User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Pangolin on the Pub Forum

The Board Inn, Whitby Central, Whitby

Church Street
Whitby
YO22 4DE

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Board Inn

Another good solid Whitby pub. Theakstons Old Peculiar, XB, Lightfoot and a Gold from Caledonian. Glad I called in.

On 22nd July 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1009 recommendations about 974 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Board Inn

This is a tourist honey pot, in a superb location at the foot of the 199 steps which lead down from the abbey. I remember coming here on my first visit to Whitby in 2002, when I persuaded the barman to mix me a Theakston's XB (one-third Old Peculier, two-thirds Theakstons Best Bitter), and it's still a Theakstons pub today. Beers on the bar on my latest visit were Old Peculiar, XB (itself: ready-mixed, you might say) and Lightfoot, plus a guest from Caledonian. The beer was fine - I had Old Peculier this time - but the background music was a bit loud. Other than that, it was a fairly quiet part of the day (it was Mothering Sunday, but the earlier large crowds had dissipated and it was a very cold evening) and the pub was relatively comfortable. The landlord bade me a cheery farewell as I left to tackle those 199 steps up to the youth hostel.

Date of visit: 11th March 2018

On 3rd April 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2472 recommendations about 2335 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Board Inn

A little more basic than the Duke of York next door, and more space because of it, which is handy with its location at the bottom of 199 steps and bustling Church Street.

2 standard front rooms, the back room extends out with good views of the river & harbour.

It is slightly old fashioned & ripe for a refurb but is a good contrast to next door and a nice all round place.

Three Theakstons beers including Peculiar

On 26th October 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Board Inn

Harbour side pub with views and at bottom of the 199 steps so an unenviable location, the beer is good but sadly limited perhaps through a mix of tourist expectations and the dead hand of a pubco. Front bar with three pulls and view of the steps, there's rear and downstairs dining areas with harbour views. Food is a bit ping and fling but good enough and reasonably priced.

On 12th June 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2169 recommendations about 2016 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Board Inn

Another Whitby Gem

On 30th August 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Board Inn

Visited this place a couple of times over the weekend.

The picture shows the exterior, an end house, white rendered, just by the Duke of York.

The interior has one long narrow room, with a small side room and a downstairs dining area overlooking the estuary. It is a bit twee, with the fake beam look, but still decent enough. The service was fine. In a party of four and we all ate - the food was again, decent enough. It was busy with a mixed clientele

Beerwise, the Dark Smooth from my last visit has gone. It had, on handpull, Theakstons XB, Old Peculiar and Deuchars IPA. The OP was fine for a half and the XB very nice. Will go back.

On 28th August 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BOB STEER left this review about The Board Inn

What a great pub just at the bottom of the Abbey steps, very homely and good service, was busy the day I visited, excellent real ales and great views of the harbour, the meals looked excellent and I noticed they advertise quiz nights and live music. A first class pub in a very busy street well worth a visit.

On 17th August 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 20 recommendations about 20 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


james taylor left this review about The Board Inn

Great pub with loooads of atmosphere.New owners giving it a good go.Worth supporting the beer and lager are all worth a try.Andys at the Dolphin now but still pops in

On 14th May 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 3 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Wigley left this review about The Board Inn

Great pub. The Theakstons was a bit sweet for me the last time I was in, but the harbour views and the quaintness of the place makes up for any shortcomings with the beer. There used to be a guy named Andy who worked here, and he was such a great guy. Friendly atmosphere, great staff and great views...can't really ask for more.

On 13th August 2008 - rating: 10
[User has posted 5 recommendations about 5 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mike Hewitt left this review about The Board Inn

Serves an excellent pint of hand drawn John Smiths. Pleasant lounge area over looking the harbour.

On 9th September 2006 - rating: 8
[User has posted 83 recommendations about 71 pubs]