User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
New pub visits 2022 with Quinno on the Pub Forum

The Leaping Salmon, Berwick-Upon-Tweed

Golden Square
Berwick-Upon-Tweed
TD15 1BG
Phone: 01289303184

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Quinno _ left this review about The Leaping Salmon

Just off the bridge, this former Spoons looks quite upmarket from the outside but inside is essentially what JDW left behind but now more run-down. Staple-shaped with muted red and grey colours, there’s a pool table as well as a sports TV at every table in the conservatory, so you can guess what kind of punter it attracts. Three cask; GK Abbot, Doom Bar and a dire Redcastle Crusader (NBSS 1.5). Deciding after the first two sips that I’d seen enough, I dumped it and departed. What I’d have given for this still to be a Timbo Tavern! 3.5

On 10th November 2021 - rating: 3
[User has posted 4401 recommendations about 4387 pubs]


Graham Coombs left this review about The Leaping Salmon

Something of a disappointment, with a fuss to get in, a long wait for service and poor beer choice. Its Spoons origins are clear, but it has acquired extras like a pool table and music and feels a bit run down. Having finally got past the rather-officious front of house guy, who seemed to be more intent on stopping people coming in than finding them a space, the bar boasted three handpumps claiming Doom Bar, Abbot and a "Monsters Inc" beer, from where I know not. While queuing for the solitary serving barman (the other being engaged in a ridiculously-long food order) the Abbot was declared run out, and then someone who had purchased the Monsters Inc beer returned it as off, The barman, claiming ignorance in such matters as the taste of beer, summoned another chap who tasted it and agreed it was probably off, apparently tasting of liquorice. Whether this was how it is supposed to taste is anyone's guess, but at any rate we were left with the Doom. This was overly cold and short-measured but otherwise was about as good as it could be. Come back JDW!

On 15th August 2021 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2598 recommendations about 2542 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Leaping Salmon (JD Wetherspoon)

Stonegate Pub Company has acquired it from JD Wetherspoon

On 12th October 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2822 recommendations about 2764 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Leaping Salmon (JD Wetherspoon)

This is set in a great location by the River Tweed and although not originally a pub it had become one before Wetherspoon took it over. It certainly looks more like a pub from outside than many of their outlets. The inside is split into various areas with the bar at the back. The beer choice wasn't that great as three were available soon and the JDW Trio Of Doom just left Allendale Pennine Pale (£1.79) and Broughton Old Jock (£2.15). These were in very good condition and the breakfast I had here was also good. This is the cheapest JDW I've been to since the Lime Kiln in Liverpool last year and before the three price rises in between. The Standard guest ale price is £1.79, Ruddles is £1.65 and Abbot £1.85. In contrast I noticed that most of the food clubs were around a quid dearer than average.
Sadly this one is on the third list of closures announced in May 2016. This is a shame as the nearest outlets are all over thirty miles away and despite the limited beer choice I thought this was a much better one than normal.

On 6th June 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Leaping Salmon (JD Wetherspoon)

The building was erected in 1798 and initially started out as a school house. Later to become a Showroom, DIY shop, snooker hall and the previous pub, the Carousel. Eight ales on handpump on our visit, I went for the Hadrian and Border Secret Kingdom. My pint came in at £1.45, as their drinks are discounted on a Monday, which is known as the Monday club.

On 10th July 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3090 recommendations about 3090 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Leaping Salmon (JD Wetherspoon)

Fine old building overlooking the Tweed bridges, with a conservatory-type rear extension. Usual furniture and decor. Relaxed atmosphere on a Sunday afternoon. All eight handpumps in operation, with a fair range including Houston Kilter (remarkable value at just £1.35).

On 3rd February 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 7001 recommendations about 7001 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Leaping Salmon

A decent enough JDW. We visited the pub on both nights of our stay in Berwick. It has decent views across the river to Tweedmouth at the rear. There's also a large conservatory. Unusually the pub gets very popular with the young crowd of Berwick at the weekends, so we were told, but not so much on a midweek night. It was quiet on our Wednesday visit and we ate here, by Thursday it was very busy with youngsters waiting for the club across the road to open. A good range of beers on the handpumps and the 4 beers I had over the 2 nights were all in good nick.

On 30th May 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2999 recommendations about 2916 pubs]