User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Covid Rules Stuff with oldboots on the Pub Forum

Star Inn, Whitby

Haggersgate
Whitby
YO21 3PP

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about Star Inn

Not a bad pub. 2 ales on including Jennings Cumberland which was fine.

On 31st July 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1070 recommendations about 1028 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Star Inn

Not the best of clientele. Three real ale hand pumps - only one used. Bar in middle, TV to rear.

On 15th July 2017 - rating: 3
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Star Inn

Slightly hidden away but very close to the main riverside drag to the beach. This has a beautiful middle bar, wood fronted with seating around it to back & the street.

pool table in the bar to the right, complete with hard wood benches. Nice place with good real ale

On 5th November 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Barlow left this review about Star Inn

My wife and I have taken over the lease for this pub. We have been in nine weeks and are already receiving some very positive comments, including one by a gentleman who posted a previous negative one. Don't write us off just yet. We are aiming to add real ale to our draught selection in time for the new season starting in March 2014. Thank you

On 12th December 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about Star Inn

Mike Hewitt you're right again like the Buck girl behind the bar does not want to be there could not keep of her phone sat on a stool with a thick coat on and we are having an heatwave

On 30th August 2013 - rating: 1
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mike Hewitt left this review about Star Inn

We went in here because my brother who was visiting, wanted to play pool. The only place I could think of with a pool table was The Star Inn, we went in on a Saturday lunchtime and it was empty. There were no Cask Ale's, so I had to make do with the only beer on offer, Tetley's Smoothflow. The Lady behind the bar was charming, but her comment that "No one seems to come in these days" told the whole story. The place wasn't even getting any tourists. While we were in, four men who were obviously visitors, came in, and went straight back out again, while an eldery couple who came in sat for ten minutes drinking shorts and then left. The place has all the right traditional environmental aspects, but the beer was so bad I left half of it and after a couple of games of Pool we retired to the Station Inn for some real Ale. Its a pity because The Star is in a prime position in the centre of the main tourist area. I won't be going in again until they have some real ale on offer.

On 14th May 2010 - rating: 1
[User has posted 83 recommendations about 71 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Star Inn

A black and white rendered Georgian styled terraced stone building. The interior is decent enough, open plan, plain read and white walls, with some nice pictures and i seem to remember a ships wheel on the wall. There was a pool area, as well. Beer; usual tap tosh with Tetley's Imperial. The Imperial was vinegary, both I and a friend were unable to drink it. I returned it to the bar, at which they lady behind it, directed me to the gaffer. I offered him a taste, he thought it was OK, as someone else had been in and drank it without complaint. God bless you, but clearly, you and that individual have the taste buds of a dung beetle. We both left our beer on the pool table to offer a hint. Never again

On 26th August 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


MARTIN GARDINER left this review about Star Inn

Dump !

On 21st May 2009 - rating: 2
[User has posted 4 recommendations about 4 pubs]