User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Ostrich, Peterborough

17 North Street
Peterborough
PE1 2RA
Phone: 01733746370

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Ostrich

Nice old building a bit messed about inside but not without some charm, there are various spaces and the counter is sort of back to front, 6 pulls with one for cider, with beers from far and wide, they had a bit of a Yorkshire thing with North Riding and Saltaire in evidence on my visit, the beer mats were from Ilkley and the beer engines from Angram. Good number of interesting kegs as well. Fairly raucous clientele but fortunately the back garden attracted the noisier element but sadly left some bar blockers in situ. Beer ok but I had a poor mild so maybe that's not popular in these parts, and perhaps it does deserve its GBG entry.

On 3rd April 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Ostrich

Tidy, nicely refurbed pub near the Shopping Centre. Back street local, modernised but still retaining a nice feel. Two bars have been opened up around central server facing the rear. Small patio area.

Beer quality was excellent

On 11th April 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Ostrich

We were a bit disappointed with the Ostrich. Of the 6 pulls on the bar, a couple were off and of those served, a couple had to go back as they were undrinkable. I'm hoping that this was just a glitch in what looks like has been a stellar beer career at this establishment.

On 30th January 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Ostrich

This is a pleasing street corner town centre boozer,with an interior which winds around to the bar facing the courtyard .Further around the interior is a section with a darts board,and there is a mix of furniture,with some sofas below a front window,a few high tables,some bar stools and traditional wooden furniture near the darts.
The guv'nor is a real ale fanatic and promotes a lot of Locale on the 6 handpumps,plus there are 10 keg taps with a mix of craft beer.On my visit the real ale options were Kings Cliffe Drunken Angel,Nene Valley DXB,Tydd Steam Neandertal,Old Dairy Blue Top Bitter and Hopshackle ESB (fairly good but a malty brew) with a real cider on the remaining pump.
There was a good amount of well natured banter among the regulars,and there is occasional live music.It's a laid back sort of place with the type of beer selection that will appeal to tickers,and it's worth including on a crawl to see what is on.

On 25th January 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2088 recommendations about 2088 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Ostrich

Sister pub to the Palmerston over the river. This is a traditional pub in style and was moderately busy on our Saturday afternoon visit. As Gills mentions below, the bar area was cluttered with bar stools and drinkers were sitting along the counter, so trying to see what was on handpump was awkward. I found with the added conservatory at the back made the pub too hot and sticky. My Grainstore beer was warm and not at its best. I heard a slight rough element had moved in here from hearsay, they were certainly right there. This is not a true ale drinkers pub now.

On 16th July 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Smith left this review about The Ostrich

The review by ETA below is a good summary of this pub. Without a doubt the most traditional pub in central Peterborough and a good selection of well kept unusual ales. When we called there was live Formula One on one screen and live football on another on the other side of the pub. A must visit for all ale and good pub fans.

On 24th September 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 47 recommendations about 44 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Ostrich

One of Peterborough City Centre's last remaining proper pubs, the Ostrich is a GBG regular, and deservedly so. The interior is unspoiled, though it has been kept fairly current with its laminate floors; the pub has not buried its head in the sand and has moved with the times, not been overrun by them. The bar has been knocked through, the yard at the back has been formed into an outside seating terrace, the wooden panels have remained but complemented by new, sober paint on the walls. The welcome from staff and regulars is genuine and warm. There are tv screens, but these were thankfully mute when we visited. There were 5 ales on draft, and I managed two of them. The Theakstone's Bitter was superb, possibly the best I've had. I also tried Tydd Steam's Golden Kiwi, but although it was a good beer, it wasn't to my taste. In fairness, some of the locals rated it highly. This pub is an absolute must for a crawl, and if you can brave the backstreets, it's worth the expedition to find for its beer, congeniality and relief from the surrounding mediocrity.

On 18th June 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2600 recommendations about 2573 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Ostrich

We called here as it was a new pub for us in the 2012 Good Beer Guide. Once in we realised we had been here quite a few years ago when it was Bogart's. It was ever so dark inside then as far as I remember, but it was now quite light and airy. 5 handpulls for real ale, and 4 beers were on at our visit. We chose Smiles Blond and Thwaites Lancaster Bomber. I asked the barman about the Smiles beer as to who was brewing it now as there were no clues at all on the pumpclip which appeared to be a proper one, and he just turned it round and said Smiles. Beers not brilliant, but we were early customers. Lovely outside seating area. Description below is still current.

Above was April 2012 and we called in yesterday. Beer quality of the Tydd Steam and Cottage beers fine, but how I hate it when the only bar stools in the place were in front of the 5 handpulls despite the fact there was loads of room they could have placed them so we struggled to see them to choose our beers, and the board just had the beer names and ABV without the brewery names. Pub is in the 2013 Good Beer Guide and is clean and well laid out.

On 16th March 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1308 recommendations about 1197 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Ostrich

This is a nice little back street pub not too far from Peterborough's town centre. The layout is a little unusual, with the entrance taking you through a seating area towards the back of the pub where the bar is located, facing the back wall. Past the bar, the pub opens out to the front again where there is quite a lot more seating, mostly set up for people to eat and there were a number of local office workers popping in for lunch when I was there. I sat near the bar where there are a few pews and the odd bar stool, whilst closer to the front door there is a small raised area with comfy looking sofas. Windows at the back of the pub looked out over a very smart looking beer patio.
The walls were decorated with a few mocked up music posters and a framed history of Peterborough's pubs. I spotted a couple of games machines and there was a juke box as well, although there was no music on whilst I was in there. A menu propped up on the bar was titled 'Giovanni's Kitchen', which must surely suggest that their food is primarily Italian, although I didn't look through it myself.
There were four ales on at the bar, Oakham JHB, Digfield Barnwell Bitter (£2.70), Everards Tiger and Grainstore Ten Forty. Aspall Cider was also available on tap. I tried the Barnwell Bitter which was in good condition and an easy drinking pint to boot. The barmaid was quick to serve me and seemed to have a good rapport with some of the locals.
I thought this was a nice, clean and welcoming pub with broad appeal. Nice to see what appears to be a relatively new venture doing things well and I would recommend it as part of any Peterborough crawl.

On 14th April 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2545 recommendations about 2545 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Ostrich

This pub closed as Bogarts in 2009 and reopened as The Ostrich on 22 August 2010 - see http://www.peterboroughtoday.co.uk/news/environment/
the_ostrich_pub_historic_pub_is_set_to_open_its_doors
_again_1_137797 for details. It's been smartened up nicely by its new owners, all apparently long-time afficionados, but it's difficult to know what sort of clientele they might attract. It's just off the main shopping streets, close to a car park. I found it entirely by accident, so perhaps others will too. Four real ales on the bar when I visited, all from small and fairly local breweries.

On 24th October 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2648 recommendations about 2496 pubs]