User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Coachmakers Arms, Stoke-On-Trent

65 Lichfield Street
Hanley
Postal town: Stoke-On-Trent
ST1 3EA
Phone: 01782860438

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Coachmakers Arms

To start with some good news, the developers who originally planned to demolish this pub to make way for some horrendous bit of modern urban planning, announced in July 2016 that they have scaled back their plans and that their development will no longer extend as far as Lichfield Street, thereby putting to an end years of speculation and fear for the pub’s future. This all seems rather fitting for a pub that is a genuine survivor, retaining a rare Victorian corridor pub layout, with four small rooms accessed from a central drinking corridor. The corridor is pretty narrow and has some lovely Minton tiling with old pictures of trains and trams hung above. There is a high ledge running down one side, legitimising the practise of drinking in the corridor, which a fair few were doing on a late Saturday evening visit. To the front of the corridor there is a serving hatch, which saves customers from having to enter the compact front bar in the front left room, where some fixed seating runs under the front windows and a nice fireplace stands on the end wall. The room is carpeted and has a few bland art prints on show as well as an unusual partly padded bar counter front. Unfortunately, two of the other rooms, to the front right and rear left, were not open on this visit, but from what I could gather, they are both fairly small and have bench and low stool seating and their own fireplace, with various old paintings and photos on the walls. The final room, to the rear right, was open to explore and seemed to act as something of a games room with a dartboard at one end and some folk playing board games in another corner. There is another fireplace in here, acting as an impressive focal point, and I also spotted an upright piano and some shelves stacked with books. The corridor leads out to a fairly uninspiring rear courtyard and the gents toilets which are in an outdoor block.
The pub usually serves four ales, but three of these had gone by the time I arrived, so I had a choice of Draught Bass or Weston’s Old Rosie cider. I ordered a pint of Bass, popped it on the shelf in the corridor and made the long walk to the gents, but when I returned I found my pint had gone. To my surprise, it turned out that another chap had ordered a pint of Bass just before me and had taken it back whilst I was in the gents, so the barman took it upon himself to track down my pint and then provide me with a replacement which he poured straight from the barrel in the cellar. I was a bit stunned by all this, but thought it was very good customer service and the new pint was fine by me.
I really enjoyed this fairly unique pub experience and thought the drinking corridor was a great place to prop yourself up and chat to the friendly locals. The staff were great and their commitment to ensuring I got a good quality pint has to be applauded. With a few more ales to choose from, I suspect this becomes a difficult pub to leave and I think we can all be grateful that its future now looks a lot more assured.

On 29th December 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2545 recommendations about 2545 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Coachmakers Arms

A very brief stop here as we had to hot-foot it over to Burslem. Saved from closure and demolition a few years back, this is a traditional old town centre pub. Enter to a teeny-tiny front bar, around 4ft by 10ft, with just enough room for two sets of padded settles. There are further rooms (unexplored by me) off a drinking corridor (check out the Minton tiling here) which also has a service hatch. Sadly, there was only one ale on, a disappointing drop of Thwaites Wainwrights. Sadly, this one didn’t live up to the hype – maybe I was unlucky?

On 15th November 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Coachmakers Arms

Only 3 real ales were on on this visit but it is by far one of the better pubs in Hanley. Descriptions in other reviews.

On 29th June 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3302 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Coachmakers Arms

There's not much I can add about this place that hasn't already been said. It's still open despite being under threat. I used the new bus station opposite and it seems to be working perfectly well so can see no reason why any changes may be needed there that threaten this place.
I went in the front room which was empty. The five hand pumps had Bass, Greene King Old Golden Hen, Castle Rock Harvest Pale and Lymestone Foundation Stone & Stone The Crows. I went for the Stone The Crows (£3.20) which was in excellent nick and went down a treat.

On 2nd June 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Coachmakers Arms

A very good example of a classic and relatively untouched Victorian corridor pub which is not to be missed.
There are many accurate descriptions below which I won't repeat but it is worth noting that each of the characterful rooms are small and on the evening we visited it was impossible not to become engaged in friendly and good natured conversation with fellow drinkers. The people who drink here are a friendly and welcoming bunch and their company and conversation made for a very enjoyable evening. A plus point for me but if you're after an uninterrupted beer take a large newspaper.
Beers on were Bass, a trusty regular drunk by many here, Titanic Plum Porter, Sadlers Kimber Drop, Brakespears Oxford Gold and Box Clever Temple Mead. A decent selection and the Bass lived up to it's reputation. The Plum Porter was as sublime as ever.
It would be criminal if this fine and much used community pub were to make way for yet another soulless shopping centre so have a beer or two there while you can.

On 27th May 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Coachmakers Arms

One not to be missed if out and about in Hanley. We sat outside on this visit as the weather was so good. The manageress and son were also sitting out front, so we stayed for a while as they were friendly and chatty. The pub is still under threat from the town planners, to build a shopping centre. The pub is steeped in history and we found the Minton wall tiles in the corridor most striking. The small bar and snug was another characteristic feature here.
There were five handpumps in use, we went for the St Austell Spring Brew and the Box Steam Temple Mead. Defo a must do pub.

On 22nd May 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Coachmakers Arms

A very fine example of a corridor pub with many original features,it's a must visit for pub lovers.From the outside the two etched windows are marked Snug to the left and Lounge to the right.The snug is tiny and has a serving counter with the handpumps but a spare pumpclip on each pull is angled towards the corridor hatch,so you can see what's on.Most customers buy from the hatch and then move to the three remaining rooms.The lounge is larger than the snug and square with an original fireplace,the two back rooms are both quarry tiled and glazed tiling lines the lower part of the corridor.The right hand rear room has a small upright piano which would have to be moved if you wanted to play darts.There is no muzak or flatscreens just the hubub of conversation .This is a local institution with a genuine friendly atmosphere and the regular punters are justifiably proud of their pub.
On my trip the blackboards dotted about noted the real ale selection as Bass (a regular),Moles St Elmo Fire (£3.10,well kept),Thwaites Wainwright and Titanic Plumb Porter with a fifth handpump dedicated to Weston's Old Rosie cider .A very decent selection from this GBG regular.
The pub has lived under threat of redevelopment for years,but nothing seems imminent.It is such a classic ,you do wonder if the local planning officers have much sence.I would always pay a visit whenever in Hanley,there are few better examples of it's kind left these days.

On 10th August 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2088 recommendations about 2088 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Coachmakers Arms

The Coachmakers Arms is a proper pub that is opposite Hanleys brand new bus station.
Once inside the pub had four small rooms and a tiled drinking corridor,i had a drink in the room to the front left which had all of the pumps on,this is a very small square shaped room with narrow bench seats on two sides.
There were 6 real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Hop Back Crop Circle which was a very nice well kept beer,the other beers were Woodlands Midnight Stout,Bass,Youngs Special,Banks's Sunbeam and London Pride.
This is a proper old school pub that is very handy if you are waiting for a bus.
It was nice to see the pub still up and running and long may it continue to do so.

Pub visited 1/6/2013

On 1st June 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Coachmakers Arms

A great traditional pub with 4 separate drinking rooms that are free of Sky sports and fruit machines and where the dying art of conversation rules.On my visit there were 4 real ales on with more about to come on.Very friendly locals who are very sad that this pub is going to be demolished to make way for a (yet another)shopping centre.That's the bad news.The good news is that the developers have run out of money so it has another 3 years of life.If you like a truly traditional pub then do not miss this one.

On 4th April 2011 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Coachmakers Arms

A small cottage style terrace pub in creamy render and black paintwork. I had visited this place before, some several years back after giving a talk to the Friends of the Potteries Museum and found i recognised it at once - it hadn't changed.

The interior is a nesting of four little rooms, with the front room, where we managed to get a seat, being in white, with wood seating. Decoration was supplied by the beermats all over the ceiling and walls, with some photos and prints distracting from them! There was a nice iron fireplace and some great tiling in the corridor, where there was a serving hatch. A petition was floating to help save it from demolition, as the Council want to build a wall - insane, or what? this is a class little traditional boozer. The service was friendly, considering a coach party swelled the ranks and the locals were friendly, chatting about the pub and its fate.

Beer; some tap stuff, with around 8 real ales on handpull. I couldn't get closed enough to list them - a too be honest, i didn't care about you lot reading this when i saw Hobson's MILD was on - it was great, as was the O'Hanlons Stout.

A gem - heed me and use it, oh! people of Hanley. I will be back.

On 27th February 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]

Page: 1 2