User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
New pub visits 2020 with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Golden Lion, Whitby

Golden Lion Bank
Whitby
YO21 3BS

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Punch Taverns
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Golden Lion

Neat old pub with some great original features with two small noisy bars. The tap room has three pumps serving Marstons and Tetleys in average condition.

On 15th September 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2266 recommendations about 2098 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Golden Lion

Interesting looking pub tucked up a side street. When I visited there were no beers at all so I made do with lager. There seemed to be a few Wham! tracks playing while I was in - Wake Me up Before You Go Go ……. so I went!

On 26th July 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1069 recommendations about 1027 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Golden Lion

I hadn't planned on going in this one, but while taking a photograph was intrigued by the building and its situation, and the old Tetleys branding in the widows. On looking through those windows however, I spied a totally empty pub with a bank of five hand pumps, of which only one had a pump clip. I decided to swerve it on this occasion: perhaps it's livelier in summer?

Date of fly-past: 11th March 2018

On 3rd April 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2641 recommendations about 2490 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Golden Lion Hotel

Lounge to right, with tap room to rear. The poor lass behind the bar was flooded out with tap room customers, all appeared to be locals. Three real ales.

On 15th July 2017 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Golden Lion Hotel

Excellent location and nice looking pub at the bottom of Golden Lion Bank Small front bar with fake black beams & pictures of River Esk together with a telly for the racing. Large back bar with more basic feel. More of a locals pub than one for tourists. " real ales, Black Sheep & Bombardier, but quality could be better.

On 25th November 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about Golden Lion Hotel

Reputedly the oldest pub in Whitby, dating back to 1714, this is a pleasant, small, traditional 2 bar pub situated a few yards up a hill off the harbourside.

It’s a former Tetley’s pub evidently as it still retains Tetley’s branded leaded windows.

2 comfortable, cosy rooms have padded perimeter seating, curtains, carpets, red velour bar stools and walls decorated with lots of interesting old photos of Whitby.

This pub appears to be favoured by the more mature local drinkers, probably for its slightly old fashioned charm and welcome.

Beers on included Copper Dragon Golden Pippin and Wells Bombardier. I gather there’s usually approx. 4 beers on.

This is a decent spot for a quiet pint or two

On 12th November 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about Golden Lion Hotel

Another great little pub had a very nice pint of Timothy Taylor's landlord handy for the bookies if you like a pint and a ber

On 30th August 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


General Staal left this review about Golden Lion Hotel

This pub has been refurbished and the exterior is now a nice shade of green. It also has a new pub sign.

Inside, there are two rooms, a small bar, which could have been a lounge at the front, which myself and Mrs Staal sat in, and a larger room at the back.

The Golden Lion was always a 'locals' pub, but now seems to be aiming itself more upmarket. However, the locals were evident in the back room, and I am really glad they were there.

The pub now has 6 real ale taps. Only two were on when I was there, Pedigree and Black Sheep Bitter. The other four had beer clips on, but these were turned round, seemingly because they were settling. However, these four clips showed beers all from the Tetley's brand, which was a bit of a shame.

However, the Golden Lion could well become a valuable addition to Whitby's excellent pubs.

And, according to a sign near the door, Whitby's Pirate Club meet here!

On 26th April 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 142 recommendations about 125 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Golden Lion Hotel

Very cosy little two roomed place, but not a great deal of atmosphere when we went - maybe the TV had something to do with it.

Had Tetley's Imperial, which is class (along with the MILD), which leaves me wondering why these two beers, with some taste, are shunted aside for the pretty tastless cask and smooth. There is no Imperial just 20 miles down the road at Scarborough and the last Tetley Mild i saw was in the Harrows in Wolverhampton

The eradication of Tetley MILD in North Yorks is surely the worst decision since JFK said 'lets take the convertible, i need the air'.

Back to the pub - happy enough to go again.

On 10th September 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BOB STEER left this review about Golden Lion Hotel

What a great little pub, only two rooms but full of character very cosy, old photos on the wall good real ale and others, toilets outside but don't be put off, I called on a busy Sunday but not many people in, its a shame as its a little gem.

On 17th August 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 20 recommendations about 20 pubs]

Page: 1 2