User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Old & New with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Bulls Head, Stoke-On-Trent

14 St Johns Square
Burslem
Postal town: Stoke-On-Trent
ST6 3AJ
Phone: 01782834153

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 9 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Bulls Head

An excellent pub and well worth a visit. The staff were very professional and there was a decent beer choice across 11 handpumps. I went for the Potbelly Brewery Luke Styporker, great name and a good beer. There was an interesting black and white photo of the ship builders at Harland and Wolff fitting the propellers onto the Titanic, picture found in the right hand side lounge.

On 4th August 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Bulls Head

This place has been more than well described below. It's a typical Project William Titanic house with two completely separate bars.
There were six Titanic ales on offer plus Everard's Tiger, Dancing Duck Rosette & Indian Porter, Goff's Jouster and Ossett Silver Link.
I went for the Stout (£3.55) which turned out to be keg but a vast improvement on Guinness and the Rosetta (£3.35) which was excellent.
This is another excellent Titanic pub. The Duke William, here and Johny's across the road form a Burslem Golden Triangle.

On 27th March 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Bulls Head

Burslem has certainly exported some fairly big names over the years, from Lemmy to Phil “The Power” Taylor and Robbie Williams, but I think it’s fair to say that their most notable export in recent years has been the Titanic Brewery, whose award-winning beers increasingly pop up in pubs the length and breadth of the country. This makes the Bull’s Head, Titanic’s brewery tap, a must-visit for even the most casual tourist passing through Burslem. The pub has a traditional two bar layout with a lounge to the left and public bar to the right, split by a centrally positioned servery. The lounge is carpeted throughout, with a drinking ledge down the left hand wall under a large blackboard listing the full ale range, which is extremely helpful given that the handpulls are split between the two bars. Further into the room there is a smart seating area with nice banquette seating to the left and rear supplemented by lots of low stools. A nice large stone fireplace stands to the right underneath a large Titanic Brewery mirror and there are some interesting pages from old newspapers reporting on the Titanic’s sinking framed around the room. Beyond is a corridor leading to the toilets and a rear patio garden and from here you can also pass through to the Public Bar on the right hand side of the pub. The room is bare boarded and therefore a little noisier as a result, but there are still some nice banquettes around the front and rear corners in which to settle down in comfort. Some superb Titanic memorabilia is on show here and it is well worth taking some time to nose through it all. The room boasts a juke box, bar billiards table and the far rarer sight of a full-sized game of table skittles.
As you would expect, Titanic beers take pride of place at the bar, with Steerage, White Star, Iceberg, Sea and Plum Porter available on this visit. However, whilst most one-off visitors will no doubt be looking to try the Titanic brews, a decent selection of guest ales are available for those wanting to try something different, so we also found Everards Tiger, Lytham Twit Twoo, Ashover Littlemoor Citrae, Ossett Gold and Bank Top Pavilion available. My pint of Iceberg was as fresh as you would expect from a brewery tap.
This is a nice comfortable pub with two well defined different bars which complement each other nicely. The beer is quite rightly the star of the show, but the Titanic memorabilia and unusual pub games make for an interesting diversion. My one concern was the relative lack of customers on a Saturday night, which resulted in a rather flat atmosphere, but putting this aside, it’s a fine pub and a worthy pilgrimage site for any beer tourist.

On 29th December 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2449 recommendations about 2449 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Bulls Head

A long overdue revisit found the place similar to my last sojourn in 2009, though I noticed that a lot of subtle work had been done to spruce up the interior without it losing any intrinsic charm – to be applauded, I think. The inside is now a cosy place with plenty of places to settle either in groups or on your own with a newspaper. There also seems to be a lot more Titanic (the boat not just the brewery!) memorabilia. The bar billiards table remains and there is also full-sized table skittles! Sank two Titanic beers - Iceberg and White Star – both in excellent condition. A friendly pub with a nice relaxed atmosphere and a real must-visit if you’re in the Potteries. 9.5

July 2009
Situated in an unassuming area of Burslem, close to Port Vale FC. This is the brewery tap for Titanic and usually at least four of their ales are available along with their full bottled selection; there are also apparently local guest ales but only Titanic brews were on during my brief stop - all in good condition though sadly the stout was only available on keg. There are two relatively narrow carpeted rooms, bifurcated by the central bar, stuck in a mid 70’s retro brown time warp. Service is efficient and courteous. Features include a bar billiards table and plenty of books on beer, pubs and brewing. One for the traditionalists. Rated 8

On 15th November 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about The Bulls Head

Superb friendly pub well described in the previous reviews , visited as an away supporter to the nearby Port Vale FC as its the only local pub to welcome away fans , and made welcome they are , there was a barbecue in the outside drinking area and the beers were in superb condition , i had three from Titanic , Steerage , White Star and Iceberg , the pub was packed with fans from both teams mixing well , service was quick and friendly , will definatly call here again .

On 31st October 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 775 recommendations about 664 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Bulls Head

A good real ale pub with a good selection of real ales. A Titanic outlet so a decent pint is assured. Other guest beers available too. Had 3 strokey beard Camra bores arguing over which hops go where, why and wherefore on my visit.

On 18th June 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3381 recommendations about 3299 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Bulls Head

A handsome building in the slightly drab Burslem.
The interior has been well described below so I'll limit my own take to: it's traditional and with a warm welcome from knowledgable staff and the outside area is covered and has a big screen which was showing the footy on our visit.
To cut to the chase, this is the Titanic de-facto brewery tap so you'd expect a decent range of beer in good condition and that is exactly what we found. Beers on when we visited were: Titanic Plum Porter, White Star, Steerage, Iceberg and Stout on keg alongside Oakham Perun, Batemans Golden Swallow, Rebel Bal Maiden, Kinver Crystal and Deeply Vale Porter. An exceptional range in anyone's book and Titanic clearly aren't averse to bringing in other top quality ales safe in the knowledge that their own offerings won't be overlooked.
Everything that we tried was in good condition and the Plum Porter and Iceberg both whistled down. I did think though that the White Star I've had in other Titanic pubs was marginally better than here but that may just have been down to taste bud overload.
An ale mecca and one I'd happily revisit.

On 17th September 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Bulls Head

Featuring the wonderful ales from Titanic,this is a proper traditional town centre pub.The island bar serves two rooms,to the left a wood paneled lounge with a large firplace and a carved lintle above with the date 1696.There is a large banquette with traditional seating and a useful board listing the ale range.To the otherside of the island is a public bar with a juke box .Outside there is a decent beer garden with an awning.We were in on a Friday evening,quiet at first but there was a steady build up of locals with virtually everyone focussed on the ale.Besides a wide range of Titanic ales,Everards Tiger and a guest are generally available ,with Titanic Stout on keg. Local pork pies are available for £1.
I liked the retro interior,the atmosphere and of course the beers.Burslem seems a little down at heel,but this is a shining beacon and would always be my first,and probably only,choice when in town.

On 15th September 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Bulls Head

The Bulls Head is a three storey town pub that is set in the run down st johns square.
Once inside the lounge is straight on,this is a strange room with no seating or tables in the front half,the rear is a lot better with comfortable bench seating and small stools with a real fire on the go on my visit.
There is a seperate bar on the right this also had a real fire on the go and there was a bar billiards table and a table skittles table in this room.
This pub is a Titanic tied house and there was a very good choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Titanic Steerage which went down very well,the other beers i noted were Titanic Anchor,Iceburg,Plum Porter,White Star and guest beers Everards Tiger bitter,and one from Mordue and Moorhouses.
I really liked this pub and could have settled in here for a good few pints if not on a pub crawl.

Pub visied 10/11/2012

On 17th November 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]