User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappointment of the week with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

Coach & Horses, Harrogate Central, Harrogate

16 West Park
Harrogate
HG1 1BJ
Phone: 01423561802

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Coach & Horses

Neat, foody street pub, very standard fittings & decor, well lit, its comfortable and all a little middle class. 7 real ales kept well.

On 9th November 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1267 recommendations about 1244 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Coach & Horses

This is a thriving and lively locals pub which seems to cater for a wide section of the local community and is handily located just a short walk south from the town centre. A large U-shaped room wraps itself around a central servery which boasts a nicely panelled counter and a mirrored bar back which has a set of large jars full of bar snacks on a high shelf - reminiscent of an old fashioned sweet shop. The room has been carpeted for the most part and at the far end there are two large, screened banquettes under walls painted red and decorated with old pictures of Harrogate, some framed rugby league shirts, a clock, pipe display and high shelves with tankards, salvers, candlesticks and jugs. Flower tubs fill the front windows and compliment the floral display on the outside of the pub. Elsewhere there are lots of Tour de France themed posters and some blackboards advertising food. On the other side of the room there are some similar comfortable seating options under partly frosted windows and more potted plants. A pub mirror provides a focal point of sorts and there are plenty of horse brasses dotted around. A separate seating area exists to the rear of the bar, with nice bench booths, a Guinness mirror and a high shelf displaying all sorts of random bits, including a large Laurel and Hardy ceramic centrepiece.
There was a good range of Yorkshire ales on the bar, with the range comprising Tetley's Cask, Taylor Landlord and Boltmaker, Daleside Bitter and Blonde, Roosters Yankee, Leeds Ascension and Treboom Yorkshire Sparkle. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and helped create a very inclusive feeling environment. The Ascension was excellent and I was seriously tempted to curtail my crawl and spend the rest of the evening enjoying the rest of their range.
I really enjoyed this pub and felt very comfortable propping up the end of the bar and soaking up the lively and infectious atmosphere. The beer and service was as good as any I found over three days drinking in North Yorkshire and I would rate this the best of the eleven pubs I visited in Harrogate.

On 16th June 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2347 recommendations about 2347 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Coach & Horses

Another respectable traditional pub with wallpapered walls, carpeted throughout and lots of comfortable seating areas. The staff in here were very professional and were knowledgeable about the eight ales they had on handpump. We went for the Brass Castle Cliffhanger and Daleside Blonde, both were perfect and prices in here were reasonable.

On 24th May 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2906 recommendations about 2906 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Coach & Horses

Lovely pub overlooking the park, just a few minutes stroll uphill from the immediate town centre but well-worth the walk. Bicycle themed, with one strung up outside and Tour de France table toppers inside. A tidy, comfortable and communal interior with lots of drinking areas, plus much flora and sodium-style lighting. Friendly and convivial atmosphere. A good range of ales on, too squiffy by this time to note exactly what but my Roosters Yankee was in decent form. Really liked this one.

On 1st April 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about Coach & Horses

A truly excellent town centre pub with an experienced and characterful landlord and professional and friendly staff.
I was only in for a swifty so didn't take in full detail other than to note that the place is very clean, well looked after and feels extremely comfortable.
There are six handpumps with beers on when I visited including: Daleside Blonde, Roosters Yankee, TT Landlord, Tetleys and one from Wharf Bank. A decent range and the Blonde was in good shape.
I very much hope that my next visit is a much longer one.

On 7th January 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Coach & Horses

Nice pub on the edge of the town centre. Small, but well kept range of guest ales, usually involving Roosters, Copper Dragon, Tim Taylors and Daleside. Horseshoe shaped bar that gives the impression of several rooms when in fact it's just one. Friendly place that seems to get quite a few of the "ladies who lunch" set in. None the worse for that though. Only food we've tried are sandwiches which were pretty good. Well worth a visit. It's just along the street from the Tap & Spile as well, so you can have a mini pub crawl.

On 5th March 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2749 recommendations about 2677 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Coach & Horses

Excellent traditional drinkers pub just off the Stray, superb beers from Daleside, Copper Dragon and Taylors available. Comfortable, spot-on staff, also has an interesting range of bar snacks and an even more interesting range of whiskys and whiskeys. There is an almost unobtrusive TV for big sports occasions and a “spanish corner”.

On 22nd October 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2133 recommendations about 1981 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about Coach & Horses

Suprisingly nice inside as the outside doesn't really invite you in. Wood panelled square bar in the centre of the pub and a good choice of local beers plus Strongbow cider.
Not much in the way of food, but the pie and peas for £2.95 in aid of a local children's hospice seemed like a good deal.

On 30th June 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1709 recommendations about 1645 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Coach & Horses

I did'nt like the look of this pub that much but once inside it was a really nice one room pub with lots of different drinking areas.
There were four real ales on the bar i had a drink of Copper Dragon Golden Pippin and this was a really nice drink the other beers were Roosters Cream, Taylor Landlord and Tetley bitter.
I quite liked this pub.

Pub visited 16/7/2007

On 16th July 2007 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]