User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 26th May 2024) with Spinko on the Pub Forum

The Golden Lion Inn, Bridgnorth

83 High Street
Bridgnorth
WV16 4DS

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Al Bundy left this review about The Golden Lion Inn

A decent Holden's pub. I think there were 6 or 7 handpulls, all dispensing Holden's beers. A small bar and a small lounge to your left. A decent pub.

On 19th August 2023 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3487 recommendations about 3390 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Golden Lion Inn

I am a fan of Holden's beers so it was a safe bet that I'd be happy here. A good range including Bitter, Special, Golden Glow and Dragon's Blood. I went for the latter and it was spot on. Well worth a visit.

On 18th August 2021 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1572 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Golden Lion Inn

This old place is now Holden's latest outlet. I'd not been to it before but I can't imagine that they've changed the layout at all. As mentioned below there is a public bar through a right door as you enter and a lounge bar to the left.
The public bar is a small wooden floored room running along the front of the pub. There's an upholstered bench along the front wall with small tables chairs and stools. The bar has a number of bar stools which were taken up by locals. There is an obtrusive TV screen on the front wall which was showing a cricket match that nobody was watching.
The lounge bar runs perpendicular to the public and is carpeted. There is a small family / dining area at the rear. There is an old alleyway at the back leading to a car park and the Gents making it in my book at least an outside toilet.
The public bar has five hand pumps and the lounge three. There were five Holden's beers and what appeared to be a Holden's cider. The five beers were Mild, Bitter, Golden Glow, Special and Old Ale. I had a Golden Glow (£3.10), Special (£3.20) and the Old which was at the sale price of £3.20 so I had two. All were excellent.
This is a fine addition to Bridgnorth's beer choice and I will return after the Joules Shakespeare opens.

On 16th January 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Golden Lion Inn

Traditional 18th Century coaching house, comprising of a two traditional rooms, one either side of the entrance. Each room was similar in décor and style, with a single bar at the rear serving both rooms. On entering the pub, you walk into a short lobby area with a chalk board displaying their ales. A choice of five ales on our visit so we went for the guest ale, Electric Bear Brewing Live Wire, from Bath.

On 4th May 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3394 recommendations about 3394 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


gee evans left this review about The Golden Lion Inn

Great pub,very frendly,excelent choice of beers,good place to stay.

On 22nd June 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 29 recommendations about 29 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Golden Lion Inn

Lovely, two bar local's pub with a choice of Greene King IPA, Mutts Nuts and Wye Valley HPA on the front three handpumps with the addition of Hobsons in the back lounge. My HPA was super. Nice victorian building with internally red and cream walls complimented by red and black woodwork, the archetypical honest boozer. A good collection of pump clips and beer mats nailed to a beam in the front bar hinting at its guest beer policy and GBG entry as does the quality of the ale of course. Liveried staff (polo shirts) of very pleasant, mature ladies. It is a very long walk to the gents where you will be regaled by a splendid collection of seaside postcards.

On 25th June 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3293 recommendations about 2999 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Golden Lion

Super little place. A nice white rendered front, with window boxes, gives you the feel the place is looked after. Three rooms inside; bar, lounge and dining area, which have wallpaper rather than the plain look that seems to be everywhere these days and a few nice old pictures. Service was really friendly.

The beer gave excellent choice; Hobsons Town Crier, Abbeydale Belfry, HPA, Green King IPA and Tods Blonde. The Crier was nice, the Belfry and Blonde (not the one behind the bar!) were not so nice, thats not to say they were not kept well, just not to my taste.

There is no way you can come to Bridgnorth and not visit here - i can only see my rating for this pub improving

On 7th September 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3067 recommendations about 3062 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Golden Lion Inn

Stayed here last night. Decent ensuite accomodation & breakfast @ £40. Pub has two lounges along with another room simply called the Bar. 4 real ales on tap GK IPA, Hobsons Town Crier, Holdens Special & Salopian Hop Twister. Had a pint of the Special which was OK and a pint of the Hop Twister which was excellent. Came back for last orders and had another pint of the Hop Twister it was so good. It's a really nice pub with some real characters in the bar. I'd happily stay here again. In fact I probably will in a few weeks time.

On 11th July 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3226 recommendations about 3137 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about The Golden Lion

Wonderful old coaching inn with an attractive exterior. I visited during a day out on the Severn Valley railway. It was a friendly pub serving an excellent pint of Jennings Snecklifter and delicious roast beef rolls. I spent a pleasant afternoon there chatting to the locals and watching the rugby on TV before heading off to get the train back.

On 23rd October 2006 - rating: 8
[User has posted 777 recommendations about 697 pubs]