User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Those two new Tier 2 rules explained! with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Duke of York, Whitby

Church Street
Whitby
YO22 4DE
Phone: 01947600324

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Duke of York

Decent pub at the bottom of the steps to the Abbey.4 beers on including Black Sheep, Abbotts and Ossett Yorkshire Blonde. I went for the Ossett and it was fine.

On 24th July 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1086 recommendations about 1043 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Duke Of York Inn

Excellent setting at bottom of the steps and with views over the harbour, there are crooked beams and the lot. This means it is very popular so you would need to get there early to get a harbour view, even out of season.

Gone a little foody to cash in , but still bags of character.

Two real ales - Black Sheep and Abbot. Also lots of whisky.

With a better ale choice this could be tops.

On 26th October 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Duke Of York Inn

Occupying a prime position in the old part of Whitby at the end of a picturesque cobbled street and at the foot of the famous 199 steps leading up to the Abbey, is The Duke of York.

The interior consists of traditional seating, fake black ceiling beams, some exposed brickwork and leaded windows and curtains. It’s a pleasant single bar pub with several adjoining areas and decorated with lots of photos and prints on a seafaring / maritime theme.

It’s evidently trying to cater for a broad range of customers, which inevitably means that, at lunchtime, the emphasis is on providing meals – normally fish and chips – to the many visitors to this picturesque seaside town. There's the usual rather impersonal atmosphere at that time of day.

4-5 beers were on which, on my visit, included Copper Dragon, Black Sheep, Deuchars IPA and GK Abbott. Prices are on the high side. There’s also an extensive selection of whiskies.

This is a nice enough place for a pint – but do try and visit outside of peak periods, when, if you’re lucky, you’ll get a window seat, from where you can take advantage of the splendid harbour views.

On 12th November 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Duke Of York Inn

Mike Hewitt i agree with you we had the same problem when we lived in the Isle of Man and Blackpool we had lots of visitors now we live in Glossop Derbyshire not many at all. This is another Whitby gem of a pub

On 30th August 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mike Hewitt left this review about The Duke Of York Inn

Living in Whitby we get lots of friends and relatives visiting us. When we lived in Derbyshire we had very few visitors, strangely enough. Now when they get here, most want to spend at least one session in the Duke of York, after exploring the delights of the old town. This rather nice traditional pub is one of Whitby's little gems. Good food, fine ale and a wonderful view of the harbour and the never ending hubub of activity, and the view out to sea between the piers is excellent. If you like a beer and you visit Whitby, make sure you spend a couple of hours in here.

On 11th June 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 83 recommendations about 71 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Duke Of York Inn

I found the pub to be a delight, but they maybe because i was sat on a bar stool facing a number of old photographs on the wall, having to explain to my mate why all people seemed to look grimey in c1890 photos!

There was a choice of real ales, Spitfire, which i wouldn't touch and Courage Directors, which was fine.

Its a foody place and seats are hard to come by and we visited on a Monday daytime - and it is for families

I would return quite happily, maybe after researching grimey people in old photographs a bit more

On 10th September 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BOB STEER left this review about The Duke Of York Inn

Another excellent pub in Whitby, they sell real ale and others the food looked excellent theres also a quiet good whisky bar, this pub overlooks the harbour but your lucky to get a seat near the window, my only small problem was there was sport on the tv and the reception was poor, but thats all I could fault, great pub been in three times in the last two months always a good pint.

On 17th August 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 20 recommendations about 20 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mike Hewitt left this review about The Duke Of York Inn

Superb Beer and Good food in what is probably the most popular pub in Whitby. Cask Directors and Spitfire are available. Fine views over the Harbour and out to sea.

On 2nd August 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 83 recommendations about 71 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about The Duke Of York Inn

Great views across the harbour if you're lucky enough to get a seat near the window. Three of four beers on tap plus Strongbow cider.
Menu looked reasonable although we didn't try it ourselves.
Staff seemed more interested in sorting out their rota's than actually serving.

On 30th June 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1749 recommendations about 1684 pubs]