User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with Real Ale Ray on the Pub Forum

St Aldates Tavern, Oxford

108 St Aldates
Oxford
OX1 1BU
Phone: 01865241185

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about St Aldates Tavern

Attractive city-centre pub, albeit less interesting inside than one might hope with a heavily modified bar area and partially opened-out room beyond. However, the selection from the seven handpumps included Flying Monk Pendulum (£4.55), a couple from Loose Cannon as well as XT3 (one of the regular beers from that brewery).

On 29th September 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about St Aldates Tavern

ORIGINAL REVIEW March 2015
Modest sized interior which has a modern vibe despite the age of the building.On entering there is a long "scrubbed" refectory table in the middle where you may well share the space,a further long table,fitted bench seating below a window and a drinking ledge with associated high stools.Above the old fireplace is a flatscreen cleverly disguised with a picture of the area clipped on when not in use,a great idea.It appeared that currently only 6 nations rugby will be screened.The bar is to one side,while to the rear is another seating area down a step immediately infront of the opening for the kitchen.
Food is popular here,posh pub grub served on bread boards and slates with the chips in an enamel mug rather than builders tea.Most mains are over £10,but the quality looked good and the fish & chips were doing a roaring trade to the afterwork crowd with the interior quite busy on a Wednesday evening visit.
The bar sports 6 handpumps with regulars in the shape of Dark Star Hophead , Hooky Bitter and something from XT while on my trip one of the guests was from XT's occasional brewhouse Animal Brewing Bastard Bunny Brew Ha Ha,a 7% double IPA in such fine condition that a second pint had to be consumed as the big finish to a very good ale session.The keg selection also included something interesting from XT and Dogfish besides the usual suspects.
I found the service to be very crisp and efficient ,with a great steer to a very decent curry house close by.Although prices for both ale and food are at a premium,if the pub continues to offer a good range of ale strengths and styles in good nick ,with the sad passing of Far From the Madding Crowd this would now be my first choice for real ale in the city centre.Fully deserves it's 2015 GBG listing.

UPDATE
A change of vibe here ,more sports bar orientated and a greater student mix and odour,it's a bit scruffy.BT Sport was airing a Spurs Champions League defeat.However the ale choice and condition still make this one of the better pubs to visit in Oxford,a city not noted for real ale excellence.

On 8th March 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2088 recommendations about 2088 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about St Aldates Tavern

In the GBG Guide. Initially quiet. Big fan of the XT brews but the number 2 I had was in quite poor condition. Not bad enough to take it back but I expected a bit more.

Visit blogged at http://bit.ly/2tFIpRz

On 27th July 2017 - rating: 4
[User has posted 277 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about St Aldates Tavern

This was originally the New Inn and I came here once before, on May Morning (1st May) 1994 when Oxford's pubs open at 6.00 am to cater for those attending May balls and those who have just attended the Hymnus Eucharisticus sung by the Magdalen School choir from the top of Magdalen Tower. I remember little but I know it was mildly magical.
A return last July and what little I can remember, has changed beyond all recognition, suffice to say that it's well described below; my half of XT2 was on fine form.
Well worth visiting if in the area.

On 14th January 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1000 recommendations about 985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about St Aldates Tavern

An attractive Georgian exterior houses a modern light and airy interior with wooden flooring and distressed bench seating as well described below. Decent beer range on offer which included Prescott Hill Climb and Brightside Brewing Co. Manchester Skyline but I also went for the XT2 and XT3 offerings which were in good nick..
Really enjoyed my visit here which I primarily attribute to the beer range, but may have had something to do with the fact that the couple of muted flat screen tele’s were showing England giving a drubbing to Pakistan in the cricket at the time.

On 12th August 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about St Aldates Tavern

The main features I liked about this pub along with my excellent pint of XT2, were the antique glass widow panes, with some original bulls eye panels. The granite fireplace over on the left hand side of entrance and the parquet floor. The bar was modern with a painted front and pine counter. Large black lamps also featured hanging over the bar counter. A decent pub, so well worth a visit.

On 29th July 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about St Aldates Tavern

Attractive exterior to the pub, once inside there is a more modern makeover with a mixture of styles and I found it to be a bit of a mish mash,however there are six pumps for real ale and although I managed to forget to note the beers on for some reason, I remember it to have been a a decent selection and my XT 3 was good enough.
Its OK here and will happily return.

On 25th July 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1357 recommendations about 1343 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about St Aldates Tavern

A quick stop-off to shelter from a passing shower gave me a good half of Dark Star Blockhead, a tough choice amongst the impressive line-up. Sneaks up another point.

November 2014
Two revisits have found truly excellent pints from the likes of Dark Star, Great Heck and XT. However on the first visit the world's stupidest barmaid messed up the change on both visits to the bar. This place really doesn't want me to enjoy it...but the quality of the beer means I'll be back again I suspect - it's come a long way in a short time. Rated 7

December 2013
A fairly new kid on the block and was recommended to me by the bar staff at the Grapes as a wildcard. It sports an attractive exterior on approach. Six pumps with four on (Late Knights, Black Iris, Dark Star Hophead and Box Steam Porter). An interesting range but claims outside of the “widest ale range in Oxford” perhaps overly boastful in context. Quality below-par; my Box Steam was OK but died quite quickly in the glass. The follow-up of Black Iris was flat. Modernised interior décor - a turquoise spectrum colour scheme, woodblock flooring and dodgy 'distressed' tables laid out in a canteen-style as mentioned below. Food offered, with Scotch eggs and 'hand cut chips' for bar snacks. Blue Room upstairs which is bookable for functions etc. A good solid outlet if somewhat less inspiring than other OX1 pubs on the ale quality front. Perhaps I caught it on a bad day. Rated 6

On 18th September 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about St Aldates Tavern

Currently owned by The City Pub Company, St Aldgates Tavern is an historic Georgian building which provides an atmospheric setting for an alehouse. Was once known as The Hobgoblin. Well described below, the décor has bedded in well since Quinno's review and now sits comfortably with the parquet floor in the front bar and the flags in the small dining area at the back. The staff are also a bit more switched on than before. The pub holds regular entertainment including being on the Pub Skeptics network. It is dog friendly and has free WiFi. Six ales on, three from Dark Star, two from Box Steam and one from XT. I had a pint of Tunnel Vision which was well kept and in perfect condition and justifies its recent inclusion in the GBG. Worth coming for lunch or an evening's libation and a valuable inclusion in a City crawl.

On 23rd March 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2607 recommendations about 2575 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about St Aldates Tavern

A lovely, traditional and welcoming exterior, complete with a board advertising fish and chips in various languages, opens into a comfortable one room space with the bar to the left at the end and a smaller area beyond.
The decor and fixtures are all rustic but modern with mismatched, aged wood furniture including one long table made from an old pine door and a parquet floor. Each table is furnished with fresh flowers in different spirit bottles and a paper menu bulldog clipped to an old book. Nice touches and they make the place feel looked after.
Mr. F below has described the food offerings well and the service was polite, efficient and friendly.
In addition to a range of keg offerings, the hand pumps had on: Animal Brewing Bastard Bunny Brew Ha Ha, XT 6, Darkstar Hophead, Box Steam Tunnel Vision and Hook Norton Hooky. A decent selection across strength and styles and all that we tried was excellent. Worth noting though that the Brew Ha Ha at 7.2% came in at £4.30 and the Hophead at 3.8% was £3.65. Not cheap but perhaps the norm for central Oxford.
We enjoyed our visit here and the ale offerings so much that, despite Oxford's rich array of alternatives, we weren't tempted to leave.

On 12th March 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]

Page: 1 2