User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

Station Hotel, Telford

42 Market Street
Oakengates
Postal town: Telford
TF2 6DU
Phone: 01952612949

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 9 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Station Hotel

Retains its simple 1930s-ish interior garnished with railway porn and framed pump clips not tackily stuck to beams or ceiling as in some “alehouses” . Probably my favourite of the Golden Triangle pubs. Eight pulls, with a choice from Three Tuns, Batham, Salopian, Fixed Wheel and a strong Yorkshire contingent from Mallinsons, Elland and Rat, with Pictish bringing up the rear for Lancashire.

On 2nd September 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2462 recommendations about 2253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Station Hotel

A friendly traditional pub with good ales and snacks available but was packed when we were there yesterday making seating difficult and unable to wander round. Beers from Mallinsons, Empire, Oakham, Sharps, Pictish, Redwillow, Rat and Salopian. We chose the Rat and Salopian which were fine.

On 21st January 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1324 recommendations about 1207 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Station Hotel

I know that I’m recycling a lot of key words here from below – ‘traditional’, ‘unspoilt’, ‘old school boozer’ but that’s exactly what you get here. Interior is best described as a sideways U shape effectively splits the bar into two rooms. There’s quarry tile flooring, lots of framed beer mats and, most impressively, a steam train decal on bar front. Already busy on our arrival, but I managed to note that there nine ales on (I see BF managed to list them all below!). Bathams was the default choice for me and it was in decent shape. Also noted lamb and chicken samosas retailing at 70p. In my notes it says ‘grumpy landlord’, though seeing below I think ‘stern and serious’ might be more apt! Either way, absolutely justifies its place in the ‘golden triangle’. 8.5 (visited June)

On 23rd September 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 4219 recommendations about 4206 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Station Hotel

Very traditional unspoilt pub on a main street, offers very good beer/choice and cheap snacks. Not over large and not modern, its oomfortable enough its a nice pub and one you would appreciate as your local.

On 10th July 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1287 recommendations about 1265 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Station Hotel

Another good traditional pub, where one can easily get lost in this beer triangle, between these three close proximity ale pubs. I found this pub to be very quirky, especially the stern and serious landlord, who did an excellent job keeping his thirsty customers at bay.
The atmosphere was good on our Friday afternoon visit, especially from a group of locals and the notorious Pubs Galore crew. 9 ales on our visit, so I went for the Salopian Oracle, which was in superb condition.

On 2nd July 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3036 recommendations about 3036 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Station Hotel

Superb old school boozer,oozing tradition and some exceptional ale.You enter into the bar room with a bench seat running the full length below the window,and the home of the regulars,enjoying their Friday afternoon session.The bar supports 9 handpumps and also offers wonderful home made pork pies,vast and great value from £3.25 and the perfect accompanyment to the ale.There are two seating sections to the rear,but all the hubub was around the bar.
Ale offered on my trip Salopian Oracle,Sharps Atlantic,Oakham Citra,Mallinsons Chinook,Treforrest Glow in the Dark,Bank Top Old Slapper,Bathams Bitter (tip top),Ossett Silver King,Ghost Phantom IPA and a real cider.
I was in as part of a crawl,but this pub really does deserve a long stay for a serious session.One of the best in the country,a must visit.

On 25th June 2017 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2230 recommendations about 2230 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Hurdle left this review about Station Hotel

I arrived here Saturday lunch from the Crown opposite. It was busier than the Crown and with an older(and I sensed, more regular) clientele. The beer being served in here really Looked good and I could tell it was going to be great. The creamy head slowly settling up to a quarter inch head could be described as a Yorkshire mans delight (but maybe a nightmare to anyone south of Watford Gap!). I started with an old favourite, Bathams Bitter, as a change from the newer micro brewers and it certainly didn't disappoint. As the sign in the "gents" says, it certainly recycles well!! Must have good autovacs!
Again arrived from The Crown, at 6 after the footy. The evening age gap was more obvious. The beers were superb again. I was sorry when I had to leave for the "other" station to get my train back to Wales. Later found out that I had been stood next to Oggwyn Great and "Mrs" Great for most of the evening.

On 17th October 2016 - rating: 10
[User has posted 686 recommendations about 633 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Station Hotel

I would assume this pub gets the name from the other Oakengates Station which was renamed to Oakengates Market Street after nationalisation in 1951. It was a stop on the Coalport Branch which departed from the defunct Stafford to Shrewsbury line at nearby Hadley.
This has a similar layout to the Crown over the road with the bar in front as you enter and another area behind it. Again, I stayed in the front area which has a red tiled floor and is fairly basic but none the worse for that. I could hear a TV from the back area so avoided it.
The nine hand pumps included Salopian Renaissance, Batham's Best, Abbeydale Moonshine, Sharp's Atlantic, Three Tuns Stout, Pictish Sladek, Mallinson Pacific Crusade and Doctor Morton's (Abbeydale) Crispy Aromatic Duck.
I went for the Renaissance (£3.00) which was excellent. This was probably my favourite of the three pubs here but it is all fairly marginal.

On 9th February 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about Station Hotel

A few changes here since the last reviews , there are now 9 handpulls on the front bar , making 15 in total allthough the 6 on the backbar are only used during beer festivals . One pull is given over to a Salopian Beer on rotation and one to Bathams Bitter , the other 7 are an ever changing selection of mainly Yorkshire Micros , beers from Lancashire and Derbyshire Micros are also well represented .
In addition to the Real Ale pulls there are now 4 taps serving Belgium Beers on a rotating basis and a large selection of bottled Continental Beers.
The well stocked food chiller on the bar has a good selection of Pies , Cheeses , Eggs and Black Puddings that would make a Porn Stars eyes water all at reasonable prices .
This is easilly the best pub in town for beer choice and quality and rumours are the toilets are getting re-furbed , no more paddling to pee .

On 19th February 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 791 recommendations about 680 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Station Hotel

A very unpretentious Victorian boozer, that looks a little tired from the outside. It is an end-terrace pub in peeling white with some black on the lintels and sills. The interior has been all knocked through into one. The front area is the bar. It is in white, with red ceiling and tiled floor, with a fireplace and some railway memorabila and pictures. There are tqo areas at the back. A diningy area in green with bistro art curiously has a dart board too and is part partitioned off from another area with comfy seats and a TV by a frireplace feature. This area is in coffee, some flowery wallpaper and wood panel, with arty pictures. The service here is great and the clientele more mature and down to earth than other pubs - which it is all the better for in some cases. Beer; usual tap stuff, with Highgate MILD. On handpull there was Brew XI, Salamander Derring Do, Shropshire Gold, Pictish Duchess, Million's Icarus, Osset's Silver Bullet and a fantastic Three Tuns MILD. I could sit here all day (or play darts). I have visted half a dozen times and always look forward to returning.

On 5th May 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3067 recommendations about 3062 pubs]

Page: 1 2