User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Pheasant, Telford

54 Market Street
Wellington
Postal town: Telford
TF1 1DT

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Pheasant

Excellent, traditional boozer with a partly opened-out interior comprising a 'L'-shaped seating area on either side of the main door, the counter a bit further back on the left-hand side and another room beyond to the right. With a great range of real ales and ciders from the trio of three-handpumps banks, I went for the Ironbridge Gold (£2.80, in great form and one of a pair of the owning Rowton Brewery beers of offer), with Everard's Tiger also a notable reminder that this is a Project William result. No pretentions here, but deservedly very busy, and just chatter and no music or other distractions.

On 20th October 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Pheasant

Enjoyed our visit to this pub yesterday where we found a good selection of ales, including 3 from their own Rowton brewery of which we sampled a couple, and very good they were too. Had a wander outside in the snow, and had a look at the garden and you can look into the brewery from there too.

On 21st January 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1308 recommendations about 1197 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Pheasant

A Project William pub since 2014 (see the dire reviews for it prior to PW takeover). This is an opened-out, single room boozer done-up to a good standard with purple carpeted area and a large brick hearth – it rather reminded me of a mini Seven Stars in Rugby, which is another PW pub. To the rear is a basic beer garden. Noted gratis brollies for the punters and that the pub is dog friendly. Nine pumps with seven ales and two non-mainstream ciders available – a good mix of regionals and micros, including three for the local Rowton brewery, who I understand have the lease (previously, it was Ironbridge). I went for Ludlow Black Knight. Ironbridge Gold and Area 51, all of which were in great shape and served up by a friendly barmaid. There are also a selection of craft-style kegs located behind the bar. Felt right at home here and the quality and choice of beer made for a stop I would be more than happy to repeat. Excellent pub I plan to revisit. (visited June)

On 22nd September 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Pheasant

Nicely turned out traditional pub, a bit trendy grey and a posing table but otherwise all very sound. No need for a full description as it's all been done. Popped in early Friday evening to find it pretty full with mainly middle aged mainly middle class punters. They do love to block the bar would be my only minor criticism. I didn't take to the Rowton beers myself although they're definitely well kept. Certainly better than the others tried or looked into in Wellington.

On 15th September 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Pheasant

I liked this pub straight away, as it is a traditional town pub with good atmosphere, pleasant and friendly staff and a host of varoius ales to choose from. Nine handpumps on our visit, seven cask ales and two ciders. I initially went for their own beer Rowton Bitter, which is brewed on a small farm less than ten minutes away. The pub also had a choice of 9 keg beers dispensed from taps along the back of the bar.

On 29th June 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Pheasant

A traditional pub exterior,the interior has been nicely refurbed by Everards under their Project William,which means that Rowton ales will be showcased here among the 9 handpumps.
There is an impressive brick fireplace to the right,pleasing bench seating,and some good wood panelling to the rear ,it's all in keeping with a town centre boozer but smartened up and appealing to women as well as blokes.
The selection,besides two real ciders,was Black Knight Stout,Rowton IPA,Bitter and Ironbridge Gold (good nick),Titanic White Star ,Wye Valley HPA and of course Everards Tiger.I would happily base myself here for a serious session,it's friendly and really must not be missed when in town.

On 25th June 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2088 recommendations about 2088 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about The Pheasant

A couple of changes since the last reviews , the Pub has now been taken over by the local Rowton Brewery and they have closed the Brewhouse having their own well established Brewery .
The pub itself remains unchanged in layout and decor and is still Real Ale focused with 9 handpulls on the bar , 8 were on on my Tuesday evening visit with a 9th being pulled through as i was leaving , the 8 on were Rowton Ironbridge Gold , Pure Gold and Area 51 , Holdens Mild , GW Porter , Sadlers Bobs Citron , Abbeydale Absolution and Everards Tiger , my Rowton Pure Gold was spot on , service was quick and friendly and the locals chatty .
This is a very good pub .

On 3rd May 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 781 recommendations about 670 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Hurdle left this review about The Pheasant

Best pub in Wellington so far. Actually it's the first pub off the train but I don't expect it to be bettered. Excellent pint of Wrekin Pale Ale. Tempted to stay but must get closer to the football ground.

On 19th January 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 678 recommendations about 626 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Pheasant

Previously a pub with a reputation for dubious activity, now a very successful brew pub and GBG entry. There were 7 ales and 2 ciders on draft and dog biscuits for the canine customers. I had pints of Ironbridge Gold served by a charming Polish barmaid, while we were entertained by friendly locals. This has been a complete revamp from earlier days, a brilliant example of how a failing pub premises can be turned into a success without having to change the name. Definitely on my ever-growing list of pubs to include in a Wellington crawl.

On 15th February 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2600 recommendations about 2573 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Pheasant

This is the new home of the Wrekin (formerly Ironbridge) brewery and their second outlet under the Project William umbrella. It's a nicely renovated single room with a mix of wooden flooring along the bar, tiles by the entrance and a carpeted area further back.
There is a garden alongside the brewery at the back neither of which I investigated as it was raining.
It's refreshing to see a bar free from any keg fonts as there are about half a dozen plain taps at the back of the bar.
The three groups of three hand pumps on the bar had two none mainstream ciders, Wrekin Gold & Pale, Everard's Tiger, Hop Back Citra, Mallinson's Mild Thing, Grey Friars Auld Jock and Seven Brothers Stout. I went for the Wrekin Gold (£2.70) and the Seven Brothers Stout (£3.00) both of which were superb.
I have to say I preferred this to the better known Cock Hotel down on the Holyhead Road and it's certainly the best pub that I've been to in Wellington.

On 9th February 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]

Page: 1 2