User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Old & New with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Palmerston Arms, Woodston, Peterborough

82 Oundle Road
Peterborough
PE2 9PA

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Palmerston Arms

Old traditional pub with two rooms knocked nearly into one, the dividing wall is almost intact ending near the enlarged counter area. Just one pull on the counter but a blackboard to the side and windows behind the servery reveal a choice of a dozen or so casks. Live music (1960s in style this evening).

On 3rd April 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2258 recommendations about 2098 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Palmerston Arms

Finally! a decent pub in Peterborough. Really good selection of brews on the bar and a dart board, just begging to be played. The only down side was the white board for scoring with dried out pens. What is wrong with a black board? Stopped for a couple of beers and was not disappointed.

On 30th January 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Palmerston Arms

A remarkable Batemans pub with a cold room behind the bar containing a numerous display of casks on stillage. The bar had 11 ales on handpump, two of which were from Batemans and also a choice of 5 ciders. We found the locals and barmaid to be very friendly and chatty. This is a two roomed pub, split by the front lobby entrance. The interior is traditional in style and has a log burning stove in the lounge. We went for the Nene Australian Pale and an Oakham Citra. A pleasant pub that I would not hesitate for a revisit.

On 16th July 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Palmerston Arms

A proper village local that must be pretty busy on a regular basis to support the large choice of real ales constantly available on stillage in the room behind the bar. To be fair, there was a bias in favour of blonde beers at the time of my visit, but it appears this is not a usual situation. Both the beers I drank were in excellent condition and if I only had time for one drink before or after a game at London Road stadium, this would have to be the one for me.

Date of visit: 6th December 2015

On 14th January 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2625 recommendations about 2475 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Palmerston Arms

Caught the number 1 bus to this pub although it is not too far out of the centre to walk. No longer a tied house there were 14 real ales on gravity from a room visable behind the bar. All 14 pumpclips were placed along the bar and there was a board detailing the drinks with their prices too. All very clean and tidy. There was a wood burning fire in the room we used, and it was very cosy. Apart from the quiz night they also advertised a vinyl night where you could bring favourite records and there are ukelele sessions once a month and a philosophy night was held too so something different can be tried here. Friendly pub now being run by someone who used to be a regular.

On 16th March 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Darren Hird left this review about The Palmerston Arms

Great real ale "Straight out of the Barrel" pub. Plenty of different beers and a proper pub atmosphere.

On 31st August 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 4 recommendations about 4 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about The Palmerston Arms

Bateman's XXXB, Salem Porter, GHA Pale, Burton Bridge Bamboozler, Castle Rock Harvest Pale, Everards Sunchaser, Derby ‘Dino & Pete's Breakfast Blonde', Digfield IPA, Brewsters Daffy's Elixir. What was the vault has red tiled floor and beams sport hanging jugs, the front of what was the lounge is still carpetted, BUT the central bar which used to serve both has been knocked through and replaced by a ‘new wood' floor and bar at the rear of the pub open to both sides of what is now an oddly unbalanced U-shape. The large window to the tap-room (for it is from here that all beers are dispensed by gravity) is a very nice touch, but I'm afraid I did not like the unneccessary change of layout and my voicing an opinion against the vandalism briefly irked the landlady, under whose auspices the change evidently happened, though she remained polite when I returned to the bar. It's lost something, including the double-jokers we played on our first pre-structural-change visit.

On 7th June 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Palmerston Arms

The Palmerston Arms is a small stone built pub that is in the shopping area of woodston.
Once inside there were a few small rooms and these were very nice proper old rooms,the room i had a drink in was fairly small and had a cosy feel to it.
This pub is a Batemans tied house and there were about six real ales on here i had a drink of Batemans XB and this was a very nice drink,i noticed Batemans XXXB and Dark mild and there was also some guest micro beers on here.
This is the sort of pub i could stay in all night.
If you are in Peterborough this pub is well worth seeking out.

Pub visited 31/3/2007

On 31st March 2007 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]