User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Rex_Rattus on the Pub Forum

Hand & Heart, Nottingham

67 Derby Road
Nottingham
NG1 5BA

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Hand & Heart

Another gem of a place! well worth a visit. Staff very friendly and welcoming. I had two ales from Notts Brewery Legend and EPA, Dancing Duck Brewery Round Heart and Copthorne Finest Hour. Would like to try the food next visit and listen to some piano.

On 15th November 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3089 recommendations about 3089 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Hand & Heart

28 October 2010

The Hand and Heart used to be a Shipstones tied house and it was closed down for a long time untill it was brought back to life a couple of years ago.
The front of this pub has been added on to the old frontage but once inside here the back of the pub is still set in the sandstone caves.
There is a good choice of real ales on here and the house beer is brewed by Full Mash of Stapleford this beer is quite a nice drink.
This is a very nice pub to have a few drinks in.

Update visit 8 October 2011

The pub is pretty much the same but the house beer has changed it is now brewed by the Dancing Duck brewery from Derby and it is called Round Heart,this is a darkish fruity beer and in my opinion not has good as the Full Mash beer.

On 14th October 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Hand & Heart

Looks like Soup and I were in Nottingham at around the same time. I can't improve on his pub description except to say the the pianist is "Pete The Feet" and you'll see why if you ever watch him whilst he's playing. My pint was well kept although the service was a bit haphazard. We were in on a Sunday afternoon and the dining room was heaving with people having Sunday lunch. We didn't eat but the portions were huge. It's a nice pub and the other half loved it so we'll be back again.

On 15th September 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2999 recommendations about 2916 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Hand & Heart

A terraced rather modern looking exterior, as a conservatory upper dining area has been added. The pub is in a chocolate colour with black beams.

The interior has three rooms. The main lounge that you enter is an L-shaped room, with the serving bar facing you on entry. This room is in a green/white wallpaper, white and wood panel, with a red tile floor. There are long bench tables with candles on them and cushions on the seats - a mix of benches, sofas and comfy chairs. There is an eclectic mix of prints and pictures on the walls and there is a piano, which was played by a proper pianist while we were there. CLASS. Twee curtains, carved wood support columns, it is all fun. Down a few steps there is a long dining room in the cave system. I didn't see much of this and didn't eat here, so can't comment on the food. I didn't see a TV and the music prior to the pianist was general and a decent level. The service was fine and the clientele consisted of mature couples mainly - yes, i felt at home.

Beer; usual tap stuff with Deuchars IPA, Full Mash Hummingbird, Coppice Side Notts Blonde, Buxton Moor Top, Hand and Heart Ale and a decent Wharfbank Maypole MILD.

The inside is twee,candley, cushiony and fantastic - i should hate it, but drinking class beer while listening to a pianist playing proper music (sadly no Beyonce) is just too good. A must for me.

On 14th September 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3067 recommendations about 3062 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Hand & Heart

Split-level pub with several unusual features as you get beyond the slightly retro front bar. Firstly, down a few steps towards one of the dining areas and gents toilet you start to get inside the old cave system. There is also a further conservatory-style dining area perched rather oddly at first-floor level facing the street. Nothing odd about the beer though, with six handpumps in the front bar and another two at the back along with three other ales in firkins - mostly goodf stuff from local micros (such as Nottingham Legend at £2.50). Overall, definitely worth the 10 minute walk out from the city centre.

On 24th January 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 7001 recommendations about 7001 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Hand & Heart

Another visit to this friendly pub, and this time sampled the food as well as the beer, and the steak and ale pie was ever so tasty. A bit more pricey than some of the pubs, but still a good pub to visit for good ales and interesting surroundings. Full Mash My Olde Ale, and Ossett Winters Tale were enjoyed with the food.

On 18th November 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1324 recommendations about 1207 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Hand & Heart

This is a delightful pub and deserves its place in the 2011 Good Beer Guide. Plenty of ales to chose from in 2 bars. The front bar had Otley 04 Colombe and Otley 0 Dark, Full Mash Hand & Heart, Abbeydale Aledritch, and another, and the back bar had Full Mash Roundhouse Gold and another pump. There were also about 5 ciders to choose from with unusual names. The back goes into sandstone caves giving it a cellar feel. Upstairs is a lovely conservatory style dining area. There was a piano in one of the back areas, and notices showed that there is jazz on a couple of nights a week. One not to miss while in Nottingham. The food menu looked very appetising, and the couple running it are very friendly.

On 13th October 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1324 recommendations about 1207 pubs]

Page: 1 2