User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Version 2 Poll for Preston dates with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Black Horse, Whitby

91 Church Street
Whitby
YO22 4BH
Phone: 01947602906

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Punch Taverns
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Pub SignMan left this review about The Black Horse

This is a cosy traditional two bar pub with a prime location on the narrow street leading to the nearby Abbey steps. The pub is split into a front lounge and rear bar, both with exposed floorboards and dark tongue and groove wall panelling beneath plain painted uppers. The front lounge has nice comfy banquette seating under the front window with some padded benches and low stools in support. The servery is at the rear of the room and has a dark wood counter and matching bar back with a nice small stained glass sash window that opens into the porch space behind the bar, possibly a remnant of a former jug and bottle set-up. The rear bar is split-level, with the servery along the right-hand wall of the initial lower level space. Hard backed banquettes provide some austere seating options down the left-hand wall, supplemented by several low stools. The bar has a dark wood counter, similar to the front bar, adorned with various decorative struts and a matching bar back with frosted glass and patterned inserts. The room’s main point of interest has to be the fine leaded windows with their stained glass ‘Black Horse Vaults’ centre pane. Décor includes knot displays, lots of photos of locals and their dogs, various old maps and a few photos of the surrounding area. Two steps at the rear of the room lead up to a raised seating area with a couple more tables and access to the toilets. The pub seems to be quite enterprising, offering a menu of ‘Yorkshire Tapas’ which all sounded very tempting, and selling custom-made facemasks with proceeds going to RNLI. When we arrived, the pub was at maximum capacity, but a very friendly barman happened to be outside taking a quick break and he suggested we hang around for a few minutes, as he was fairly sure there were a couple about to leave, and lo and behold, two minutes later, we were in and seated with a drink in front of us. The capacity issue was based on the pub’s Covid restrictions at time of visit and such limits to customer numbers may no longer apply.
Five handpulls offered a choice of Titanic Plum Porter, Adnams Southwold Bitter and Hambleton Untethered plus a couple of real ciders. I gave the Untethered a try and it was in excellent shape, slipping down nicely as we enjoyed the buzz from a full house. A few people were eating and the food we saw come past all looked very good – shame we’d already booked a table somewhere else.
There are quite a few traditional looking pubs on this side of the harbour, but this was the only one that really appealed to me. Good service and beer (and good-looking food) combined well in a traditional setting to create a memorable visit and I would definitely be keen to revisit this one the next time I’m back in town.

On 12th November 2021 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2691 recommendations about 2691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Black Horse

Smallish place with a couple of weak real ales and two decent ciders Nothing that special.

On 28th January 2020 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Black Horse

Enjoyed our visit to this 2019 Good Beer Guide pub. Chose Shepherd Neame Hard Labour which was fine.

On 12th August 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1324 recommendations about 1207 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Black Horse

Nice looking pub which is listed. 4 beers on including Wainwright, Golden Hen and Black Dog Rhatas. I liked this place and would happily call again.

On 24th July 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1257 recommendations about 1190 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Black Horse

As noted by previous reviewers, there is a small front bar, which has earned the Black Horse a place in Camra's inventory of historic pub interiors. The larger back bar dates back only to a refurbishment by Tetleys in 1986. Beers on at the time of my visit were Black Dog Rhatas and GK Old Golden Hen, plus Old Rosie cider. I quite like this pub and it would be one to settle into for a session, if there's a beer to suit. I enjoyed the Rhatas but just had the one on this occasion.

Date of visit: 11th March 2018

On 3rd April 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2770 recommendations about 2609 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Black Horse

As noted below this is a small attractive pub with two completely separate bars. I noticed on the way in a sign saying no stag or hen parties due to it being a very small pub. Surely Whitby isn't a big enough to attract that nonsense? It wasn't that busy on a February Wednesday afternoon. Although there are hand pumps in each bar the choice of three was mainstream consisting of Adnam's Southwold Bitter, Black Sheep Best and Robinson's Overhang. I went for the Overhang (£3.70) which like the majority of Robinson's seasonal and commemorative beers was very pedestrian, although in good nick.
I thought this nice little place was let down by being too expensive and a poor beer choice. It's GBG 2018 listed.

On 14th February 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Black Horse Inn

Tiny front bar with a larger bar behind, it's Grade II listed. There are two pulls in the front bar and more through at the back, all are listed on a board by the front counter. Bench seating at a couple of tables , it's size makes it friendly and interesting, there is the feel of York's Blue Bell in the front room. Four beers were on including two from Black Sheep plus one each from Whitby and Caledonian. It's on the main road up to the 199 steps but not a tourist hell.

On 12th June 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2462 recommendations about 2253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Black Horse Inn

Small, unspoilt pub on tourist street & prices reflect the location. Small basic bar at front & thin bar at the back, all stools & wood. Nice, friendly, but lacks something.

3 real ales, but served rather warm, though quality is ok

On 25th November 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1287 recommendations about 1265 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about Black Horse Inn

A GEM of a pub get it on your bucket list stayed in Whitby for 4 nights called every night great crowd of guys

On 30th August 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


General Staal left this review about Black Horse Inn

This tiny pub is one of the best in Whitby. Go in the afternoon, it gets packed in the evenings. Try the 'tapas' it is very tasty. The beer here is relatively expensive, even for Whitby, but the quality of the pub and ale is very high. Do not expect to sit in silence for long though. Sooner or later you will be engaged in conversation by someone and it could be about anything from dog breeds to the nature of the Universe. A very friendly pub! Highly recommended!

On 9th June 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 142 recommendations about 125 pubs]

Page: 1 2