User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
In the Hop Garden with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Dolphin, Castlefields, Shrewsbury

48 St Michaels Street
Shrewsbury
SY1 2EZ
Phone: 01743247005

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Dolphin

Excellent, traditional Joule's pub with a compact bar supplemented by another small room at the back and a slightly larger one on the other side where the dartboard can also be found. With six handpumps on the counter, the brewery's Pale Ale, Pure Blonde, Shropshire Hop (£3.70) and That Choc Orange One were available plus Milestone Azacca as a guest and Old Rosie cider.

On 15th March 2020 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Old Boots left this review about The Dolphin

Double fronted Joules pub, two rooms as expected, right is L shaped, a bit larger and has the counter, left is cosy with bench seating, cast iron based tables and wooden stools - they do reserve tables as it’s more than a bit foody. In another pet hate the tables are candle powered. Part of the Joules range is complemented by other brewers wares, the beer was ok not outstanding and I’m a fan of Joules. The pub was full of extravagant thirty somethings so not to my taste on a Friday night, especially when one of them is celebrating a thirtieth birthday - big deal I’ve done that twice, hence miserable old git tag applies. Unusable dart board in the smaller room, the former smoke room according to the etched window. Probably OK in quieter periods.

On 2nd September 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2258 recommendations about 2098 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Dolphin

A nice pub. Under the bridge from the station and up the road, this is a Joules pub and a pretty good one. 6 handpumps on the bar with one cider, and 5 for real ale. There were 3 Joules beers on but 2 weren't your usual fare - Moon Madness and Pure Blonde being the ones I don't usually see. The pub is basically J-shaped inside and split into 2 areas. I liked it.

On 28th October 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3381 recommendations about 3299 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Dolphin

Another winning pub from Joules, this one has been opened up into a single room although the original bar areas can still be picked out with the wooden floored public on the left and tiled saloon on the right. One major plus point for me was that I couldn't see or hear a TV screen. There were a few in having a beer on the way home from work on my late afternoon visit.
There was a cider on offer and an Arbor keg. Casks were Joule's Pale, Blonde & Shropshire Hop, Bewdley Sir Keith Park and a Purple Moose offering with a New Zealand sounding name. I went for the Bewdley and Purple Moose beers (£3.00) both of which were excellent.
This is one I would definitely come back to.

On 31st July 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Dolphin Inn

As mentioned below, the pub was close to being permanently lost until Joules brewery got involved and gave the place a big makeover, reopening last year. A nice job they have done of it too. Tidily done-up from the outside with fresh livery advertising Joules Salop ales. Horseshoe shaped within, bare boards to the left, quarry tiling to the right. Tasteful décor, some nice large brewery mirrors and restrained framed prints of old Shrewsbury. The inlaid chess table I spotted was a nice touch also. The well-done decked rear overlooking the railway looks like a good bet on a sunny day (sadly not so on my visit!). Proper fires inside for the winter months. A selection of papers and a dart board spotted. Six pumps with five ales; three from Joules (I tried a Screaming Monk which was in decent nick - not to my taste but only £1.35 a half), one each from Titanic and Holdens. Old Rosie's was the proper cider option - a bit more imagination needed there, after all the cider hotspot of Herefordshire isn’t a million miles away. I quite liked this one and it deserves your support, it’s only 5 minutes or so trot up the hill from the station so makes for an ideal start or end point to a crawl.

On 25th April 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about The Dolphin Inn

Victorian pub in what was once an heavily industrialized area of town , the Dolphin was built between the Shropshire Canal(hence the nautical name) and the old Whitchurch Turnpike and near the historic Ditherington Flax Mill , the worlds first steel framed building and grandfather of the modern skyscrapper .
The pub was a Brewpub for a few years in the early 2000s before closing down and very nearly turned into flats untill a campaign by a few locals and a lot of help from Joules Brewery the Dolphin was saved and has had a complete makeover .
The pubs exterior is in white with some traditional sign-writing , the pub sign is a recreation of the old Victorian sign , the entrance is central and has etched windows either side declaring Bar and Smoke room , it is two storeys at the front and three at the back .
The small bar is slightly to the right of the entrance , there is a red brick flooring with bench seating around the sides , an old fireplace and a few tables dotted around , there are a few large Joules mirrors around and some pictures of the Flax mill , of interest are the still working Gas Lights , believed to be the last ones in a Shropshire pub , this room leads into the games area with darts and dominos available , this then leads out to the outside decked area built out over the lower storey giving great views over the Railway , Crewe Bank Signal Box , a carpark and the fire station .
To the left of the entrance is the smoke room this has ancient wooden flooring , you can see into the room below through the cracks between the planks , decor is similar to the rest of the pub with Mirrors and pictures of old Shrewsbury .
Usual keg taps on a couple of low T Bars and Six Handpulls , three with Joules beers , Blonde , Stumbling Monk and Pale plus two guests , Blue Monkey BG Sips and Howard Town Wrens Nest , i had the Wrens Nest and the Blonde both in good nick and very good value for Shrewsbury. A selection of reasonably priced bar snacks were available.
The customers were a mixed bunch ranging from Students up to a few older couples , staff were young and friendly .
This place is a very good pub and a worthy addition to the Local pub scene , well worth the short walk out of town to visit .

On 29th September 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 775 recommendations about 664 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about The Dolphin Inn

Now owned by Joules Brewery , should reopen soon after a full refurb in Joules usual traditional style , should be good

On 25th May 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 775 recommendations about 664 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Dolphin Inn

Proper locals pub with no real distinguishing features, but it does have several handpumps. 4 were in action when I visited, sadly none of them from the onsite brewery. Had a pint of Wye Valley Brew 69, this was well kept but on reflection was a little strong for a first pint. Pub also has a quiz machine.

On 26th March 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2847 recommendations about 2768 pubs]