User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 2nd August 2020) with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

The Leopard, Doncaster

2 West Street
Doncaster
DN1 3AA

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Leopard

Despite the traditional green tiles outside, the Leopard looks like a fairly modern welcoming place that does food. There is a piano in the bar to the right and a TV showing Sky Sports News (muted). Music was playing, albeit intermittently so not sure if the barman was queuing up tracks manually.

Unfortunately it does look a bit grubby in places - chipped paintwork on the toilet doors, dark fingerprints round the door push plates and general dirty patches on the doors and some of the walls. Otherwise a pleasant interior but could just do with a bit more attention to detail. The toilets (gents at least) were basic but functional, again not the cleanest but not disgusting either. They did smell a bit though.

My beer was fine and in great condition, so the pub appears to be doing cask ales right. I had the Mai Tai by Ossett at £1.50 for a half, which was topped up without me having to ask. They also had Titanic Plum Porter, something by Exit 33 and a couple of others that I can't remember.

This is definitely the least intimidating looking pub in the immediate vicinity and I would be happy to call back again.

On 26th September 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 520 recommendations about 473 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Leopard

This place still retains the old green tiles outside and the Warwick and Richardson brewery name. This Newark brewery was taken over by John Smiths in 1962 so you might expect it to be owned by Star Pubs via Courage. In fact it's now owned by Doncaster Council. It's been well described below but has been spruced up although much of the public bar has bookcase and wood panelling wallpaper! I didn't look into the lounge bar. There is a TV at the end of the public bar but it wasn't loud if there was any sound at all. The public bar has three hand pumps which had Cameron's Strongarm, Little Critters Blonde Bear and Sonnet 43 Raven. I went for the Raven (£3.10) which was in good nick. Despite the CAMRA discount being written on the entrance I only noticed it after I'd sat down!
This is still a music venue so may be worth avoiding on Friday and Saturday night but on my Saturday afternoon visit it was fine. It's GBG 2018 listed.

On 13th August 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Leopard

The Leopard is a live music venue that is open from 16:00 until late on Thursdays and from midday until late Friday through to Sunday. The interior is split in two with a large bar to the left and a smaller bar to the right. I noted the presence of Caledonian’s Autumn Red and Old Rosie cider on cask in the left hand side before moving into the right. Here I found standard draught and four more hand pumps. One was drawing Wadworth’s Swordfish and the others had ‘being conditioned’ labels on them.
There is a pool table and smoking area at the rear.

I was the only customer during my recent Saturday afternoon visit so there was no atmosphere, although there was some low background music playing. The barmaid was polite enough, but I’m not a big fan of live music which seems to be this pub’s major draw. I doubt that I’ll ever return here.

On 31st December 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Leopard

The pub consists of a bar, lounge and a live music venue upstairs. The pub has a pool table and is handy for the train station

On 27th April 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2693 recommendations about 2637 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Leopard

This used to be a bit on the rough side, though the ale quality was always good. Now a lot smarter, and with a choice of Theakstons Lightfoot and Caledonian Coffee Porter on the bar. A strange selection, but my porter was OK. Some music was playing at a reasonable volume, but when The Jam came on someone turned the sound up to ear-splitting, and we felt forced to leave. I commented on the volume of the music to the landlord on my way out, but he just grinned at me. Perhaps he couldn't hear what I'd said?

On 9th May 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2630 recommendations about 2480 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Leopard

Occupying a prominent street corner position close to the station is The Leopard, a large two bar pub.

Externally impressive, with a fine glazed green tiled exterior bearing the lettering of Warwick and Richardson Limited Newark Ales and Stout, the interior is a fairly traditional 2 bar interior with a slightly worn and old fashioned feel to it. The public bar on the left as you go in via the central doors has a pool table, juke box and several TV’s dotted around. The lounge bar is carpeted and comfortable, if a bit tired looking in places. A high shelf round the room contains a collection of brewery memorabilia – bar top dispensers, brewery jugs etc – of which a round Watneys Red Barrel keg dispenser particularly caught my eye.

This is very much a music pub with an upstairs room where live bands feature at weekends.

3 real ales were on on my recent mid – afternoon visit – John Smiths Cask, Shardlow Ireland and Sparkler from the local Glentworth Brewery, the latter being a fine pint ( £ 2.70p ).

There’s a few reasonable pubs close to the station and you could do worse than call in here if you’ve time to kill before your train arrives

On 6th April 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James Joines left this review about The Leopard

Real Ale available

On 28th March 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 841 recommendations about 835 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Leopard

This decent sized corner pub near the station has a very dated but tradition style. Above the classic glazed tile exterior, the bold lettering depicts the former owners Warwick & Richardson Brewery and their Newark Ales & Stouts. The interior still retains the old fashioned Lounge / Public Bar set up. The carpeted lounge bar has a very tired and slightly tatty feel to it with a few bits of bric a brac spread around and those nicotine coloured walls that were popular to mask the residues of cigarette smoke. In fairness, any attempt to brighten it up or modernise it would probably spoil its dated and lived in character. The public bar is equally drab in an interesting kind of way with a stone tiled floor, heavy drape curtains, Pool area, juke box and a couple of TV's. Beyond is a small patio area. It was fairly quiet on my post match evening and the bar was mainly populated by Spurs fans having a quick celebratory pint after caning the locals 5-1.

Upstairs is a 200 capacity music venue with live bands on Fridays and Saturdays. A few notable bands such as Travis and Kasabian have passed through on their way to stardom and the place seems to do an admiral job showcasing local acts as well as hosting a few regulars of the “toilet” circuit.

The place does have a good reputation for ales on my visit the 3 consisted of RCH Steam Silver, Glentworth Summer Rain and the rather more mundane John Smiths. It's fair to say the Leopard won't be to everyone's taste and probably has more of a nostalgic appeal to people who drank in pubs in the 60's and 70's. That said the beers were good, it is handy for the station and you may just spot the next big thing on the music scene. If you just fancy brief stop, there are a selection of pubs nearby so it does make a decent stop as part of a pub crawl

On 14th September 2009 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]