User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Euros Prediction League with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

Lamb & Flag, Oxford

12 St Giles
Oxford
OX1 3JS

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Lamb & Flag

Nothing changes in here and whilst it has never been one of my preferred OX1 pubs, it certainly wins marks for consistency and having some unusual beers for this part of the country as regulars. My Theakstons Old Peculiar was OK but could have been better (throughput issues on a warm day for this sort of beer I guess) NBSS 2.5.

April 2014
So it’s definitely open, as I found myself back in the other week. Seven ales on pump, alongside two ciders. The beer festival was on, with a plenty of barrels on stillage. I plumped for the house beer (Betty Stoggs) which came out well enough. Also noted a decent Belgian bottle selection. Still worth a visit though if you give it five minutes extra slipper up the road, there’s plenty on offer in Jericho – be adventurous! Rated 7

January 2014
Randomly closed on Saturday December 28th, with no signage to say why, just drawn curtains. I assume it hasn't closed for good!? Doesn't exactly shout "well run"...

July 2011
Owned by the adjoining St John’s College (all beer money funnelled into studentships, talk about recycling!), this is a fairly spacious free house with an excellent range of ales available; usually six including (though not limited to) Betty Stoggs, Spitfire, Theakston OP, and Palmers, (Best and the house beer Lamb and Flag Gold which is Palmer's Dorset Gold). Olney and Rudgate made up the numbers last visit as well as a real cider (Weston’s, I think). Quality is usually good and the prices are more competitive than a number of nearby competitors. There are three main drinking areas split over two levels with an upper and lower bar – the lower area is the older and more interesting part of the pub, with a proper fire, panelling and wooden beams. The main part of the interior is a bit bland though (college shields and rowing oars excepted) and can sometimes lack atmosphere unless you bring your own. The service can also be a bit variable. Not necessarily my first choice in Oxford but well-worth putting on the crawl list. Rated 7

On 1st June 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Lamb & Flag

Visited in last July and once a regular customer in the 1990s. Well described below, the front bar is a bit sterile and decked out with college coats of arms; the rear bar is much older, more cosy and inviting.
A half of Prescott Hill Climb went down well enough.
Worth a visit if passing and makes for a good one-two with the more famous Eagle & Child, opposite, but this place is rammed during term time evenings.

On 14th January 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1001 recommendations about 986 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Lamb & Flag

I’ve been in the more famous pub across the road a few times but never made it into this one, so this was an inaugural visit for me.
It’s an interesting pub in three sections as well described below and is internally a lot bigger than it gives the impression from the outside. The older back section certainly has the most character and the small single person drinking hole built into the wall of the middle bar section is an amusing feature.
Personally I thought the ale choice was OK, especially as I don’t get to drink Palmers brews a lot and the XT Pi Mild and Prescott Hill Climb were decent enough additional options to the normal house beers. Wouldn’t hesitate to come here again when next in town.

On 11th August 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Lamb & Flag

An interesting and historical building with the rear of the building dating back to medieval times. This pub is quite deceiving from the front as it looks so small, but once through the side entrance door, you will appreciate the length of the interior. Service at the bar was fast and efficient and patience prevailed from the young barmaid, as I took a while choosing a beer from an uninspiring range on this visit. I settled on the Lamb and Flag Gold, brewed by Palmers. My choice was uninspiring in taste and flavour, maybe another visit might prove a better one.

On 27th July 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Lamb & Flag

Owned by St John's College,profits from the pub and the Eagle & Child over the road are used to provide scholarships to around 4 undergraduates per year,names listed by the front bar.
It's a pub of two halves,with the frontage far more modern that the rear of the pub,with it's low ceilings and exposed stonework as you head to the rear.The interior decor is also varied with wood panelling to the front,a modern light wood bar with St John's rowing oars above,a charming single bench alcove for drinking in solitude,then the rear bar,a raised snug to the side and a further section near the gents with a substantial fireplace and thick stone walls giving a cool place to sit on a hot day.
You will need to inspect both bars to clock the real ale range which comprised on my trip Skinners Betty Stogs,Lamb & Flag Gold (brewed by Palmers) and Palmers Best at the front bar with XT Pi MILD,Prescott Hill Climb,another Palmers Best,two real ciders and Twisted Pirate Ale (just OK) at the rear.
Worth a look around,the ale range seemed a little dull but it has historic connections with the same authors as The Eagle & Child but far fewer tourists doing the Nania thing.Worth including on a crawl.

On 23rd July 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2089 recommendations about 2089 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about Lamb & Flag

I liked the Lamb and Flag, which was reasonably busy on a Tuesday evening.
To the front is a large bar with seating where you can watch the comings and goings of St. Giles. It seemed to be favoured by couples seeking a quiet drink. The bar at the back feels more lively and had more atmosphere with various groups enjoying their ale.
Beers on were: Spitfire, Palmers Best, Mariners Gloucester, Skiners Betty Stogs, Lamb and Flag Gold and the very good Slaters Retro Red. Not a bad selection and as Quinno points out it'd fit well into a crawl if not being a destination pub. Or for a quick last beer on the way home as in my case.

On 5th September 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Lamb & Flag

A decent old pub just across the road from the Eagle and Child,six ales on,Shepherd Neame Spitfire,Two Cocks Diamond Lil, Palmers Best,Skinners Betty Stogs and my choice of Beowulf Chasewater at a very reasonable £2.90,also on handpump was Solway perry. A traditional square bar to the front of the pub and to the rear older part of the pub another bar area with seperate semi divided seating areas and rooms.A good pub.

On 11th August 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1357 recommendations about 1343 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Lamb & Flag

Pub on busy road out of North Oxford, it combines the old and the new very well, a nice light modern front bar then a cavernous dark beamed room to the rear. Wood floor all round, uni shields and oars show you're still in Oxford.

6 real ales, of southern taste, bit flat for me.

Nice fit

On 7th June 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Lamb & Flag

Looking for somewhere to enjoy a hearty Sunday roast whilst in Oxford, we made our way to the Lamb and Flag, a pub already on my radar thanks to it's links to the excellent Palmer's brewery of Bridport, and we were not let down by the combination of excellent food and beer.
The pub has a traditional feel, with the front room (somewhat modernised but still in keeping with the rest of the building), decorated with oars, hinting at the link to the university and its rowing credentials. The rest of the pub has an older feel to it, including the back section, which boasts a lovely fireplace and a few horse brasses. The rear is somewhat darker than the front section, thanks to some large windows onto the open St Giles, compared to smaller windows at the back onto the narrow passageway which takes you towards the Pitt Rivers Museum.
The beer selection was excellent with Palmer's Best and the house beer Lamb and Flag Gold (Palmer's Dorset Gold) complimented by regulars Skinner's Betty Stogs and Theakstons Old Peculiar and guests which included Shep's Spitfire, another Skinners beer (I forget which) and Keltic Kudos. Our Sunday roast was £8 and for that we got plenty of roast beef, plus 5 roast potatoes, a huge Yorkshire pud and 4 types of veg. Great value.
There were some certificates on the wall which detailed a somewhat unique feature of the pub. They are run by St John's College and all of the profits from beer sales are put towards studentships for students from that particular college.
My only real criticism would be that the pub has a large pull for tourists which meant that it was more suited to diners than drinkers, which was fine for my purpose of having a tasty Sunday lunch, but would otherwise be less appealing should you just want a quiet pint.
All in all though, well worth seeking out, perhaps more so in the evening when the tourists have dispersed.

On 31st October 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2546 recommendations about 2546 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about Lamb & Flag

A regular outlet for Palmers Ales which is rare outside of Dorset. Also has a range of other good ales on. Good food also. Always visit this pub when in Oxford.

On 13th August 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]

Page: 1 2