User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How was it for you? with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Woodman, Shrewsbury

32 Coton Hill
Coton Hill
Postal town: Shrewsbury
SY1 2DZ

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Woodman

Two bar pub, the lounge has an historically important interior while the bar is rather more plain but comfortable and is equipped with dart board and jukebox, with loads of trophies above the door. Plenty of friendly local trade. Not a lot to add to Aqualung’s description and I didn’t see the entrance to the lounge either. Friday night looks like ladies darts night. Six pulls offering a couple from Salopian, plus Wye Valley, Fixed Wheel and two Yorkshire beers from Kelham Island and Goose Eye.

On 7th November 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Woodman

This is one of three neighbouring pubs in what is a suburb of Shrewsbury. Although it is suburban it isn't that far from the Rail & Bus Stations.
It has two completely separate bars as noted below and I found myself in the back Public Bar. To be honest I didn't even see the entrance to the larger bar!
This is a small room with a red tiled floor and limited furnishings. The bar counter is to the left at the end. There is a usable and prominent dart board and an old fashioned CD juke box. There was a TV above the bar showing Tipping Point followed by the Chase, a welcome change from the Sky Sports "News".
The bar had six hand pumps all clipped. They had Salopian Oracle & Shropshire Gold, Wye Valley HPA & Butty Bach, Ossett Evolution and Abbeydale Doctor Morton's Duck Baffler. I went for the Oracle (£3.30) which was in good nick.
I thought this was a decent enough place but let down by a beer choice consisting of just 4.0-4.5% bitters. Maybe that's all that the locals like. It's GBG 2018 listed.

On 24th January 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about The Woodman

No changes here , still a very good pub , friendly staff , chatty regulars and good beer , with the virtually next door Royal Oak now being vastly improved it makes a good double header .

On 25th June 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 780 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Woodman

Just under ten minutes uphill from the station junction and worth the walk. Clad in brewers tudor, much like its two near neighbours which makes for a slightly odd sight. Two areas (would have been entirely separate rooms back in the day I suspect) with a traditional 1950’s style interior, ageing fairly well including some light wood three quarter length panelling. Perimeter banquette seating and carpeted throughout. Selection of papers available, dart board and an inlaid chess table spotted. Six pumps, five ales (Wye Valley Butty Bach (good nick), Salopian x 2, Abbeydale and Pictish. Scratchings available which always gets a vote from me. In a town with a good little stock of pubs, this one is worth the effort to walk out to from the centre.

On 26th April 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Woodman Inn

Our last pub in Shrewsbury after a great weekend of beer. The Woodman Inn is a little way from the station but easy enough to find. We headed straight for the back bar where a couple of locals were playing darts. 6 pints were ordered, all of which were in great shape. The bar had cheese and onion cobs which were much appreciated before our train trip home. An excellent pub, a bit off the beaten track with a good selection of mostly golden beers, well worth a visit.

On 25th June 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Woodman Inn

Situated to the north of the town centre, about five or so minutes walk from the train station, The Woodman Inn is a well kept, two bar pub. The lounge is a large room with a suggestion of previous partitioning into two separate areas. It is carpeted throughout with some very comfortable banquettes around the perimeter, supplemented by lows stools. There is plenty of nice wood panelling around the room, including at the servery, which is in the front corner. Fireplaces stand on walls at opposite ends of the room and both have large, plain mirrors above them. I found this a very cosy and comfortable room to settle down in, so much so that I never made it into the public bar, which can be accessed from a separate door at the entrance. The pub dates back to 1925, according to the sign outside, and although many of the fixtures inside have been replaced over the years, the gents’ toilets reassuringly remain in an outside block.
Plenty of hand pumps line the bar counter, although two were unused on my Saturday evening visit. This was no great hardship, as a fine selection remained – Wye Valley Butty Bach, Kelham Island 20th Century Boy, Abbeydale Faith Book, Salopian Shropshire Gold and Two Roses Cascade. I had the Butty Bach, which tasted great, even to my jaded end-of-session palate.
I visited this place late in the day and was kicking myself as I’d no sooner settled down with the hope of enjoying a few beers, than time was called at the bar. I’d certainly recommend making the fairly short walk out of town to this friendly, welcoming pub and will doubtless visit again the next time I’m in town.

On 14th May 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2541 recommendations about 2541 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about The Woodman Inn

Shrewsbury has many good pubs but this one is rarely mentioned , it should be its a cracking pub as good as anything in the town centre (about a 10 minute walk away , the station is nearer). Situated at the top of Coton Hill its a nice looking , well maintained pub , the lounge has two real fires , one in the bar which was welcome on the chilly night of my visit . The fires were not the only thing that was warm , the welcome from the Landlord and the regulars was fantastic , after five minutes i felt like i was one of the locals . Normal tap stuff plus Theakstons Mild , six handpulls with , Wye Valley Butty Bach , Salopian Shropshire Gold , Hopback Autumn Gold ,Oakham White Dwarf , Kelham Pale Rider and Millstone Tiger Rut , i had a couple of pints of Butty Bach and a Hopback Autumn Gold both exellent and at £2.75 reasonable for Shrewsbury . This is an exellent traditional pub well worth the walk from the Town Centre

On 26th September 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 780 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Woodman Inn

Pleasant pub at the top of Coton Hill. Two decent sized rooms with real fires in winter. Darts is a a major activity in the tap room. Good range of real ales. Had a couple of pints of Wye Valley, very good. The clientele in the tap room are a real bunch of characters. Well worth a visit.

On 26th March 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2866 recommendations about 2786 pubs]