User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Station Inn, Whitby

New Quay Road
Whitby
YO21 1DH

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Station Inn

Enjoyed our visit to this 2019 Good Beer Guide bar. Chose Big Smoke Solaris session pale and Whitby Jet Black, both of which were fine.

On 12th August 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1308 recommendations about 1197 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Station Inn

Good pub opposite the train station with a good selection of beers on. There were 7 on when I called in including Black Sheep, Camerons Strongarm and Whitby Jet Black. I went for the Whitby beer and it was in good shape. A must do for me if I visit Whitby again.

On 23rd July 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1087 recommendations about 1044 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Station Inn

As noted below, this consists of a small lounge at the front with limited seating and a larger bar at the rear. I missed out on the Station Masters Room. I opted for the small front room where an old duffer started explaining to me how this was the only pub worth going to in Whitby and giving his reasons why the others are all rubbish. Looking back on the six Whitby pubs visited he wasn't far off the mark.
The eight beers available on my visit were Taylor's Boltmaker, Whitby Smugglers Gold & Jet Black, Ossett Silver King & Yorkshire Blonde, Old Peculier, Cameron's Strongarm and Black Sheep Best. I went for the Whitby Gold (£3.40) which was in good nick.
This is certainly not one to be missed in Whitby and remains GBG listed.

On 14th February 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Station Inn

A multi room pub opposite the railway station as the name suggests. A front left lounge or snug and a rear bar share a servery while there's a sitting room off to the right. Four pulls on each face of the servery but with 8 different beers, there's also an Old Rosie pump. Beers on this visit from Whitby Brewery, Ossett, Taylors and Cameron's plus Summer Lighting visiting from Wiltshire and Courage Directors from Bedford? The decor is Brewers Tudor with old photos and some fake railway porn. Traditional furnishing with some tractor seats in the snug. There was a decent rock & roll band on while I waited for a train, mind you they were old enough to have heard it first time round.

On 12th June 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Station Inn

Date of visit - September 2013

Opposite the bus station and railway terminus is The Station Inn, a large brick built, partly mock Tudor, multi roomed pub close to the harbour.

On the left is the old tap room, featuring boarded wood panelling, a fine brick surround fireplace and a beamed ceiling. The main bar has a skittles board and, perhaps not surprisingly, a railway theme with many interesting photos, prints, old signs etc. On the right is a room denoted as The Station Masters Room.

I remember this pub vaguely in its previous incarnation as The Tap and Spile. I formed the view that it’s now a more comfortable, pleasant and relaxed place than it was then. Live music is a regular feature.

The Station Inn has what is most probably the best real ale selection in town. 8 pumps were in operation on my visit, serving TT Golden Best, Otter Best, Doom Bar, York Brewery Guzzler, Whitby Platform 3 ( brewed specially for this pub, so I was told ), Ossett Silver King and several beers from Camerons ( Ruby Red and Strong Arm ). The pub is a CAMRA Good Beer Guide regular and local Cleveland Branch award winnner,

This pub is much less tourist orientated than many other town pubs and there’s evidently a good solid core of loyal regulars.

Definitely worth calling in

On 26th November 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Station Inn

First of one of Many great pubs in Whitby plenty of real ale to choose from it's hard to find a bad pub in Whitby most are left unspoilt like pubs were when i was a child

On 2nd September 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Station Inn

Lovely pub this, much better than it looks from the outside.

3 lovely rooms, well presented and comfortable, with real fires making for a very cosy atmosphere. However, it does tend to get very busy, its wel;l known for its choice of excellent real ale. But the customers are friendly and its well worth a visit.

Right opposite the station as you may expect, it used to be the Tap & Spile & carries on the tradition.

Beware the matriacal lady behind the bar informing you of exactly where it is best for you to sit!

Very good.

On 30th December 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Station Inn

A lovely 30s looking brick build, with part timber look and modern 'Tudor' style windows.

The interior has several rooms, with piles of railway memorabilia on the walls. The customer service and friendly nature of all the staff is worth special mention. A good clientele that were also friendly.

Drinks wise - first of all my wife wants to mention the tea - choice and a good pot! now for the less important beer. 8 handpulls; Adnams bitter, Copper Dragon Challenger IPA and Golden Pippin, T Taylor Best, Everads Tiger, Sharpe's Doombar (very nice) and Black Dog Whitby Abbey. The beers were well kept. Excellent place - a must do.

On 28th August 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BOB STEER left this review about The Station Inn

The Station Inn has everything you need for a good day out, beer is first class and loved the small room at the front, had a couple of pints of real ale as the pub is called the Station it is very close to getting back on the train, I suggest you try this place out. Looks very much like a local, everyone seemed to know each other and very friendly.

On 17th August 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 20 recommendations about 20 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mike Hewitt left this review about The Station Inn

We had a couple of pints in here before going over the road for dinner in the Passage to India on Windsor Terrace. The place has improved tremendously since it changed hands and changed its name. Lots of different real ales on offer, served by friendly staff.

On 2nd August 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 83 recommendations about 71 pubs]

Page: 1 2