User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Those two new Tier 2 rules explained! with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

Fellows Morton & Clayton, Nottingham

54 Canal Street
Nottingham
NG1 7EH
Phone: 01159506795

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Old Boots left this review about Fellows Morton & Clayton

I’ve been here before I’m sure but I thought it was bigger and better quality. Sadly my thoughts were misplaced, not so big and average on the beer quality front. Two lots of three pulls, Blue Monkey Primate on one, Doombar on the next and something instantly forgetable on the third. Noisey sports screens but totally nice staff.

On 29th September 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about Fellows Morton & Clayton

A decent pub with a choice of 3 ales on my visit. I went for Nice Try from Woodfordes (renamed for the 6 nations) and a dark ale I can't recall the name of. Both were decent and the service was excellent. I would happily call again. Also do a Camra discount.

On 18th March 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1086 recommendations about 1043 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Fellows Morton & Clayton

Fellows Morton & Clayton was a Whitbread home brew pub when it first opened in the early 80s,it was converted from old canalside buildings that had lay derelict.
The pub has been extended to the rear making it twice the size it was when first opened.
Once inside the bar faces in a bare boarded room that runs to the rear,the front left side is up two steps and has normal tables and chairs and i think now a settee,there are tall tables and chairs opposite the bar on the left side,the extended rear area is larger and down two steps,this area is carpeted and has bench seating and normal tables and chairs.
There is always a good choice of real ales on the bar and over lots of visits over the last few years they seem to have four permanent real ales on and four guest beers,i always have a drink on Nottingham EPA,which is always on top form and one of the permanent beers,the other regulars are Taylor Landlord,London Pride and Black Sheep Bitter,on my recent visit there was also Titanic Plum Porter and St Austell Proper Job on the bar.
There are lots of TVs showing usually football around the pub so you can see a TV wherever you are sat.
This is one of our favourite Nottingham City centre pubs that we visit whenever in town.
Also never had any problems with the beer quality.

Update: After seeing signs in the windows advertising for staff over the last couple of weeks,Fellows Morton & Clayton has reopened.

Pub first visited 1981

Recent visit 18/2/2017

On 29th August 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about Fellows Morton & Clayton

Located next to the canal only a stones through from the Canalhose lies Fellows Morton and Clayton. I have always been disappointed with this pub purely from my below average experiences of the beer. On two previous visits the beer have been kept in a poor condition. The pub itself as described is a pleasant place to be with a great selection of national and regional beers with Black sheep, landlord and London pride always available. I would be willing to give this pub another try as others have seemed to like it but my St Austill HSD was very below standard as was my London pride six months earlier, it seemed slightly less of a coincidence to me. If the beer quality were to my liking I could see being a regular stop off but until things improve with the beer I shan’t be hurrying back.

On 15th January 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 454 recommendations about 454 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Fellows Morton & Clayton

There's a surprisingly large ale selection in this pub, with eight on - Doom Bar, London Pride, Landlord, Black Sheep Bitter and Tribute from the regularly seen beers (by London standards anyway) and which were supplementd by Lincoln Green Brewery Hood Bitter, Nottingham Brewery Pale Ale and Magpie Raven Stout during my recent visit. The Hood seemed like a decent ale to my companion and I, and at a very wallet friendly £2.80 a pint. But a word of caution is need for any visiting drinkers from the South - all beers here dispensed through sparklers. It opens at 10.00 AM on a Saturday (11.00 AM other days), which came as pleasant surprise as my chum and I were in need of an early snifter.

The layout and description is unchanged from Pubsignman's visit a few days ago. It looks as if some of the rear of the pub is converted tackle sheds. Although I didn't spot any explanation within the pub as to where the unusual pub name comes from, the pub sign seems to indicate a connection with canal boat operators.

We liked this pub (the ale selection being a big plus factor here) and expect to pay a return visit on a future visit to Nottingham.

On 27th November 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Fellows Morton & Clayton

Named after one of Britain’s largest canal transportation companies, this is a grand looking Victorian pub with a pleasant canal side location. The pub is split level, with the raised bar area at the front and a lower lounge type space towards the canal at the rear. The bar area is wooden floored and has fairly limited seating options around the servery, although this is supplemented by a small raised space in the front corner, which has been carpeted and provides some comfy seats. There are a couple of TV screens on this level and at least one was showing muted Sky Sports News with some music playing in the background. The lower half of the pub includes a conservatory style space which looks across to the neighboring Canalhouse. There are standard table and chair arrangements down here, plus some padded banquettes on the left hand side, which made it popular with those who were here to eat. The menu looked pretty good and a specials board listed mains at around the £7.00 mark. I also noticed a couple of dartboards down towards the back of the pub and if you take the stairs at the far back, you can view the old brew room from the pub’s former days as a brew pub.
There’s no home brew nowadays, but a good selection is still available at the bar, with options on my visit consisting of Black Sheep Bitter, St Austell Tribute, Fullers London Pride, Nottingham EPA, Lincoln Green Hood Bitter, Taylor Landlord, Sharps Doom Bar and Two Trees Perry, with Titanic Vanilla and Chocolate Stout having just gone off. With the stout no longer available, I thought the remaining beers were all a bit of a similar style and the staff really struggled to advise a customer who asked for a pint of their darkest ale.
The pub is close to the train station and has some outdoor seating for the summer months, all of which makes it a likely return destination. I wasn’t quite as won over as some previous reviewers, but I still enjoyed my visit and would happily give it another go.

On 19th November 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2541 recommendations about 2541 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Fellows Morton & Clayton

A very attractive red brick building and a bit of effort being made with the hanging baskets makes this place enticing. The unusual name is based on the building formerly being used as an office for canal boat company Fellows, Morton and Clayton. There used to be a small brewery on site but that appears to have ceased operating. The interior is split level with a dip to the lounge at the rear which abuts the canal. Eight ales on my visit with a mix of national, regional and micros. Notes are sketchy but I do recall being taken with the light fittings above the bar. Close to the train station so an easy tick on a pub crawl.

On 18th November 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Fellows Morton & Clayton

A superb looking Victorian pub and well worth a visit. Staff so down to earth and friendly, just like your local where you can chat away and a bit of a laugh. Seven to eight ales on tap. The James Fellow Legacy a 3.8 session beer was very good and specially brewed for the pub. Will defo pop in again.

On 17th November 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Fellows Morton & Clayton

Next door to the Canalhouse, but we called in on our way back from our sort of circular trip to finish at the railway station, and again I am following Soup Dragon with his escellent descriptive review, so I will just say that rhe beer was fine and we enjoyed Mallard Duck n Dive which seems to be a fixture here, and York Guzzler. Always worth popping in.

On 14th November 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1308 recommendations about 1197 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Fellows Morton & Clayton

An absolutely fantastic looking detached late Victorian canal-side building with patio area. It is predominantly in brick with a lot of stone moulding and trimmings, which give it a slight mock-Tudor look.

The interior has a function room upstairs and a galley restaurant down a newel staircase. The main room is L-shaped and is in white and red walls and ceiling, some of which is exposed brick. The serving bar is part way down on the right and as the room turns at the end, down a few steps, is a more dining kind of area - i didn't eat so i can't comment on the food, but the cobs a £2 each, so not the cheapest. There are a few old pictures on the walls, a couple of railway ones i noted. There are several TVs showing football and there was no music at my visit. There service was fine and the clientele mixed - mainly watching the footy.

Beer; usual tap stuff with an excellent choice of real ales on handpull; Doombar, Nottinghamshire Brewery's EPA and Legacy, London Pride, Timothy Taylor Landlord, Fuller's ESB; Mallard's Duck and Dive and a decent Otter ale.

An excellent pub - i was in last night, though the review dates to May - so clearly i have returned. A must do in Notts.

On 12th November 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]

Page: 1 2