User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Lincolnshire Poacher, Nottingham

163 Mansfield Road
Nottingham
NG1 3FR

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 9 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Old Boots left this review about The Lincolnshire Poacher

Located on the north of the city, a Castle Rock pub in ale house style. Multi roomed in tongue & groove with grubby cream above. Nine pulls with obviously Castle Rock beers predominating but a reasonable clutch of other breweries such as Black Iris, North Riding, and Shipstones. Madly large selection of Scotch whiskys. Lively, friendly atmosphere with a decent mixed bunch of locals. Only two staff on so they struggled (very well) with table service in a busy pub, otherwise all was running well.

On 29th September 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Alex Conway left this review about The Lincolnshire Poacher

Being Nottingham born and bread I know the city's pub selection like the back of my hand and must say that although there is some stiff competition the Lincolnshire poacher is my pick for the very bes pub in the city and I know a lot who would agree with me. The pub itself has everything form wooden seats and tables to comfy snugs as well as bright open patio seating, there really is so much going on for all types of drinkers. They have recently had a big refurbishment of the garden area, adding more seats and little huts with heating to protect you from the elements.

The drinks range is second to none with 13 hand pulls usually in order. Castle rock harvest pale, Elsie Mo, screech owl and Sherwood reserve tend to be the most frequent of the castle rock range with some of the others like black gold rotating. this pub also frequently has at least one batemans beer (usually xb or xxxB) I presume as a homage to its former owners. London Pride and Everards Tiger are also frequently feature. This leaves 7 hand pulls for guest beers that range from micro and national brewerys far and wide. all prices are very reasonable (all prices were recently reduced 20-30 p due to the removal of their loyalty card scheme), especially for castle rock beers with Harverst pale setting you back £2.70. guests usually range between £3 and £3.40 depending on strength.

Overall a cracking pub with great atmosphere and fantastic clientèle make this pub the stand out pub of Nottingham, so highly recommended, always my stop off when drinking around the city centre.

On 13th March 2020 - rating: 9
[User has posted 454 recommendations about 454 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Lincolnshire Poacher

The Lincolnshire Poacher is a Castle Rock pub on the Mansfield Road, roughly 15 minutes walking distance from the city centre. The pub retains a multiple room layout, with entry to a corridor that runs down the right hand side to the pub. To the immediate left there is access to the main bar – a small bare boarded room with enough space for just the one table and a couple of small drinking ledges with high stools. The etched windows here show the pub’s former name as the ‘Old Grey Nags Head’ – a name that was changed when the pub was closed by Shipstones and reopened by Lincolnshire brewers Batemans back in the late 1980’s. From here you can access a seating area on a slightly lower level to the left of the servery. There are banquettes and low stools in this room, and like the bar area, its walls are decorated with lots of brewery mirrors including one for Knotty Ash Ales. A high shelf has all sorts of brewerania on it, plus some trophies and a number of handled glasses hanging from the edge. Following the entrance corridor towards the rear of the pub, you pass a small snug which has some well upholstered banquette seating, a small serving hatch and a collection of books. Beyond this there is a bright conservatory space and a decent looking paved garden.
The beer range really stands out here and rivals anything else the city has to offer. On my visit, the choice was from Castle Rock Harvest Pale, Screech Owl and Elsie Mo, Saltaire Raspberry Blonde and Triple Chocoholic (£3.20), Leeds Pale Ale and Gathering Storm, Ossett Excelsior, Fullers Bengal Lancer, Shottle Farm 8/- Ale, Nethergate Essex Beast, Everards Tiger and Dancing Duck Dark Drake. A blackboard in the corridor lists all of the ale options, and once at the bar there is a small board on the bar back that details the four ales not visible from the hand pumps. In addition to this, there were a total of eleven ciders and perries (all at £3.50), a keg range that included the likes of Erdinger, Sagres and Vedett, an extensive bottled Belgian beer range and a selection of 60 whiskies. It was very difficult picking one beer from that sort of a selection, but I ended up with a pint of the Triple Chocoholic which was absolutely sublime. Food options were listed on boards above the servery and mains were around £7.00 whilst a cob would set you back in the region of £3.00.
I thought this place had a bit of everything that a good pub should have. The beer range alone is a good enough reason to make you way out here but the pleasant and welcoming environment will make you reluctant to leave this excellent establishment.

On 9th November 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2545 recommendations about 2545 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Lincolnshire Poacher

Well worth a visit as they have good well kept ales and a good selection. They also have a ships cat called Leeroy. I went for the Phoenix Brewery Snowbound. St Austell Dartmoor Best, Castle Rock Tern a superb stout, Castle Rock Tern, Holdens Supanova, Batesmans XB and Cascade Pale Ale. Also does fab lunches at a reasonable price. Will defo call again.

On 8th January 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Lincolnshire Poacher

A terraced Castle Rock Brewery pub with rear conservatory and patio area. The pub is in plain brick with some red paintwork, with stone linteled sash windows. In the GBG 2011.

The interior is an L-shape open plan room. The main bar at the front is a straight room though in two areas. The decor is white and wood panel (with green chimney breast), with wood floor and a green ceiling. The walls are covered in an eclectic colloection if prints, old photos, mirrors, brewery memorabilia and even an old Wrigglies Gum machine - it is great. At the side, heading out towards the patio is a small wood panelled snug that has its own serving hatch. The conservatory at the back is laid out more for food, clearly they do food here, but i didnt eat here so can't comment on that. There was no TV that i saw and there was no background music. The service was fine and the clientele more mature based and it was reasonably attended for a lunch time visit.

Beer; usual tap stuff with 12 handpulls including; Castle Rock Screetch Owl, Albert Ball MILD, Harvest Pale Ale; Batemans XB, Spring Goddess and Dark MILD (class); Everards Tiger, Bombardier, Springhead Brewery's Bramley Apple, Jarrow Red Ellen, Dancing Duck's Ayup and Burton Bridge Damson Porter.

Sheer class - so good, i could watch an omnibus edition of Big Brother if it mean't being a return trip.

On 18th September 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Michael Boyes left this review about The Lincolnshire Poacher

Two roomed Tynemill Castle Rock pub, with conservatory. Up to eleven handpumps serving Castle Rock excellent beers plus a great choice of guests, including Everards Tiger. Great food served all day until 9pm. Worth the short walk up Mansfield Road from the City centre.

On 12th February 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 55 recommendations about 55 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Richard Sharman left this review about The Lincolnshire Poacher

Another exellent Tynemill pub. As you enter there is a small standing area and bar to your left leading to another smallish room with bare wood fittings, these areas have a local pub atmosphere. Down the corridor to the back is a conservatory area with a more plush feel. Great selection of Real ales, good service and V. good food at reasonable prices.

On 8th February 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 43 recommendations about 43 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Lincolnshire Poacher

This pub used to be called the Old Grey Nags Head and was a Shipstones tied house the pub closed down in the early 80s.
The Lincolnshire Poacher is a big improvement on the old pub,there is a room at the front with the bar there and a smaller room at the back of the pub which i prefer to drink in this is a small squarish room with fairly comfy seating a conservatory has been added at the back giving more room for drinkers.
There are about 10 real ales on the bar and as this is a Castle Rock tied house there is a good selection of their beers we usually have either Harvest Pale or Hemlock bitter if its on the other beers are mainly from micro brewerys,the beer here is always served well and i have never had a bad pint here.
This pub is well worth a visit.

On 9th November 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Lincolnshire Poacher

There were 11 (eleven) ales on during my visit, all at reasonable prices. For some reason I stuck with Castle Rock ales, sinking pints of Hemlock and Winter Rail. Judging by the glass in the windows, this pub looks to have been called “The Old Gray Nag’s Head” in a previous incarnation. I suppose that it was considered to be a bit too much of a mouthful. The front bar, together with the small snug on the right of the bar, looks like the original pub, with a conservatory at the back added more recently presumably to provide more seating. There is a small outside area at the back which I imagine is mainly used by smokers. This outside area did have a large potted plant, which my chum from up North considered to be worthy of mention. I put this pub on a par with, or perhaps even a notch above, the Vat & Fiddle, which we had visited earlier in the day. The ale selection is even better than the V & F, and you get the same real pub experience. This is a drinkers’ destination pub of the highest order. Definitely on our list for a return visit next year, assuming that time allows.

On 6th February 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Duncan Harris left this review about The Lincolnshire Poacher

Consistently the best real ale pub in Nottingham...

On 18th January 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]

Page: 1 2