to the station is The Leopard, a large two bar pub.

Externally impressive, with a fine glazed green tiled exterior bearing the lettering of Warwick and Richardson Limited Newark Ales and Stout, the interior is a fairly traditional 2 bar interior with a slightly worn and old fashioned feel to it. The public bar on the left as you go in via the central doors has a pool table, juke box and several TV’s dotted around. The lounge bar is carpeted and comfortable, if a bit tired looking in places. A high shelf round the room contains a collection of brewery memorabilia – bar top dispensers, brewery jugs etc – of which a round Watneys Red Barrel keg dispenser particularly caught my eye.

This is very much a music pub with an upstairs room where live bands feature at weekends.

3 real ales were on on my recent mid – afternoon visit – John Smiths Cask, Shardlow Ireland and Sparkler from the local Glentworth Brewery, the latter being a fine pint ( £ 2.70p ).

There’s a few reasonable pubs close to the station and you could do worse than call in here if you’ve time to kill before your train arrives

On 6th April 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James Joines left this review about The Leopard

Real Ale available

On 28th March 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 841 recommendations about 835 pubs]

Page: 1 2