User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bottled Beer Bargain Alert with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

Lord Roberts, Nottingham

Broad Street
Nottingham
NG1 3AL
Phone: 01159414886

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Punch Taverns

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about Lord Roberts

Original review. 31/05/16. Original score 8.

Despite having lived in Nottingham all of my 52 years, due to its reputation, I have never visited the Lord Roberts. This all changes last weekend, when noting the recent refurbishment and adoption of Flipside as its house brewery, I decided to take the plunge.

What a great pub! No less than 10 hand pulls on the bar serving a complete range of Flipside brews and a small selection of guest brews. Staff were polite and let me try several brews before I made my choice. Excellent seating with nice new carpets and curtains finished off the sympathetic refurbishment. Although we didn't eat, the food menu looked attractive and I may well give it a try one evening in the future.

Will certainly call again, nice to see yet another "brewery tap" on the Nottingham scene.

26/10/16

Popped in for a pint the other night and the variety and quality of beer has drastically diminished. Just 3 on the bar, one of them a porter. went for a flipside brew and it was total vinegar. the barmaid tried to tell me it should be like that. i left.

On 26th October 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about Lord Roberts

A former gay bar now operated by the Flipside brewery of colwick. This pub has only just re opened after a six week extensive refurbishment and is a vast improvement over the former pub. The new pub has a very nice traditional pub feel with warm carpets and wood throughout along side comfy bench seating. The beer range is now outstanding with ten hand pumps for local micro brews. on my visit the 7.3% russian rouble (£4.10) and flipping best (£3.00) were in excellent condition and a 20 per pint discount was offered with a CAMRA card.

A massive improvement and a real good addition to the real ale scene. with news the old angel up the road is being refurbished and will have its own brew house means that this area of town is starting to really up its pub game which is great for the city. I will be calling back here as it is one of the best pubs within the hockley area of the city, do not let past impressions or reputations of this pub put you off it is now a great find.

On 3rd May 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 452 recommendations about 452 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Lord Roberts

For many years this has been of our regular lunch stops on my annual visits to Nottingham. There has been little change over the years, but when I visited last week I discovered that it had become the second pub run by the Flipside Brewery, based at Colwick, Nottingham. There were four Flipside ales on - Copper Penny (£3 a pint - 4.2%), Flipping Best (4.6%), Clippings IPA (6.5%); and Russian Rouble, a 7.3% dark stout of course. I had pints of both the Copper Penny and Flipping Best, which were both excellent. A little chalkboard on the counter announced that you could try before you buy, and generously sized tasters of the other two ales were gratefully sampled. We were told by the barman that this is the second Flipside pub, and that at some stage they are likely to follow the example of the other one and offer a CAMRA discount

But perhaps more importantly, they plan to increase the total handpumps to ten, with five Flipside ales available, plus another five from regional breweries. The only downside at the moment is that there is no hot food (not even chips), and that sandwiches are limited to cheese or ham. Hopefully they will up their game on the food front. But this looks like becoming a Nottingham destination pub.

On 29th November 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Lord Roberts

At first, this pub looks like an rather palin undressed brick corner pub, but I think it is a fantastic art deco build, with decorative corner flourish and a lower glazed brick level. I belive it was built by Shipstone's Brewery, although what the connection to Lord Roberts is, i would love to know. There is a rear patio area. The interior is an L-shaped room in cream and wood panel, with carpet floor. There is a fireplace at one end and the walls are festooned with theatrical pictures. The servive was fine and the pub is gay friendly. They do a basic food menu. I didnt see a TV and the background music was general stuff and at a decent level. Beer; usual tap stuff with Harvest Pale Ale and a decent enough Timothy Taylor Landlord on handpull. A more than happy stop-off, worth a visit even just to see the architecture!

On 29th March 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Lord Roberts

A very well run pub this one with friendly staff and well kept beers. Harvest Pale and London Pride on our visit. Also has a secluded yard out the back if you wanted to sit in the sun.

On 23rd June 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Lord Roberts

The Lord Roberts used to be a Shipstones tied house.
This pub is just off parliament street and it has now been knocked into one room and is a lot smarter than it used to be.
This pub did have a gay reputation in the past this is not as bad now and everyone visiting here are made welcome.
There are only two real ales on which are nothing special we had Black Sheep which was ok.

On 1st November 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Lord Roberts

This is a fairly unremarkable pub in one of the backstreets of Nottingham fairly near to the town centre. It’s quite comfortable with mainly normal tables and chairs, plus some banquette seating. The decor on the walls is essentially theatre-centric with various posters and photographs of theatrical greats. I rather liked the two black and white photographs of Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast at Tiffany’s mode. At one time the clientele was mainly gay – I’m not sure whether this is still the case although it may well be.
They had a couple of real ales on – Black Sheep Bitter and Bombardier. I think this is a great improvement on the days when Flowers was the best beer available. I had the BSB, which was fine. The food at lunchtime was fairly basic, but they advertised a variety of sandwiches that turned out to be fresh and well filled, and good value at around the £3 mark. There’s nothing really different about this pub to make it stand out from its peers, but it is clean and comfortable; the service is friendly; they do a couple of ales; and the sarnies are a good bet. My companions and I have tended to visit this pub when we make our annual trek to Nottingham, and I expect that we shall be back next year.

On 14th February 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]