User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Autumn 2019 Shrewsbury Crawl Dates and Venues with Pangolin on the Pub Forum

The Armoury, Shrewsbury Central, Shrewsbury

Victoria Quay, Victoria Avenue
Welsh Bridge
Shrewsbury
SY3 8LH

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Armoury

Update – September 2015

Still very much as described below following my previous visit in September 2009, a recent visit again found a good range of real ales from local breweries being offered – amongst them being Salopian, Woods, Ludlow, Longden Shropshire Brewery. Also on was Boggart Mud Brawler, a fine tasting porter. Beers sampled were in good form, prices ranging from £ 3.40p to £ 3.60p. There’s a few seats over the road by the river on the pavement, but nobody appeared to be servicing these tables, with some tables remaining uncleared of dirty glasses and plates throughout the duration of my visit

This is a Brunning and Price food led establishment with, on my early Saturday evening visit, a diverse customer mix including several hen and stag parties and groups of diners all seemingly getting on well together despite their differing reasons for visiting.

Worth a look in when in Shrewsbury.

ORIGINAL REVIEW – SEPTEMBER 2009

Spacious gastro pub / restaurant situated by Victoria Quay on the riverside.

The building is a former bakery and, at the entrance, we are told that the original building was built in 1807, relocated in 1920 and restored in 1995.

Externally, it's a bit understated - there's only a small green sign which doesn't tell you what the premises now houses - and you could easily walk past without noticing there was a bar / restaurant inside.

It's a large spacious room with a distinct drawing room feel to it, created by the high ceilings, period posters and pictures and some large bookshelves. It's bare boarded, but the exposed brickwork, period furniture and rugs help create what I thought was a rather stylish up market ambience.

Food is clearly the dominant factor here, being quite a wide range of gastro pub food with a daily changing menu. In fact, it's basically a restaurant, but one where you order food at the bar.

Perhaps surprisingly, a good range of real ales from local microbreweries is offered, approx 8-9 in total. Tasting notes are provided for the ales on offer. For example Wye Valley HPA was described as "a bit like brown sauce". My pint of Weetwood Cheshire Cat - at £ 2.40p, benefitting from a 50p happy hour discount - was an enjoyable tasty pint in fine condition.

I don't normally like gastro pubs, nor pubs that are housed in buildings previously used for different purposes, but I have to say that I quite liked this one. Given that the range of beers seem wider than most, you might want to call in, but don't expect a normal pub experience.

On 4th November 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Armoury

A very big place. Descriptions elsewhere but there is now seating available over the roadway outside now. A decent selection on real ales.

On 15th September 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3357 recommendations about 3273 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Armoury

More expensive than the normal but you do get decent decor, nice looking food and in a rare twist - table service if you are sitting outside in the sunshine.

Nice touch.

I enjoyed my Shropshire Lad.

Some photos at my blog - http://mappiman.blogspot.co.uk/2015/06/270615-shrewsbury-pub-crawl.html

On 29th June 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 581 recommendations about 576 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Armoury

Walloping great riverside building that’s as big inside as the outside suggests. As the name implies, it is a former armoury (and also bakery!) and opened as a pub/restaurant ten years ago by Brunning and Price. A barn of a place, décor is obviously quite ‘contrived’ but well-done nonetheless - traditional-style library sections at either end, bare board flooring with rugs and exposed brick walls. As mentioned elsewhere, the large arched windows running across the length of the pubs frontage are attractive and allow for plenty of natural light. A selection of paintings and old photos are to be found as well as a collection of fuses(!). Outside (though not quayside) seating with views of the line of Weeping Willows looks like a good bet for the summer months. The set-up is mainly for dining though it isn’t an issue just drinking. Perhaps unusually given the food and family ethos, the pub appeared to be dog friendly. Blackboards located above bar listing the ales beer including beer miles. Eight pumps, seven ales (mainly local) plus Westons (that all?) cider. My Longdon Golden Arrow was zombie-like and I suspect the dead hand of an over-used cask breather. My companions Woods Saturnalia was warm which overemphasised the sweetness (it being a honey beer). There’s also an impressive whisky collection. I wanted to like the place but the quality of both ales gives an indicator to me that there’s not enough care going on. I can see why it doesn’t make the GBG cut.

On 26th April 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3912 recommendations about 3900 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Armoury

A tractor shed sized place that seemed to cater mainly for families with pushchairs who were all eating. We however persevered, headed to the bar and bought 6 pints, all of which were in tip top condition. The screaming infants and smell of fried food did however drive us outside to drink, despite the wind and the rain. This place is OK, but there are better places in town with just as good a beer selection and less vocal children. Of the 10 or so places we drank in Shrewsbury, this was by far the most expensive, with a round coming in at over £20.

On 25th June 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Armoury

This rather remarkable riverside building was originally built back in 1807 in an area to the South East of the town as a storage facility for the arms of the volunteer corps of Shropshire. The building quickly fell into disuse and remained empty up until the First World War, when it was put to use housing displaced Belgian families. Then in 1919, a local company purchased the building, dismantled it, and rebuilt it at its current location, where it operated as a bakery for many years. In 1995 the building was restored with the upper floor let as office space whilst the Brunning and Price pub company decided to open the ground floor as the riverside pub we find today.
The layout is fairly simple, with the front doors taking you into a small lobby from which you then access the huge, single room interior. Bare floorboards are covered in part with large rugs and there is plenty of exposed brickwork on show as well. The servery is roughly opposite the front door, in the middle of the back wall. There is standard seating throughout and the emphasis seemed to be quite firmly on food, which made finding somewhere to sit for just a drink a little awkward. There is a little bit of partitioning on the right hand side of the room, which looks quite nice in passing and the walls are covered with all sorts of interesting items including various photos, paintings, documents and maps. There are also some imposing, large bookcases dotted around as well. The weather had taken a turn for the worse by the time I arrived, so I didn’t get the chance to drink outside on one of the tables with views out over the river. For some time, I was convinced that there was a bird flying around the pub, as I occasionally glimpsed something darting past out of the corner of my eye, but after a while I realised that it was actually the bar staff sending their takings up a transparent vacuum tube.
There was plenty of good beer on the bar, which may explain my confused state, with a choice of Brunning and Price Original, Salopian Shropshire Gold, Ironbridge Gold, Slater’s Premium, Hobson’s Mild, Three Tuns XXX (£3.50), Shire’s Ginger Bob and Brough’s Blonde. I gave the XXX a try and thought it was in pretty good shape and served up by a very friendly and eager barman.
I really liked this interesting building which has a distinctly different history and feel to it than the traditional ale houses in the town centre. I think this place is probably best experienced with some food, but having said that, I enjoyed my visit and would certainly pop back for another look.

On 18th May 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2323 recommendations about 2323 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Armoury

Nothing has changed in here since my last visit, it's still a bit of a barn and the ale is still good. We called in twice over two days in Shrewsbury. The first time was for a mid afternoon drink when it was very quiet with no atmosphere. The second time we called in to eat and it was very busy and buzzy at about 8 on a Wednesday. I had venison, which was excellent and the other half had a mixed meat charcuterie board which she loved. I don't mind calling in for a beer, but it's better for food.

12/12/2009
Large, high ceilinged barn of a pub with books bought by the yard around the walls. Not much atmoshere even with a couple of small Xmas do's on. However the beer range is excellent with 7 handpumps in use when I visited. I had a pint of Worfields Dabley bitter which was well kept. Well worth a visit for the beer.

On 1st May 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2732 recommendations about 2660 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Anonymous User left this review about The Armoury

I had a bad feeling about the place when I was walking in and my intuition proved to be correct. Had a half of OBJ by Shires and it was horrid. I walked out without finishing it.

I just thought the place was more of a restaurant rather than a pub. It seemed a little pretentious and aimed for the more up market clientele.

I would not recommend for the drink aspect however, I can't comment on the food side.

On 8th October 2012 - rating: 4
[User has posted 0 recommendations about 0 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about The Armoury

A vast shed of a pub on the attractive Victoria Quay, this is a very popular destination despite the fact that it is located somewhat out of the town centre. It is I suppose in the noisier end of town, with a Lloyds being located just behind it and a Vodka bar also nearby. Despite a decent array of beers on tap, the emphasis here seems to be mainly on food and it was full to capacity on a recent Saturday evening visit with all tables in use by diners except for a couple just inside the door, although there were also a few more along the quay outside which looks as if it would be a pleasant spot in the warmer weather.

It’s all one big, open-plan room with the entire left hand wail being taken up with a floor to ceiling bookcase as well as a second extensive bookcase in the opposite corner. The long front wall of the pub is all exposed brickwork with a row of large arched windows. Elsewhere is cream plasterwork and a burgundy ceiling, and wood flooring. Various old pictures and photos were dotted around, there was a pile of board games on a shelf and a glass display case housed a collection of explosives and fuses which makes a change from the usual rope knots, and is, I suppose, appropriate given the pub’s name. Don’t let any of this infer that it is in some way a cosy pub though – with it’s high ceilings, harsh acoustics and large number of punters it was anything but quiet and relaxed.

The food menu was extensive with around twenty main courses to choose from, most of them priced somewhere in the region of £12.50. The staff all seemed friendly and service was on the whole quick and efficient, but clearly something was amiss somewhere – we were initially brought the wrong starter; no big deal, mistakes happen, but when a second waitress brought us the same wrong starter five minutes later we did start to wonder what was going on in the kitchen. Fortunately a third waitress managed to bring the correct dish after that. Whether it was worth the wait is another matter though. A starter of Goat’s Cheese & Sweet Potato Terrine sounded intriguing, but was nothing more than a slab of goat’s cheese wrapped in thinly sliced layers of sweet potato, and was served far too cold. Similarly a main course of Smoked Haddock & Salmon Fishcakes were predominantly mashed potato, with very little discernable fish. Side courses were extra, and a bottle of Pino Grigio was disappointing, so all in all I really couldn’t recommend the food here, although judging on it’s popularity I’m clearly in a minority.

Beer choice was unusually good for any pub, never mind one that concentrates so much on food and doesn’t obviously seem to encourage drinkers. On this occasion they were Woods Shropshire Lad, Shropshire Gold, Three Tuns XXX, Backyard Bitter, Adnams Southwold, Hobson’s Twisted Spire, Brunning & Pride Original Bitter and Shires Dabley Gold. After such an extensive range of beers, the cider choice was disappointing with just Aspall’s Suffolk.

On 21st September 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1630 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Armoury

A popular pub this one, especially on our lunch time visit, so the food most be good. There where a couple of small tables on the left near the entrance, which was handy and facing the bar. Eight real ales on handpump, their Brunning and Price original bitter was brill. Also went for the Hobsons Twisted Spire and Weetwood Cheshire Cat. The ales were all spot on. Staff were all friendly and you don't wait to be served, as it's well staffed.

On 21st July 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2859 recommendations about 2859 pubs]

Page: 1 2