User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - July 2020 with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Pier Inn, Whitby

Pier Road
Whitby
YO21 3PU
Phone: 01947605284

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Pier Inn

When I first walked past this pub it was packed on a hot day so I carried on past. I called again at a quieter time and I was glad I did. 4 beers on including 2 from Whitby brewery, Camerons strongarm and A-Hop-Alypse Now which was a decent pint. Well worth a visit.

On 19th July 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1049 recommendations about 1010 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Pier Inn

Quite a large pub, seemingly amalgamated from two buildings and with tables out front to supplement the large room inside. There were five hand pumps on the bar, with Old Rosie cider, Camerons Strongarm and a couple of beers rebadged to include the pub's name. One appeared to be Tetleys Bitter and the other was from the local Whitby brewery. I went for the Strongarm, as I always do when given the chance, but to be honest it was nothing to write home about.

Date of visit: 11th March 2018

On 3rd April 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2630 recommendations about 2480 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Pier Inn

Decent enough place. Largish room with bar to middle. Five hand pumps including one cider. Outside seating.

On 15th July 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Pier Inn

I wasn't expecting much from this one and, ok, its a little corney due to its location on the main family drag to the beach and amusements, there is a big screen and pipped music, but I actually found this a good all-rounder. Large inside with a terrace frontage to the street, there is exposed brick, a large real fire and a slightly dark moody lighting.

They also seemed to be supporting Whitby beers, with Whaler & Jet on when I visited, rather than familar safer offerings usual elsewhere. Plus a real cider.

Making the effort when I'm sure they could just cash in on the location.

Good

On 4th November 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Pier Inn

Good people watching place bit pricy for the drinks but nice and clean worth a visit on a nice sunny day if its just to sit outside watching the world go by

On 31st August 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Pier Inn

The exterior has a mock stone frontage, with the top half being white rendered. The place was very popular, as it had a nice beer patio.

The interior is a large open plan room. Visited a few times now and have the same feeling, a large bog standard pub. Plenty of better places to go to be honest, though the staff were friendly enough and the beer adequate

It served Theakstons XB and bitter, the XB was decent enough

On 28th August 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Jacky Robinson left this review about The Pier Inn

I agree with Mike. The renovations seem to have taken some of the pub's "character" away. Good outside area for people watching though!!

On 24th June 2007 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5 recommendations about 4 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mike Hewitt left this review about The Pier Inn

I prefered this pub before it was renovated. It used to be a traditional, but basic pub, now its got a naughtical feel to it, which is quite pleasant. Nice place to have a couple of beers at Lunch time.

On 6th November 2006 - rating: 6
[User has posted 83 recommendations about 71 pubs]