User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 19th January 2020) with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

The Black Horse, Whitby Central, Whitby

91 Church Street
Whitby
YO22 4BH
Phone: 01947602906

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Punch Taverns

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Gill Smith left this review about The Black Horse

Enjoyed our visit to this 2019 Good Beer Guide pub. Chose Shepherd Neame Hard Labour which was fine.

On 12th August 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1297 recommendations about 1187 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Black Horse

Nice looking pub which is listed. 4 beers on including Wainwright, Golden Hen and Black Dog Rhatas. I liked this place and would happily call again.

On 24th July 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1008 recommendations about 973 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Black Horse

As noted by previous reviewers, there is a small front bar, which has earned the Black Horse a place in Camra's inventory of historic pub interiors. The larger back bar dates back only to a refurbishment by Tetleys in 1986. Beers on at the time of my visit were Black Dog Rhatas and GK Old Golden Hen, plus Old Rosie cider. I quite like this pub and it would be one to settle into for a session, if there's a beer to suit. I enjoyed the Rhatas but just had the one on this occasion.

Date of visit: 11th March 2018

On 3rd April 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2472 recommendations about 2335 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Black Horse

As noted below this is a small attractive pub with two completely separate bars. I noticed on the way in a sign saying no stag or hen parties due to it being a very small pub. Surely Whitby isn't a big enough to attract that nonsense? It wasn't that busy on a February Wednesday afternoon. Although there are hand pumps in each bar the choice of three was mainstream consisting of Adnam's Southwold Bitter, Black Sheep Best and Robinson's Overhang. I went for the Overhang (£3.70) which like the majority of Robinson's seasonal and commemorative beers was very pedestrian, although in good nick.
I thought this nice little place was let down by being too expensive and a poor beer choice. It's GBG 2018 listed.

On 14th February 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2146 recommendations about 2141 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Black Horse Inn

Tiny front bar with a larger bar behind, it's Grade II listed. There are two pulls in the front bar and more through at the back, all are listed on a board by the front counter. Bench seating at a couple of tables , it's size makes it friendly and interesting, there is the feel of York's Blue Bell in the front room. Four beers were on including two from Black Sheep plus one each from Whitby and Caledonian. It's on the main road up to the 199 steps but not a tourist hell.

On 12th June 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2169 recommendations about 2016 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Black Horse Inn

Small, unspoilt pub on tourist street & prices reflect the location. Small basic bar at front & thin bar at the back, all stools & wood. Nice, friendly, but lacks something.

3 real ales, but served rather warm, though quality is ok

On 25th November 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about Black Horse Inn

A GEM of a pub get it on your bucket list stayed in Whitby for 4 nights called every night great crowd of guys

On 30th August 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


General Staal left this review about Black Horse Inn

This tiny pub is one of the best in Whitby. Go in the afternoon, it gets packed in the evenings. Try the 'tapas' it is very tasty. The beer here is relatively expensive, even for Whitby, but the quality of the pub and ale is very high. Do not expect to sit in silence for long though. Sooner or later you will be engaged in conversation by someone and it could be about anything from dog breeds to the nature of the Universe. A very friendly pub! Highly recommended!

On 9th June 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 142 recommendations about 125 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Black Horse Inn

The pub has a white rendered exterior, with red touches. It is terraced and is small, with two rooms, but very traditional. The service is always nice and on these visits was packed with locals and bloomin' tourists!

The beer is great. The nicest pint of the weeked was the Black Dog Rhatas, but there was also Titanic Lifeboat, Alton Pride and another ale on. It even does a good Tetley Imperial, of which i had half.

Sheer class

On 28th August 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mike Hewitt left this review about Black Horse Inn

Walking down Church street, it was cold and the swirling fog off the sea, was rolling down the cobbled street. There was total silence apart from the sound of my footsteps on the cobbles. I enjoyed a pint at the bar in the cozy back room where the locals were chatting and taking in the warm atmosphere. The front room is a small traditional bar with lots of Character.

On 5th October 2006 - rating: 6
[User has posted 83 recommendations about 71 pubs]