User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with RealAleRobUK on the Pub Forum

Albion Vaults, Shrewsbury Central, Shrewsbury

12 Castle Foregate
Shrewsbury
SY1 2DJ

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Local Pub (Marstons)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 3 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Aqualung . left this review about Albion Vaults

This place is currently undergoing renovation with scaffolding outside and still pretty run down inside. I was surprised to read the past of this place with ownership by Wrexham Lager Brewery, Ansells, Burtonwood and Banks's (Marston). Burtonwood sold all their pubs to the latter in 2004/2005 so they must take the blame for the run down state of the place. The new owners are St Annes brewery who are carrying out the renovations.
Inside it's a split level room with poor decor but the furnishings seemed reasonable.
There were three hand pumps which had St Annes Lea Cross Dark & Tumbledown Dick and a Woods beer. I went for the Tumbledown Dick which was in good nick but an unexceptional beer.
This may be worth a look when the refurbishment is complete but currently is still a bit of a dive.

On 11th November 2019 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2147 recommendations about 2142 pubs]


Old Boots left this review about Albion Vaults

Undergoing some sort of refurbishment, it appears to serve the care in the community segment of the population. It has five pulls serving beers from the St Anne’s brewery and not as expected as vinegar, should have read Alan's review first. On two floor levels with stairs and ramp between them, lower area is mainly bench seating, the higher level has the counter. Handy for the station and hopefully psychiatric help.

On 2nd September 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2208 recommendations about 2053 pubs]


Alan Hurdle left this review about Albion Vaults

Under the new ownership of St Anne's Brewery this place has had a (slight) upturn in fortunes. On my Saturday evening visit between trains, there were flashing lights and loud music seen and heard from across the road. Once inside, I could see this place was full with the more bargain basement end of the young Saturday evening revelers with plenty shouting across the room at each other. The good points! Three hand pulled St Anne's beers, which mine was excellent in spite of me not seeing them used again in my half hour visit! Also, a portable ramp was produced to help a wheelchair user gain access to the bar area up the two internal steps. My beer, at £2.40 was very cheap for the area, obviously to compete for trade with the now more upmarket Station Hotel two doors away. I may return at a quieter time if only for the St Anne's beer, but not too often!

On 10th March 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 668 recommendations about 618 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Albion Vaults

A bit more character than the Bull with a multi-area interior even if that interior is sat firmly in 1976 bar a recent lick of paint here and there (in a rather nasty colour scheme it must be said). Various takes on the Piltdown Man in situ, one chap at the bar I think took a dislike to me but he was so inebriated all he could do was wag a finger and slur something in a language that pre-dated cave painting. Only one ale, Banks Bitter in fairly grotty form. Skinhead Piltdown Man had a good taste in music, put some decent stuff on the jukey which was the only saving grace. Necked my half and left quicker than the Fake Sheikh. What a dump.

On 26th April 2014 - rating: 2
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


lance presley left this review about The Albion Vaults

visited a few times it a friendly enough pub but sadly needs pulling down and rebuilding in my view, decor leaves a lot to be desired, a stale smell of beer hangs about the place. a visit only if your caught out in the rain for this one.

On 6th September 2012 - rating: 1
[User has posted 11 recommendations about 11 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about The Albion Vaults

Pub first licensed in 1856 when the license was transfered from the Fighting Cocks which was demolished to make way for the railway station , the pub is directly opposite the station , the layout is just one room on two levels , the bar is on the upper level .
It feels a bit run down and in need of a splash of paint .
Usual keg taps plus two handpulls with Marstons Pedigree and a decent Banks Sunbeam , service was OK .
OK for a quick pint while waiting for a train

On 13th May 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 775 recommendations about 664 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Albion Vaults

Has an interesting colour sheme - green and yellow. Never liked that blend of colours, reminds me of my old junior school, Bromford, who used the same on their tie.

The inside seemed clean enough to me, with mock tudor style beams and leather 'chesterfield' styled seating.

No real ale, but we knew that they had a MILD from previous experience. The Burton Bridge MILD had been replaced by a Banks's Dark MILD tap - one of my favourites, however, when the landlady poured the beer, she bizarrely put a little Guiness in each one first and although ok, it didnt taste like Banks's Dark to me - but then with a bit of tar in it, why should it?

Always visit though, and any answers to the above, please drop me an email

On 10th September 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Dale Miles left this review about The Albion Vaults

old fashion pub nice pint I always visit this pub whist waiting for my train, the station is only a minuts walk from this bar.

On 18th June 2008 - rating: 4
[User has posted 184 recommendations about 182 pubs]