User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Cornubia, Bristol

142 Temple Street
Bristol
BS1 6EN

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Cornubia

Another hazy memory of a previous visit five years ago put right by a revisit. A hidden away small pub that is big on beer, a great selection of cask ale across the styles. rammed on a Friday lunchtime so patience was required while waiting to be served, however my revolutions Switch #15 was well worth the wait.

On 9th October 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1357 recommendations about 1343 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Cornubia

The Cornubia is a decent pub that is hemmed in by taller modern buildings and a car to the front of it.
Once inside there is a small single L shaped room with the bar on the left side,there are normal tables and chairs to the front and wood bench seating and small wood stools,there are a couple of tall stools to the rear,there was a large screen to the front showing the Euro Wales v Northern Ireland game.
There was a decent choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Twisted Pirate Bitter which was a very nice well kept beer,the other beers noted were Blue Bee Tempest Stout,Blue Bee Olicana Gold,Tyne Bank Silver Dollar,there were a few other beers i failed to read my notes of.
I found this to be a very pleasant pub to have a drink in.

Pub visited 25/6/2016

On 14th August 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Cornubia

Excellent real ale pub in a slightly strange location, probably as others have said due to WW2 bombing. Great selection of brews on the bar with an interesting, if a little cluttered interior. Well worth stepping away from the city center to visit and close to the railway station for a last beer.

On 16th March 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Cornubia

Single roomed L-shaped bar, lots of pump clips covering the walls as well as flags. Traditional pub carpet. This is a drinkers den with friendly knowledgable staff.

On 1st April 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Cornubia

One of the top pubs in Bristol and very well described by previous reviewers and cannot add anything new in this respect. Except to say this was my personal favourite of all the fine pubs and bars we visited during the PuG crawl of Bristol as it delivers so many of the things I like in any establishment. A superb traditional pub interior with several eclectic collections of Military memorabilia, pub memorabilia and general bric-a-brac to the extent that not a single inch of walls and ceiling are not covered by something. A strong focus on real ale with a policy of offering a frequently changing range. And a well-supported pub with a lively mix of likeminded beer appreciating visitors.
A must visit pub when in Bristol IMHO.

On 2nd December 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Cornubia

One of the few buildings in this part of town to survive the bombing raids during the Second World War, the Cornubia is a classic traditional pub offering an excellent range of beer. The pub has a compact L-shaped layout with the dark wood servery running from front to back, opposite a drinking ledge lined with bar stools. There is plenty going on in here, making it well worth spending time to explore fully. A smart tile dado runs around part of the room, most clearly seen above the aforementioned drinking ledge which has numerous beer related books and magazines heaped on it, as well as a couple of bonsai trees. Further back there is just about enough space for a single table served by benches and low stools, and from here you can admire a tank with some bright coloured fish swimming around, a large bird cage containing a soft toy parrot and another tank which is home to three or four terrapins. The walls are decorated with lots of military memorabilia, horse brasses and a pub mirror, plus a seemingly never ending collection of pump clips. I also noticed a large stack of board games in the rear corner. To the front left, a wide archway leads into the main seating area, although this is still fairly small and fills up quickly, requiring overspill to the front courtyard which has plenty of picnic benches and a gazebo and is presided over by a life-size cut out of the Queen, which stares down on the drinkers from a first floor window.
The bar offers a good range of interesting, predominantly local, ales which on this visit comprised Burning Sky Aurora, Twisted Oak Dark Flanders Black IPA and Slippery Sky, Trufit Erimus Pale Ale and Revivers IPA and Waen Message to You, whilst a stack of boxed ciders was hard to miss on the bar back. My pint of Erimus Pale was particularly enjoyable and the bar staff were quick and efficient in dealing with the lunchtime crowds.
This is a fine pub and one of the best we visited during a long weekend in the city. The place has an air of eccentricity that makes it easy to warm to, but takes its beer seriously thereby making it a destination pub. A great little place and one I'm sure I'll head back to the next time I'm in Bristol.

On 29th November 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2546 recommendations about 2546 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Cornubia

Little change to this classic Bristol pub since my last review a year ago. Absolutely packed on our Friday afternoon visit (and again when I returned later in the evening). Three ales sampled, condition-wise a bit like Carol picking out the numbers on Countdown, one from the top of the pile, one from the middle and another a bit lower down the scale. It’s certainly a destination venue and a shoo-in for a crawl in the area.

October 2013
Over the last couple of years the place has new ownership (again!) and seems to be heading (dare I say it) upmarket; but in a positive way. A lot of work has been done both inside and out – a fenced-off garden area, thorough paint job, wall-to-wall beermats and the addition of cushions on the benches inside. Fish tank to rear. Usually around eight ales on. I’ve had a mixed experience over the last year with the quality though last month’s visit was very good, so hopefully that’s settled down (and also hopefully no more nasty Glastonbury brewery!?). Pieminister pies and pasties available. Also does a CAMRA discount. Whilst I’d personally choose the Seven Stars if pressed for time in the area, this one is certainly worth popping into. Rated 8

August 2009
My most recent yielded a strange mixture of Rocky Horror and Disney on the speakers and a paddling pool for the punters outside. You make your own mind up on that one. Good service from a friendly barmaid. Seemed to be less guest beers available then previously, which is a shame. Saying that, it's still worth a visit. Rated 8

January 2007
This Georgian survivor takes a bit of finding...pop into the Kings Head first if you're stuck and ask for directions. Now run by the Hidden Brewery, this is a top-notch old-school alehouse inhabited by real drinkers and some real characters. On my last visit me and my mate were accosted by an Andy Fordham lookalike and spent a surreal 30 minutes discussing the merits of Scottish Lower Division football (do you know who the best-supported team are in terms of catchment area? Apparently it's St Johnstone). Rated 9

On 22nd November 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Cornubia

A decent traditional pub this one and should not be missed out, when visiting Bristol city centre. There was a very comprehensive choice for beer, so I went for the Truefit Erimus and the Reivers IPA, both were in great shape. A fine display of pump clips on the ceilings and walls. The service was fast in spite of the busy lunchtime trade. The bar counter was low and had it's original mahogany top and front.

On 17th November 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Cornubia

For me this is the jewel in the crown of Bristol pubs. Tucked away in a side street, It's everything I like in a pub, being well patronised by people enjoying themselves engaged in conversation; has masses of bits and pieces around the place including pump clips everywhere as evidence of the changing ale policy, scarves on the ceiling, and a cage at the back (I missed the terrapins). There are benches outside, and inside furnishings are comfortable if well used. I noticed that cheese or ham baguettes, as well as pork pies, were £1.50 a pop - I don't remember the last time I paid £1.50 for a baguette in a London pub - sometime soon after decimalisation I would guess.

If I lived anywhere nearby I would expect to make this a regular haunt.

On 17th November 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Cornubia

Not been in for five years, but unlike last time the place was doing a roaring trade at Friday lunchtime. Thankfully, the weather was still good enough to sit outside on the wooden benches at the front. Good range of beers from smaller breweries, including the amber Twisted Rider (£1.65, half). Still gets an extra point for the extraordinary location and just for managing to be there despite all that has changed in the area...

On 16th November 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6222 recommendations about 6222 pubs]

Page: 1 2