User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Valley, Scarborough Central, Scarborough

51 Valley Road
Scarborough
YO11 2LX
Phone: 01723372593

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


ROB Camra left this review about The Valley

This pub is now located in what used to be the upstairs rooms. They still have a pool table, but the bar is now up here as well. Up a few steps from the street there are now 2 fairly comfortable rooms. It is a bit like drinking in someone's house though. Very friendly and a good selection of beer means we'll keep coming back.

03/03/2014
Not run down and not rough as far as I can see. In fact there have been no major changes in the last year or so. 6 handpumps on the bar featuring Dark Star Hophead and 5 changing guests. We tried 3 of them between us and all were in excellent condition.

18/03/2011
The Valley continues to maintain it's billing as one of the best real ale pubs in Scarborough. Called in for one a couple of weeks ago and ended up having a couple as it started raining (any excuse). 5 handpumps on the go including Raw Black Lager & Milestone Shire Wood Porter, both of which were excellent. They also had a selection of filled barm cakes on the bar, great value at £1 each. One of the few pubs in Scarborough that we always visit when in town.

June 2009
Pleasant little cellar bar at the top end of Valley Road. Has been all sorts of bar in the past but is now the best that it has ever been. Good, well kept selection of real ales, usually from micros. We often call in on a Saturday lunchtime when it's pretty quiet, but always friendly. The artwork on the walls is for sale, some of it is pretty good as well. Being in the well known cider producing region of North Yorkshire, it's obvious that they should have been voted the Cider pub of the year. I'm not a cider drinker myself but top marks for getting the award. If you're going to this place try Cellars just further down Valley Road as well. The Valley Road pub crawl, short but good!

On 25th June 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2745 recommendations about 2673 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Valley

Now a large ground floor space opened out into what seems like a couple of buildings.

A little bit scruffy, it a little like being in someones house. Wood floor, fire places, bay windows and a number of real ales. Nice enough.

10/09/2016 Nice cellar bar at bottom of guest house, in a row of guest houses, not too far from the station.

Small & a little worn, its still a nice place to try the well kept beer, including local offerings.

On 21st October 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1267 recommendations about 1244 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Sam Millar left this review about The Valley

Really disappointed on my last visit. Seems to be "run down". No food any more. Rough. (Workmen now staying in the bar's rooms above) Unfriendly. Real Ale very "average". Very sad.

On 11th July 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 24 recommendations about 21 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Valley

I read about this pub so i went to try and find it once i did i did'nt think it was a pub but i went down the steps and was very surprised with what i saw the bar was on the right hand side as i went in and there were about 10 handpumps on the bar,the friendly barman gave me advise about the differenr beers and i opted for Town House Nemesis which was a very good drink,the other beers i saw on the bar were Wentworth White Star,Copper Dragon Black Gold,Black Sheep,Tetley Bitter and jennings Snecklifter this pub is well worth a visit.

On 9th June 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Valley

The exterior could have put me off, had it not been for the GBG recommendation. A really great place, with friendly bar staff, a mixed cliental, with a good selection of real ales, made even better by the addition of a strange kind of beer to be found in North Yorkshire called MILD!

On 11th September 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Adam Croft left this review about The Valley

Simply fantastic. Amazing selection of real ales and a true gentleman of a landlord. Very friendly chap who had no hesitation in having a chat with me about beer - despite the busy pub!

On 29th January 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 30 recommendations about 30 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Valley

A cracking drinking den (I don't use that the word 'den' lightly), with a wide range of ales (6), ciders (6), perries (2) and bottled continental beers (too many to count). Doesn’t look like a pub from the outside, it’s basically a cellar bar.

There's the downstairs 'den' bar with the beer, whilst upstairs there's a pool room and a restaurant area. The tasty beer is sourced mainly from local micros. The punters seemed mainly slanted towards the middle-aged gent on my visit.

I have to admit I felt a bit let down by the casual attitude of the place when it came to the food - or lack thereof because the owners/chef/whoever were on holiday - as it was still being advertised as available outside and in. A note by the wall menu advising that dinner is of a liquid variety only for the week isn't too much to ask, as I was starved and disappointed I had to head back out into the night to search for a square meal after a couple of halves!

That gripe aside, a very worthwhile drinking experience.

On 12th January 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about The Valley

This watering hole is about 10 mins walk from the town centre on the South cliff side,but is well worth the wear on shoe leather.It is housed in a cellar and is a one roomed cosy place with an outside area,and is a real ale drinkers paradise,with various awards for it's beer scattered around.Give it a go,even if is only to sample one of the 100 bottles of Belgium beers that it stocks.

On 19th October 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2084 recommendations about 2047 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James Joines left this review about The Valley

Camra Award Winning basement pub offering goof value food.
Real Ales & Ciders from Wold Top, Theakstone's and upto 3 guest beers and 4 ciders.

On 3rd July 2008 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 841 recommendations about 835 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Colin Spiller left this review about Kings Pub & Restaurant

Before it became the Valley bar, it used to be called Kings Pub & Restaurant

On 16th May 2008 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 68 recommendations about 68 pubs]