User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How was it for you? with trainman on the Pub Forum

The Exchange (JD Wetherspoon), Banbury

50 High Street
Banbury
OX16 5LA
Phone: 01295259035

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Exchange (JD Wetherspoon)

We left this Spoons to last on our mini tour of Banbury and having some truly excellent ales around town, our beer choice on the bar in here seemed daunted and uninspiring. Still there was an Oakham Citra as luck had it and it was in great shape. Our visit was on a late Sunday afternoon, so the pub had quietened now considerably, which made an easy an quick drink before heading back to the train station.

On 27th June 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Exchange (JD Wetherspoon)

A fine frontage ,you enter up some stone steps into an open plan front area with a high ceiling ,all quite airy and bright.The bar is at a higher level and consequently has a low ceiling in a much more narrow space with seating booths along the left wall and mainly high tables elsewhere.The furniture and finish is identikit 'spoons and you could be anywhere in the country.At the bar were two banks of 6 handpumps offering on my trip GK Abbott,Doom Bar,Ruddles Best doubled up,a cider and guest ales Wychwood Hobgoblin,Tamar Best,Caledonian Edinburgh Castle,Butcome Original,Youngs Special and Peerless Lottie Dod (forgetable).That's one of the worst guest ale line ups I've seen a a 'spoons and I was totally underwhelmed.
The manager couldn't be bothered to ask some boisterous travellers to put a sock in it,despite being the worse for wear and this led to an overall impression....nobody cares so why should I return ?

On 11th February 2018 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2079 recommendations about 2079 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Exchange (JD Wetherspoon)

Wetherspoons were a small London pub chain last time I was in Banbury and this place doesn't do the current chain any favours. It consists of a wider area as you enter with a few steps up to the long narrow bar area. Fixtures and furnishings are all fairly typical. The place was a shambles when I arrived on a Saturday afternoon with uncleared and sticky tables everywhere. It seemed like the few staff available were just being used to take orders and deliver meals.
Although there are two sets of six hand pumps the beer choice was poor with the JDW Trio Of Doom doubled up but as it transpired minus the Abbot, one available soon and a cider which left just Moorhouse Pendle Witches Brew, Phipp's Midsummer Madness, Jenning's Golden Lion and Purity Gold. These are all low ABV beers and three of them pale making for a very unbalanced choice. I went for the Purity Gold (£2.15) which was in reasonable nick.
I thought this was a pretty poor Spoons and preferred the Fleur De Lis but that had virtually no customers! Laughably this one is listed in the 2017 GBG.

On 5th September 2016 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Exchange (JD Wetherspoon)

Traditional-style 'spoons conversion of the former post office and telephone exchange with a slightly split-level interior. Mix of furniture, including some booths along one wall, but a decent amount of local history photographs and displays on the walls. Not much in the way of regional beers on the two banks of six handpumps, apart from the North Cotswold Moreton Mild (£2.09), but there was otherwise a reasonable selection of real ales and ciders.

On 13th March 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6175 recommendations about 6175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Exchange (JD Wetherspoon)

Called in on 10th of July its a spoons there good or bad and this one is a bad one 9,30 not very busy no staff about when the girl finally made an appearance you could tell she did not want to be here, There was no hand pulls on so had a lager it was warm, Saw the same girl go out and make an half hearted attempt at the tables just whipped round things

On 16th July 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Exchange (JD Wetherspoon)

A bit depressing this pub with an even worse depressing choice of beer unless you like "available soon" which is about all they had on.

On 1st May 2012 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Exchange (JD Wetherspoon)

A grimly sterile two-tier Wetherspoons with one of their catalogue interiors, apparently converted from an old post office. Eight(!) guests with three of them not actually on, a bit poor for a Saturday. My Goodhands Xmas beer was flat and I couldn’t be motivated to finish it. Pictures of Olde Banbury on walls. A plus is the nice stained glass used as part of the porch area. I would rank this below the other JDW in town.

On 31st December 2011 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Exchange (JD Wetherspoon)

Not a bad Wetherspoons pub and there were clips on all 12 handpulls, but as usual not all of them were available. 2 banks of 6 both with Greene King Abbot and Greene King Ruddles on. We had Acorn 1887 and Hawkshead Cumbrian Five Hop both of which were very good. Others that were on or coming soon were from Arundel, Warwicksheire, Roosters, Triple FFF, Daleside and Saltaire.

On 10th May 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Exchange (JD Wetherspoon)

This Wetherspoons was converted from an old building.
Once inside it had the usuall Spoons layout though i thought this one was a bit better that a lot of Spoons, there was a decent choice of beers on the bar and i had a drink of Ringwood Fortyniner which was a very nice drink.
As usuall with Spoons pubs it opens early and this was handy for me as i was waiting for a bus to take me to Chipping Norton.
All in all not a bad place for a quick drink.

Pub visited 13/9/2003

On 13th September 2003 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]