User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 10th November 2019) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The Sir John Borlase Warren, Nottingham

1 Ilkeston Road
Nottingham
NG7 3GD
Phone: 01159881889

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Delboy 20 left this review about The Sir John Borlase Warren

Great pub with an excellent choice of beers as described below. We tried a couple from Lincoln green and they were in good shape. I would definitely return.

On 25th March 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 925 recommendations about 894 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about The Sir John Borlase Warren

The Sir John Borlace Warren or the “Borlace” is located next to the falcon at the top of Canning Circus and is the largest and has the grandest looking exterior of the pubs around Canning Circus. The pub is part part of the Project William scheme under the watch of Lincoln Green Brewery. Once inside the Bar bends around the left corner in a L shape. There a few different seating areas and snugs on different levels and the pub is furnished in a nice sophisticated manner which is in contrast to the traditional boozer décor of the Falcon, both are nice in their own ways. The beer selection is very good and comes in three distinct categories over the three sets of four hand pumps. One set is reserved for Lincoln green beers which on my visit were Marion (£2.90) Hood (£3.00) Archer (£3.00) and Quarterstaff (£3.20). The second set is reserved for four ever changing guest ales that on my visit consisted of Great Heck Black Jesus (£3.65) and Mercy (£3.10) one I failed to note and Everards Tiger (Always available due to the partnership agreement and (£3.40). This leaves the third set which is accompanied by a brewery of the week every week and showcases a selection of their beers on the four pumps. Unfortunately this is only at weekends so on my midweek visit these were unavailable. This still leaves 8 ales in the week to choose from instead of 12 which is still good going. The Hood was a well-kept pint and very enjoyable. Another great pub in Canning Circus and well worth a visit. The only downsides to this pub is that the robin hood and little john in Arnold is also a project William pub owned by Lincoln Green that edges it with it beer quality (Outstanding vs very good) and selection (it has up to twenty beers it can offer on hand pump at peak times and special occasions). That’s not to detract from how grand this pub is its just noting that their other example is a slightly better offering.

On 15th November 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 431 recommendations about 431 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Sir John Borlase Warren

I was ordered to come here by the Landlord of the King William IV the other side of Nottingham and I'm really glad I didn't ignore his good advice. As of May this year it has become a Lincoln Green pub assisted by the Project William scheme run by the Eveerard's brewery. It's had a superb refurbishment retaining the multiple rooms, the old floor tiles as you enter and wooden floors.
The bar now has twelve hand pumps with on my visit six Lincoln Green beers, Everard's Tiger and five guests. The guests were Bank Top Bad To The Bone, Brightside Our Town, Raw Pacific Gem, Double Top Bad Boy and Conwy Welsh Pride. I went for the Lincoln Green Tuck Porter (£2.96) Which was superb. If you feel like moving on from the beer there is a cider wall with up to 10 ciders (7 on my visit) all priced at £3.50-£3.60. They also do a range of fifty whiskies and twenty gins.
I thought this was an excellent pub and my favourite of the Canning Circus four.

On 7th July 2015 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2144 recommendations about 2139 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Sir John Borlase Warren

Very busy pub Thursday tea time nice and clean and a good barmaid one of the best i have seen for a long time. She was a Black girl mid 30s i would say funny and good to talk to was a bit upset she had only a few minutes left of her shit when we went in and you could tell she was very muched liked by young and old

Hd a pint of hand pull Waltzes fun fair 4.5% will call back

On 4th July 2014 - rating: 10
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Sir John Borlase Warren

A deceptively large detached Everards pub, with rear beer garden. The pub is in Georgian style, with cream painted brick and white windows, however, the lintels are painted over too, giving a little bland appearance to me. The interior is, well, busy in that it has several area, on split levels, that are aimed at different clientele. I simply found it, in general, pretentious. The decor is the red and white, with some white wood panel and the odd walls with patterned wallpaper (silver for example). Wood flooring mixes with carpet, with some nice mosaic at the door. There is the all too familiar sofa/comfy chair area, with fireplace and lamp - sort of like a front room isn't it?. The dining area is at the lower level and there is a games area too. There are a few photos on the walls. Service was fine and it is has ranged from busy to completely quiet on the few visits i have made. I didn't see a TV and music was general and at a decent level. Beer; usual tap stuff, with at the last visit, Origianl, Beacon, Equinox, Tiger, and Whakatu. The Beacon was a bit cloudy and the Whatatu too cold. i think the disappointing beer is partly why i found this place a little generic. I will try it again, at some stage.

On 25th April 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Sir John Borlase Warren

This pub is named after the eponymous admiral, who was brought up in Stableford, which is just down the road. It seems that the two previous reviewers have need of a stop off on the 100 yard walk between the Hand & Heart and Organ Grinder. Well, who can blame them when there is a pub as good as this one on the way. It’s still an Everard’s pub, that had on Tiger (but of which I had the last pint!), Original, Sunchaser, and Beacon. They also had White Horse War Horse, which one of my companions had and which looked like a dark, almost porter-coloured, ale. He said it was good which is all that matters I guess.

There’s no need to repeat previous descriptions. Suffice to say that the mix of utilitarian and comfortable (i.e. sofas) seating was appreciated by my companions and I after walking up the hill following a heroic curry! We were very happy to have found one of the many nooks and crannies to relax in to enjoy a couple of well-earned pints.
This one is recommended, and I expect to visit again on a future visit to Nottingham.

On 26th November 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2543 recommendations about 2461 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Sir John Borlase Warren

This is a smart, split level Everards house located in a prominent corner position where a number of busy roads converge. The interior seems to be relatively unspoilt but still feels quite contemporary. You enter to a mosaic tile floored area with an attractive servery on the left hand side. It has a slightly unusual position in the front corner of the pub and the curved bar counter is complimented by a white bar back with some nice etched glass inserts. There is a bit of seating around this side of the pub, although some pillars make it a bit of an awkward space to navigate around. To the right of the front door there is a small bare boarded area with a glazed brick fireplace and some modern floral wallpaper which looks quite appealing until you notice that the only seating available here is a tatty three piece suite with some impressively over-stuffed cushions that look impossible to sit on. There is a more appealing area opposite in a small carpeted side room which has a couple of tables, loads and loads of board games and some enlarged pages from the Beano comic on the walls. The right hand side of the pub is on a lower level and is set up more for diners, although no-one appeared to be eating on my Tuesday evening visit. Posters suggest that it doubles as the ‘Racing Room’ where weekly Scalextric races are held.
There is a promising row of eight hand pumps on the bar, but I arrived to find just the three Everards beers available – Tiger, Beacon and Original. Whilst the Tiger was in good shape and as enjoyable as ever, the sight of five unused pumps was a bit of a letdown. Food seems reasonably priced, with extensive sandwich and burger options available and main meals around the £7.50 mark.
I probably caught this pub at the wrong time beer wise, but I still enjoyed my visit here and agree with the previous reviewer inasmuch as it makes a good stop off between the nearby Organ Grinder and Hand & Heart.

On 2nd November 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2339 recommendations about 2339 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about Sir John Borlase Warren

I have been to this pub just a couple of times in my life, the last was just a week ago. Great Everards selection, plus several guests. I partook of a pint of great Expectation, which was excellent. The decor is clean and tidy with a Mushroom and Taup colour scheme. lots of seating both hard and soft and not that I have eaten there, an extensive food menu. Whilst we were in I noticed a flyer for a "Race Room". The pub has invested in a 6 lane Scalelectric set and holds regular race days on Tuesdays and Saturdays. Kids are welcome on Saturdays and you pay by the hour. Thursday Night has a "buy 2 main courses and get a free bottle of house wine" We were in last Thursday and the place was rammed with students taking advantage of the offer. Unexpectadly for it's location, the pub has an extensive 2 level beer garden out the back, including soft seating in one of the old garages? great pub to start off a nottingham crawl with good proximity to the Organ Grinder and the Hand & Heart, both excellent beer pubs. Will return!

On 28th June 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Sir John Borlase Warren

This Everards house serves very well kept ales and cannot be missed. The place is spotlessly clean, service is great and overall, a relaxing pub to have a pint. On my visit I enjoyed Everards Coppernob, Mrs Ale had a good laugh at the name, can't take women anywhere! Will return.

On 14th January 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2894 recommendations about 2894 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Sir John Borlase Warren

An unusually located pub, being in the middle of an eight(?) road junction. Named after a local admiral (JDW-esque). The split-level interior has had a makeover but has a number of appealing older features such as the attractive etched glass bar back set in white painted wood and the mosaic tiled floor. Open-plan but has a number of discrete drinking areas which makes for a more homely feel. Seven ales on the bar, mainly from Everards with a couple of guests, plus Old Rosie cider and mine was in good nick. There’s a selection of board games in the back room and up-market pub food offered. Large prints of old Beano comics adorn one of the walls. Enjoyable and worth a visit.

On 11th November 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]

Page: 1 2